We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful gem of a hotel in Saint Cyr”
Review of Le Petit Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Petit Nice
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I feel very lucky to have found this little gem of a hotel on the French Riviera. Before embarking on a recent trip to the South of France with my girlfriend I searched online for a decent hotel and read some good reviews of this hotel in St. Cyr (we wanted to avoid more heavily visited spots like Cassis), so I went ahead and sent an e-mail to the address I found on its website. To my delight I received a prompt and courteous reply confirming my reservation. Booking a hotel unseen is always a bit of a gamble, but when we actually arrived at Le Petit Nice one week later we were pleasantly surprised to find a wonderfully-located hotel close to the beach (a short walk down a very pleasant private lane leads right to the heart of the beach front). Our room (for two with one double bed) was a tad small, but very clean and the bathroom (also on the small side) was also very clean and in good condition (the bed wasn't terribly comfortable, but decent enough so I didn't mind). But the highlight of the hotel was the amazing food! Fabulous three-course dinners and delicious breakfasts were all included in the cost of the room (160 euros per night). There was also a good selection of amazing local wines. We were both in heaven. The grounds have a pleasant garden area for reading and a pool if you've had enough of the beach. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. St. Cyr itself is a very picturesque town that plays host mostly to families on vacation. Very pleasant for a romantic getaway in the summer too. I will definitely be back if I'm ever on the Riviera again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serenroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2011

I have only checked out today and this has been a fantastic stay!!! In fact, I was blown away by the hotel, friendliness of the staff and "patron" (a very nice monsieur who does not smile a lot but responds to everything you ask him about straight away in a very friendly, matter-of-fact manner). This morning as we were leaving I could not get a taxi (apparently it is a problem in the town as it has only a small number of taxis and lots of people staying, you need to book a day in advance) as they were all booked out and I asked if he could give us a lift to the railway station, he immediately said yes and when we arrived I wanted to pay him but he refused the money...a real gentleman!
The hotel is probably the best in town in terms of value for money and location. Rooms are simple but comfy, the beds are great, you got your cable TV, phone, hair drier, safe, all you really need. The only thing missing in the simpler type of room we stayed at (Batiment d'Acceui, there is also a better, bigger type of rooms in the other building, Le Plein Sud). The swimming pool was fantastic! So beautiful, surrounded by flowers everywhere. A very nice shady garden around. The hotel is just across the road from the beach and there are lots of cafes, restaurants and shops in the radius of 2 min walk, try bread and pastry from La Do Re Mi bakery, great stuff!
A separate mentioning to the restaurant - their breakfast is a good continental one, fresh croissant, cereals, jams, honey, bread, butter, boiled eggs, orange juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate. Go with the half board option - dinners were a highlight of our stay, food is simple but fresh and beautifully cooked and presented, their fish dishes were so yummy and desserts were to die for.
The hotel is very quiet, ideal for older people, couples looking for a quiet, romantic stay and families with children.
The Grand Hotel is nearby and it is pretty much the same (nice rooms of course) but almost twice as expensive. The hotel Chanteplage is right on the beach but this is actually not that great - too noisy, rooms face the beach and a restaurant strip where music plays till 3 am. And it does not have a pool.
All house maids were so nice to us (me and my 73 yo mother), always happy to chat and help. And I forgot to mention unlimited free in-room Wi Fi!
I have had a fabulous stay and recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a great time in this part of Southern France.

Room Tip: get a room facing the pool, beautiful view onto the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sergeyvzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

WARNING - a number of reviews under this heading are not of this hotel but of similarly named hotels in Nice and Marseille. St Cyr /Les Leques is a small seaside beach resort and port with a sandy beach between Le Ciotat and Bandol. It seems to be mainly frequented by people from Marseille.

This hotel is a typically French holiday hotel - the rooms are plain and simple but clean and comfortable. The main building has double rooms without balconies and the "Plein sud" building has rooms with a double and a single with good sized balconies. Flat screen televisions - 5 French channels only. The bathrooms were a little functional and worn eg plenty of hot water but nowhere to put the shower head. Rooms have a safe which is useful when off to the beach.

The restaurant is nicely enlarged with a Provencal feel. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is a little monotonous and very French. Good orange juice, french bread and croissants but very basic cereal,with yoghourts and no fruit. Tea and coffee from an urn rather than freshly made. We had demi-pension and the dinners were actually pretty good, and good value as they were a four course meal including cheese. They ranged from homely but tasty (salmon lasagne) to as good as you would get in a decent restaurant (eg Soupe de poisson, gambas a la creme, entrecote with cepes).

The hotel is set back from the beach road in a secluded and peaceful garden but only a few minutes walk to the beach. The beach here is mainly sandy which is unusual for this part of the coast and the bay is sheltered and shelves very slowly so it's good for children. There is a well maintained promenade with trees, seats and showers. The hotel has a decent sized swimming pool and several areas where you could sit in the shade.

The hotel also offers free Wifi though I found the signal was not strong enough in the room and I had to sit in reception. There is limited free parking outside the hotel and a small car park inside which they charge for (not a problem in September but I can imagine in high season it could be a problem - parking in St Cyr is chargeable and was very busy at the weekend even in September). However once you got to the hotel you could leave your car there as the beach, port, local shops and restaurants are all within walking distance.

The couple who run the hotel have only had it a year and may well be doing it up. My main complaint is that they seemed rather shy and not well engaged with the visitors.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helenakitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2006

Near to the very nice, spacious beach but calm, clean,friendly furnished.Clairaudient certainly when many clients in.
Room with one french bed (grand lit)little bit small for two persons.
Manageress not rather charming: Explications/instruction for use of things in the room and help only by asking.The client is the king???
On the other hand helpful in a problem for getting a taxi/private one because no official one free for the next morning to the train station.
Breakfast not worth the price.
Month:April. No website but adress via link from office de tourisme.

4  Thank ChrisHi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank steal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Isabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gino P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chanteplage
Hotel Chanteplage
#4 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis budget Saint Cyr sur mer La Ciotat
ibis budget Saint Cyr sur mer La...
#2 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Les Lecques
Grand Hotel Les Lecques
#7 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beausejour Les Palmiers
Hotel Beausejour Les Palmiers
#5 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
68 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dolce Fregate Provence
Dolce Fregate Provence
#1 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
1,360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Au Tapis de Sable
Au Tapis de Sable
#3 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Nice

Address: 11 allee Docteur Seillon, 83270 Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
Price Range: £60 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Petit Nice 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an oasis of freshness, right in the centre of its own shady park, LE PETIT NICE will be happy to welcome you in a friendly atmosphere. Located two steps away from the beach of Les Lecques, in the centre of town, it was able to preserve the paradise calm of the surrounding hills. At your disposal there are 31 comfortable rooms with bathroom/wc,TV, direct-dial phone and satefy box. 14 rooms even have terraces to the south. Air-conditioned restaurant. Heated swimming-pool. Closed parking on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Petit Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Petit Nice Saint-Cyr-Sur-Mer, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing