We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldish hotel, great location, nice food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Les Lecques
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Location is definitely best thing about this one. Close to sea in a small town. The hotel itself needs updating from inside. Rooms are rather worn and small, but still clean enough - nothing to complain there. Restaurant is typical French - food won´t probably let you down. There is also nice small pool for sunny days.

For sure this place has seen it´s best days though. Service was improved from last time as I was mostly able to get served in english, which was not the case a few years back in this hotel

We had continuous issues with wifi connection, which is basically not acceptable if talking about business travellers.

Room Tip: One with balcony and you can enjoy the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TitoKiljander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

In my opinion, any hotel staff should take good care of their guests, the customer is always right. The staff should do all their best to keep their guests satisfied and pleased with their stay. At this hotel, we had a completely different experience. We ordered a 3-bed luxury room for two nights through a booking agency and got a booking confirmation. When we arrived at the hotel, they told us that we had booked a small 2- bed room, and that this was the only room available.
I told the girl in the reception that we would like to check out after only one night because the room we got was too small for three people to stay in. I also called the booking agency who contacted the hotel to give us a price reduction. When we paid the bill the next morning, we had to ask for this reduction, even though this was confirmed with the hotel through the agency. The following day I got a phone call from another hotel employee, where he asked us if we had paid our bill! I found this call very impolite, as we had paid for the night in cash when checking out. Overall, we got a bad feeling from the hotel staff, and an impression that they were lying to us.
My recommendation is to stay away from this hotel! This is not a luxury hotel. Maybe it was 50 years ago, but the building and furniture is now worn out and long due for an upgrade. The hotel room itself did not have any electric outlets, and the beds were poor. If this hotel ever caught fire it would be a tragedy for the guests staying there as it is not safe at all.

Room Tip: Ground floor - if this hotel ever caught fire - you'll might be able to Escape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank hvas0mhelst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel needs a total renovation: stained carpets, peeling paint, rusty-colored water from faucets. Not at all appealing. Breakfast was pitiful: everything packaged (except for bread and croissants - which were good) and no fresh fruit. Staff pleasant. Until this place gets refurbished (it has great potential - location, views etc.) I would stay away.

Had a disconcerting incident - went for dinner in town (hotel restaurant closed - we were told it would be opened), came back at 9:30 pm to find handle to front door removed. Could not get in. After strongly knocking and calling, the caretaker opened the door. Instead of an apology he reprimanded us for not having the code. We were told the door would remain open until 1:00 am, ergo we would not need it.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Bizplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed in this lovely old hotel which is spacious and charming in mid October. We had room 161 on the ground floor with small private terrace leading to the extensive gardens. The room is set up for disabled use which I suspect makes it a little larger to allow wheelchair access. This room had been refurbished and was clean and comfortable with plenty of hanging/storage space and a small fridge. (no tea making facility).

It is only a few minutes walk to the sea front and a variety of shops and restaurants, albiet a lot were closed, it being October but still enough choice available.

The cold buffet breakfast was more than adequate with cold meats, cheeses, different preserves, honey, chocolate spread etc. lovely french bread, croissants, sweet cake choices and toast making facility.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and most spoke very good English.

A couple of minus points:-

Our room was not serviced one day. The following day, we were out all morning and when we came back around 1.00 p.m. our room had still not been serviced. In view of the fact that we had been missed the previous day I contacted reception and was told it would be done later. By 3.00 p.m. when all the black dirty linen bags had been removed from our corridor and the vaccuum had been stored I contacted reception yet again and was told it would be done immediately - which it was. Probably just a hitch.

The other minus point was that I asked for two extra pillows (one each having been supplied) and the hotel could only supply one extra.

All in all we had a great holiday and will definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeannie-BPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The hotel is a real 'faded lady' and needs a real thorough refurbishment inside and out. The view of the sea was to die for, however the room was dusty; it was never vacuumed once during our three night stay in February 2012. The balcony was covered in bird droppings and feathers. The bathroom was barely clean, the shower curtain was very moldy and too short to adequately keep the water in the tub. The bidet was rusty. I had to ask for toilet paper as there was no spare roll. We had dinner once in the dining room for the special Valentine's evening. The restaurant was closed the other nights we stayed. The dinner food was very good, however it was somewhat overpriced; the dining room was full of locals out for the evening who seemed to enjoy themselves. The breakfasts were skimpy, although adequate. Coffee, juice, small yogurts and cheese packets. Bread and croissants were acceptable. The staff was pleasant enough and the location convenient to the seaside. parking in a shaded lot adjacent. There is a sign posted warning of the danger of car break ins.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DianeMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Despite the fact that the hotel is in dire need of refurbishment we can strongly recommend it for its location, tranquility, good staff, excellent food. The size of the hotel, its grounds and seafront rooms with private terrace are fabulous and a pleasant change from some of the newer hotels whose rooms are very small and offer little else. The night we were there the hotel experienced electricity problems and within minutes the entire hotel had candles all over the place. The staff are to be congratulated for the efficient manner in which the situation was handled. They had a large group with a wedding and were still able to feed everyone with hot food. Our candle lit meal was not only romantic - the food which we were served came to the table hot and I cannot agree with a previous review about the restaurant being anything but good. When we departed the following morning there was still no electricity and therefore all computers were down. So it was a very pleasant surprise to subsequently receive a letter offering us a 50% discount for the inconvenience caused by their electricity problem.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dal06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

My husband and I stayed one night at the Grand Hotel Lecques. On the positive side, the view from our front-facing balcony was beautiful. However, that was the only positive of our stay. The room was very out-dated and questionably clean. The bathroom had very old fixtures which is OK, but not when they are rusty / moldy. The lowlight of the stay was the breakfast. We arrived 45 minutes before breakfast closed and were greeted by a buffett with no cups or plates, cold coffee, a moldy fruit basket, 1 mini-croissant, no rolls and an egg-boiler too low on water to boil eggs. Furthermore, the waitstaff was uninterested in and unresponsive to our requests for assistance. 130-euro a night (price included 25 euro for our breakfast) is a steep price for such low quality.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amiinfffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
2.5 mi away
Dolce Fregate Provence
Dolce Fregate Provence
#1 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
1,404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beausejour Les Palmiers
Hotel Beausejour Les Palmiers
#6 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
68 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hostellerie Berard
Hostellerie Berard
#1 of 1 in La Cadiere d'Azur
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Grand Hotel des Sablettes Plage, Curio Collection by Hilton
Grand Hotel des Sablettes Plage,...
#1 of 9 in La Seyne-sur-Mer
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis budget Saint Cyr sur mer La Ciotat
ibis budget Saint Cyr sur mer La...
#2 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chanteplage
Hotel Chanteplage
#4 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Les Lecques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Les Lecques

Address: 24 avenue du Port, 83270 Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
Price Range: £74 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Les Lecques 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Grand Hotel Les Lecques! On the coast of Provence, between Cassis and Bandol, you will discover the charm of this elegant Belle Epoque overlooking the Mediterranean. Nestled in a park of 3 hectares, 100 meters from the sandy beaches and shops, the Grand Hotel Les Lecques is the perfect place for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Les Lecques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Les Lecques Saint-Cyr-Sur-Mer, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing