We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby chic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Les Lecques
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Shabby chic”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

An olde worldly hotel that is in need of a face lift.
On the plus side the public areas and restaurant and pool are first class. It is in an excellent location in its own parkland.
Conversely, fixtures and fittings in the rooms need updating, especially the plumbing.
Well worth the stay if only for its location

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank JimB4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    86
    71
    41
    38
See reviews for
54
190
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed two nights at this 'grand' hotel and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was small but clean and tidy, and this is all we required. The staff were very pleasant, and we enjoyed our breakfast both mornings in the large dining room, which also had an outside terraced area with views of the sea. There was an excellent choice of food for breakfast. The pool area is also very pleasant.The hotel is just across the road from beach and there are many excellent bars and restaurants along the waterfront. I hope that this hotel will have a total revamp some day to restore it to it's former glory, as is a magnificent building in lovely grounds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Henryjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction01, Attaché de Direction at Grand Hotel Les Lecques, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,
Nous vous remercions d'avoir déposè un commentaire et sommes très heureux que vous ayez passé, un agréable séjour au sein du grand hôtel les lecques.
Nous continuons nos rénovations, et serions très heureux de vous en faire profiter lors de votre prochain séjour.
Toute l'équipe du grand hôtel se joint à moi pour vous remercier.
Nous vous prions d'agrèer, Madame, Monsieur, nos sincères salutations.
Très Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Location is definitely best thing about this one. Close to sea in a small town. The hotel itself needs updating from inside. Rooms are rather worn and small, but still clean enough - nothing to complain there. Restaurant is typical French - food won´t probably let you down. There is also nice small pool for sunny days.

For sure this place has seen it´s best days though. Service was improved from last time as I was mostly able to get served in english, which was not the case a few years back in this hotel

We had continuous issues with wifi connection, which is basically not acceptable if talking about business travellers.

Room Tip: One with balcony and you can enjoy the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TitoKiljander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

In my opinion, any hotel staff should take good care of their guests, the customer is always right. The staff should do all their best to keep their guests satisfied and pleased with their stay. At this hotel, we had a completely different experience. We ordered a 3-bed luxury room for two nights through a booking agency and got a booking confirmation. When we arrived at the hotel, they told us that we had booked a small 2- bed room, and that this was the only room available.
I told the girl in the reception that we would like to check out after only one night because the room we got was too small for three people to stay in. I also called the booking agency who contacted the hotel to give us a price reduction. When we paid the bill the next morning, we had to ask for this reduction, even though this was confirmed with the hotel through the agency. The following day I got a phone call from another hotel employee, where he asked us if we had paid our bill! I found this call very impolite, as we had paid for the night in cash when checking out. Overall, we got a bad feeling from the hotel staff, and an impression that they were lying to us.
My recommendation is to stay away from this hotel! This is not a luxury hotel. Maybe it was 50 years ago, but the building and furniture is now worn out and long due for an upgrade. The hotel room itself did not have any electric outlets, and the beds were poor. If this hotel ever caught fire it would be a tragedy for the guests staying there as it is not safe at all.

Room Tip: Ground floor - if this hotel ever caught fire - you'll might be able to Escape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank hvas0mhelst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer hotels

Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel needs a total renovation: stained carpets, peeling paint, rusty-colored water from faucets. Not at all appealing. Breakfast was pitiful: everything packaged (except for bread and croissants - which were good) and no fresh fruit. Staff pleasant. Until this place gets refurbished (it has great potential - location, views etc.) I would stay away.

Had a disconcerting incident - went for dinner in town (hotel restaurant closed - we were told it would be opened), came back at 9:30 pm to find handle to front door removed. Could not get in. After strongly knocking and calling, the caretaker opened the door. Instead of an apology he reprimanded us for not having the code. We were told the door would remain open until 1:00 am, ergo we would not need it.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Bizplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed in this lovely old hotel which is spacious and charming in mid October. We had room 161 on the ground floor with small private terrace leading to the extensive gardens. The room is set up for disabled use which I suspect makes it a little larger to allow wheelchair access. This room had been refurbished and was clean and comfortable with plenty of hanging/storage space and a small fridge. (no tea making facility).

It is only a few minutes walk to the sea front and a variety of shops and restaurants, albiet a lot were closed, it being October but still enough choice available.

The cold buffet breakfast was more than adequate with cold meats, cheeses, different preserves, honey, chocolate spread etc. lovely french bread, croissants, sweet cake choices and toast making facility.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and most spoke very good English.

A couple of minus points:-

Our room was not serviced one day. The following day, we were out all morning and when we came back around 1.00 p.m. our room had still not been serviced. In view of the fact that we had been missed the previous day I contacted reception and was told it would be done later. By 3.00 p.m. when all the black dirty linen bags had been removed from our corridor and the vaccuum had been stored I contacted reception yet again and was told it would be done immediately - which it was. Probably just a hitch.

The other minus point was that I asked for two extra pillows (one each having been supplied) and the hotel could only supply one extra.

All in all we had a great holiday and will definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeannie-BPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The hotel is a real 'faded lady' and needs a real thorough refurbishment inside and out. The view of the sea was to die for, however the room was dusty; it was never vacuumed once during our three night stay in February 2012. The balcony was covered in bird droppings and feathers. The bathroom was barely clean, the shower curtain was very moldy and too short to adequately keep the water in the tub. The bidet was rusty. I had to ask for toilet paper as there was no spare roll. We had dinner once in the dining room for the special Valentine's evening. The restaurant was closed the other nights we stayed. The dinner food was very good, however it was somewhat overpriced; the dining room was full of locals out for the evening who seemed to enjoy themselves. The breakfasts were skimpy, although adequate. Coffee, juice, small yogurts and cheese packets. Bread and croissants were acceptable. The staff was pleasant enough and the location convenient to the seaside. parking in a shaded lot adjacent. There is a sign posted warning of the danger of car break ins.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DianeMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
2.5 mi away
Dolce Fregate Provence
Dolce Fregate Provence
#1 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beausejour Les Palmiers
Hotel Beausejour Les Palmiers
#4 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Au Tapis de Sable
Au Tapis de Sable
#3 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chanteplage
Hotel Chanteplage
#7 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hostellerie Berard
Hostellerie Berard
#1 of 1 in La Cadiere d'Azur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Corniche du Liouquet
Hotel Corniche du Liouquet
#3 of 14 in La Ciotat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Les Lecques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Les Lecques

Property: Grand Hotel Les Lecques
Address: 24 avenue du Port, 83270 Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Les Lecques 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Grand Hotel Les Lecques! On the coast of Provence, between Cassis and Bandol, you will discover the charm of this elegant Belle Epoque overlooking the Mediterranean. Nestled in a park of 3 hectares, 100 meters from the sandy beaches and shops, the Grand Hotel Les Lecques is the perfect place for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Les Lecques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Les Lecques Saint-Cyr-Sur-Mer, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing