We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Heaven”
Review of Le Mas Perreal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Mas Perreal
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We loved every minute of our stay at Le Mas Perreal. We stayed for three nights in August and had two rooms: Chambre de l'Arche and Chambre du Puits Perdu. Both had beautiful furniture and linens, plenty of room, and incredibly spacious showers with fantastic shower heads. Each room also had a terrace right outside, with chairs and a table and a fabulous view of the vineyards, pool, and gorgeous landscape. The breakfasts at Le Mas Perreal were amazing! We ate outside on their terrace at a table set with beautiful china and silver. Every breakfast included coffee (or hot chocolate for our son), fresh juice, fresh bread, homemade jam, and lavender honey. There was also a different pastry every day, and we all died over what we dubbed the "French Twist", a heavenly pastry with chocolate filling. We also had fresh fruit each day, including one day with cantaloupe soup and another with watermelon topped with yogurt and almonds. On top of all of this there was a hot dish. We had a pancake with bananas and peaches one day that my daughter proclaimed was the best she'd every tasted, a quiche the next day with peppers and onions that was delicious, and an apple cinnamon crepe the third day. Simply spectacular. The grounds at Le Mas Perreal are gorgeous and the pool is beautiful, set into the lawn as if it were a natural body of water. Kevin and Elisabeth are incredibly gracious and kind. Kevin gave us great suggestions for towns to visit, including lending us a map. The map was vital, but we still got lost repeatedly, which I've been told is "part of the fun"...not so much for us, so I would definitely recommend getting a GPS. We also loved the town of St. Saturnin-les-Apt. We walked in several times, including for dinner (and thank goodness for the flashlight provided by Kevin) at Les Voyageurs, which was probably the best meal of our entire trip. It's about a twenty minute walk, easy for us and the kids. We also went to town for the Tuesday market and bought the most amazing picnic foods, including sausage, cheeses, bread, olives, and wine. Kevin and Elisabeth provide everything you need for a picnic and it was one of the highlights of our trip. We loved St. Saturnin-les-Apt because it was much less touristy than a lot of the other towns. Do take the hike to the top of the castle. The views are amazing! I found Le Mas Perreal online and did not know anyone who had stayed there, but the comments on TripAdvisor were so gushing that we took the risk and it was so worth it. I've never written a review before but I had to do it for Le Mas Perreal because it was so fabulous. I highly recommend this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A lovely stay here for 4 nights in July. The room was very nice with traditional provencal furnishings and a good sized bathroon and the breakfast was excellent. Our hosts were great and really made the stay - Kevin was on hand to offer tips, and we appreciated the well stocked bookshelf of guidebooks and advice for places to eat, vineyards to visit etc etc - all his recomendations were great (particularly les voyagers in the village where we ate twice). The weather was very hot, and whilst the room was a little warm, the garden/pool area was perfect for relaxing and cooling off. It was also handy to have access to a little area with a fridge and dishes/glasses etc for evenings when we didn't want to eat out as we could instead have a light meal on the terrace by our room. The setting is truly lovely in the middle of vineyards and this is a perfect base to explore an area where there is so much to see and do. We hope to return at some point!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyside, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at Le Mas Perreal for four nights in July on our two-week trip to France. After a few days in Paris, this was the perfect place to unwind from the fast pace of city life. The owners, Kevin and Elizabeth, were very kind and made us feel at home from the start. Whatever you need, whether it's dinner reservations, suggestions on towns to visit, a map and a flashlight, or even breakfast to go (they kindly accommodated us on our last morning with an early departure to the train in Avignon), they are present to your needs, but also create a very quiet and private space for your relaxation. Our room and bathroom were quite large, very charmingly decorated, with an incredibly comfortable bed and great patio overlooking the vineyards and the pool. There is a pantry and refrigerator for guests so you can enjoy whatever food and wine you bring back from the markets and vineyards as a nice appetizer before heading off to one of the many amazing restaurants all within close driving distance (15-30 minutes). They also provide a really helpful book with suggestions and directions regarding local activities and cuisine. We found all of their recommendations to be spot on, especially the suggestion to take a nighttime dip in the pool beneath the stars. The breakfast served each morning on the patio outside their kitchen was outstanding and we appreciated that it was served until 10:30 so we could sleep in a bit. The town of San-Saturnin-les-Apt is somewhat more off the tourist path, but we loved their outdoor marketplace, as well as live music and dancing one night for Bastille Day and a massive tag sale where the locals set up stands and had a wide assortment of items for sale. Le Mas Perreal was the perfect place to enjoy all that Provence has to offer and to totally slow down the pace of our busy lives and relax in a peaceful setting. We hope to come back on our next trip to France!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We spent in Le Mas Perreal 12 days in May 2013 and we had a wonderful, relaxing time. The place is a short distance from many beautiful villages of Provence such as Gordes, Roussillon, Lacoste, Menerbes and others and in easy reach of Avignon and Aix-en-Provence. The accommodation was excellent. We stayed in a very comfortable and private Chambre de l'Arche with a view of flowerbeds, vineyards and cherry trees all around, with the woody hill Perreal in the background. Le Mas Perreal is a beautiful and quiet place in a convenient location. The best of all were our hosts, Elisabeth and Kevin. It would be hard to find nicer, kinder or more helpful hosts. Kevin and Elisabeth had always an excellent advice about our day-trips, they helped with restaurant bookings, whatever we needed we just had to ask. And their breakfasts will surely become subject of legends. All around, this was a great place to stay and enjoy a relaxing break in our otherwise very busy travel schedule.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is the place to live the Provencal dream. Owners Elisabeth and Kevin have done the restoring and furnishing of a grand old farmhouse with French taste and American comfort - you simply have to enjoy its glorious setting in 27 acres of vines and orchards with wonderful views. The sociable breakfast at a long table with up to ten people of different nationalities was a delightful start to the day, especially given the ever-changing appeal of the food served. Kevin cooks apple-filled pancakes before your eyes and Elisabeth's provencal quiche is out of this world. They are a mine of information on where to go and what to see and our six nights there in early May passed all too fast. To walk up to the town for dinner on quiet paths and then back as the sun was setting was a relaxing end to busy days exploring the enchanting hill-top villages and accessible towns like Avignon. Read the website - it is all true!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I stayed here in August 2012 for a week or so and it was a wonderful stay through and through. A little piece of paradise. This was a very relaxing vacation and Kevin and Elizabeth were wonderful and helpful hosts, making sure that we had everything we needed. We took day trips around the area (with a rental car) or at least dined out at restaurants in the nearby towns, but we devoted most of our time to the very relaxing and beautiful pool. Breakfasts are also a highlight with pastries and homemade treats, varying every morning. Rooms are very comfortable and charming. A fridge and silverware/plates/glasses are available for guest use, too. Town is a short walk (or bike ride) away and the market was a fun excursion. I would recommend Le Mas Perreal to all!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LER627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Paradisaical place might be the other word to describe "Le Mas Perreal". Situated near a small historic village, but far from all roads, in the middle of grapevines and trees.

We have stayed there in October 2009 (wow time flies...) and glad to see that perfection remains the standard.

What do you get? home far away from home, in a quiet place coupled with the hospitality of Elisabeth and Kevin!
Nevertheless the location is perfect for many daily tours in every direction you choose. Only after the great breakfast!!
for example Roussillon is 15 minutes away.
We love it!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Chambre du Lavoir and the Chambre de l'Arche. Both rooms have queen-size beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuval D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt
0.3 mi away
Domaine des Andeols
Domaine des Andeols
#1 of 2 in Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Les Sables d'Ocre
Hotel Les Sables d'Ocre
#3 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
La Petite Auberge de Roussillon
4.5 mi away
La Maison des Ocres
La Maison des Ocres
#5 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
8.2 mi away
Le Clos du Buis
Le Clos du Buis
#1 of 5 in Bonnieux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas Perreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Perreal

Property: Le Mas Perreal
Address: quartier la Fortune, 84490 Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt, Apt, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Apt > Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Provencal farmhouse located in the heart of the Luberon Park. 17 Acres of vineyards and cherry orchards just outside the village of St. Saturnin-Les-Apt. Luxury accommodations - individually decorated with period antiques - double rooms with breakfast and self-catering options available. Beautiful gardens and a pool set in the vineyard. Calm and tranquility assured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Mas Perreal Hotel Saint-Saturnin-Les-Apt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing