We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Ecolodge l'Etoile d'Argens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed here with my family in our touring caravan for 10 days in July / August and had a fantastic holiday. We were all so impressed with the staff and facilities - the pitch was really spacious and comfortably accommodated our 4 berth caravan & awning, the car, a two man tent, 3 adults and 3 children - not to mention bikes, scooters and BBQ. Although it's a very big site the pitches allow for plenty of privacy and we never felt overlooked or crammed in. The showers - toilets and washing facilities were fantastic. Extremely clean and well maintained. As were the washing machine areas which also had spacious washing lines alongside them. The resort facilites were well maintained - plenty of sunloungers by the pools - which were also kept very clean and tidy. The restaurant served excellent food, in a lovely garden next to the park which was great for eating in or having a drink in the evenings and where the kids could meet their new friends in the adventure playground close by. The kids club was also excellent. We wouldn't normally encourage our children to go to a club as we love to spend time with them ourselves, but actually we couldn't keep them away. They played games in the swimming pool for a couple of hours every morning with lots of other children and the staff who were remarkably well equipped to deal with a multitude of nationalities and languages. The boat to the beach was also run really well - although you did have to get in line early to avoid it filling up. The local beach is a beautiful expanse of white sand with a very handy cafe on the waters edge which sells delicious food and piches of ice cold rose. There was a nudist beach right next door to navigate en route although if you're not into that kind of thing you could take an alternative path, but for us made great entertainment for the kids (and us adults if I'm honest)! All in all, we had a really great family holiday - so much so we're planning to book up for several weeks next year to make the most of it and have recommended to all our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marriedwithkids2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for L'Ecolodge l'Etoile d'Argens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Wonderful holiday with scorching sun. We booked with Eurocamp and were glad of the air con in our van. Lovely if rather large campsite, and it felt a long walk to the shop, reception etc.Pools were good, although some loutish behaviour which the attendants seemed to turn a blind eye to. Plenty of 'not allowed' swimwear also in evidence being ignored by all. Didnt shop on site but went to Casino Geante. Easy to get to avoiding traffic once we learnt to turn left out of the campsite rather then right.Went with daughter, son in law and 2 grandchildren 14 and 12. They seemed to enjoy themselves. Went on the organised trip to Monaco, well worth it, Monte Carlo was a sight for the eyes and i wouldnt have wanted a car there.
Husband and I drove to Port Grimaud one day, pretty town, but journey abysmal. Took ages.
Lot of time spent on the beaches around.. we avoided the naturist one where the boat drops you!
Getting back on the boat at 4pm can be a bit of a scrum though with everyone wanting to return then. Really is too far to walk on a regular basis..45mins to an hour across the dunes. We took the cars part way.
We did enjoy ourselves though!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kefalonian_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Visited this site in August with our touring caravan, pitch was a good size (we booked a 180 m2) with water and waste. Friendly staff throughout the park, nothing was too much trouble, the site backs onto a river which was ideal for fishing, boating and even swimming in. There was a boat which took you to the beach and back, this was put on by the site and it saves you having to take your car. Resturant was good value and food was good, entertainment was put on during the evenings and the pools were ok, you could even get a sunbed. The access to the pitch was tight with a twin axle but achievable with care. Great location for visiting Monte Carlo, Cannes, St Tropez, local beaches are nice and clean also. Overall site very good and wouldn't hesitate to come here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I can warmly recommend it. The place is pleasant, they offer a regular boat trip to the beach and the staff is very helpful and nice. Everybody speaks English. The location is ideal for discovering the whole Riviera. Reasonable prices make it an ideal place for groups As a guide I took there 43 passengers who were all satisfied with the place and the service. The swimming pool and the jakuzzi is great, the shop is well-supplied and the prices are acceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithSZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was our first family camping trip - both my wife and I had camped when we were kids, and we would never have dreamt of camping 5 years ago. So on the drive south through France, with a 2 & 4 year old in the back, and with a boot load of new unused camping gear, I had a feeling of impending doom. Pleased to say that as soon as we got there this feeling disappeared, and we returned from an excellent 2 weeks just a few days ago.

We had the largest tent pitch you could get, which took our vango Maritsa 700 perfectly. These pitches are also along the eastern edge of the site, with views over the adjacent field, and are pretty quiet and private. The site as a whole is very private - I didn't expect this at all, but there are loads of trees and bushes, so you can't really see much further than a couple of pitches in any direction.

The pool area is great, with a big pool, smaller pool, and kids pool, as well as a v small paddling pool. We always found sun loungers without any issues. Music is playing most of the day, but nothing over the top - some of the staff get the kids up dancing at various points too. We spent our evenings either on the pitch as the kids were asleep, or our in nearby towns, so actually never saw what evening entertainment was like. The shop's pretty good, especially the bakery in the mornings, and the boat to the beach is a great bonus too (beach is a short drive and 4 euros for parking, which we found a better option).

Everyone we met on the site was very nice too, lots of decent young families, many English, but some French Dutch and German too. We really didnt know what to expect from camping, but our worst case scenario of a noisy dirty site full of 'orrible people was, thankfully, miles from the truth. We loved it, and would highly recommend this site for families, although perhaps not those with older kids or those looking for intensive on site entertainment. Getting the ferry to st tropez, heading to Cannes for dinner, and a drive around the Haut Provence (especially Tourtour) were highlights too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was our first visit to L'Etoile D'Argens as a family of four (2 adults, 7 y o and a 12 y o). We were is a Mykonos mobile home with air con which was great as it was very hot. It was clean and serviceable with a TV (BBC World News only for the TV dependant!)
The site was very clean and well laid out. There is a restaurant which served evening meals, we ate there once. The portions were good and quality was ok. The snack bar served large pizzas which again were ok at 9 Euros. The chips were in a generous carton but were 3.50 Euros. The staff were friendly and kept the place well.
The pool area was also very clean, no drinks allowed through from the snack/restaurant area which helped I guess. The beds were in demand at the begining of the day particularly if you wanted to over look a certain pool area eg little pool. Having read the earlier post I disagree, the pool music was not in my opinion loud but then I didnt sit next to the speakers and the entertainment guy only appeared at fixed times as per the schedule. The pool opened at 10 and he appeared at 11 with games that involved adults and kids eg catching a broom handle before it hit the floor. Not loud splashing irritating stuff. And this was for about an hour then would come back later.
There is a little shop with great fresh bread and croissants which drew a queue. It also sold a couple of UK papers along with German, Dutch, Italian etc.
The crazy golf was good fun if a little tired but the tennis courts were good and plentiful with a club which ran every day for the kids. Our kids were too tired to sit up for evening entertainment which usually started around 9. We couldnt hear any noise.There is a play area which is nice and boules/petanque area too.

We didnt use the shower/loo block but did use the laundry 7 Euros a go! Make it a big one if you do.
The boat trip to the beach was interesting and as has been said be aware of the timing of when you go and return. If you miss the slot its a long wait. Its a bit of a walk to the public beach which is long with a couple of bar/cafes. To be honest it was so hot we only went once and dogs are welcome, this didnt bother us as we sat on the "dogs on leads" end.
My only niggle was there was no village to walk to, you are reliant on site facilities. We had a car so found the hidden Carrefour for shopping. I suppose it is a personal thing but we like to go for a walk and explore. This would be the only thing that would make me explore other sites. Frejus marina is worth a visit and we always round off with a couple of nights in Nice which is around 40 mins away.

Good fun and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Booking via the site gives a better range of vans and a comparable price!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hobitess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just returned from this beautiful campsite and will definitley be going back next year. For us (Mum, Dad, 2 tweens: 11 and 13) it was perfect. We booked a 3-bed Sunlight cabin with Eurocamp on one of the larger plots near the river - cabin was clean and had everything we needed including 2 bathrooms and lovely terrace (although the beds could have been more comfortable - that's our only gripe and that's with Eurocamp not the campsite!) The site itself was gorgeous, small friendly family run feel to it - quiet spacious shady plots, clean pools and super friendly staff who didn't mind me practicing my rubbish french on them! Well stocked site shop. We're not into discos and entertainment - this happens on a small scale here so nice and easy to avoid if you're like us and prefer a lazy evening on your terrace or a bit of table tennis! The pinnacle for us was the free shuttle boat to and from St Aygulf beach. A lovely way to start and end the day. St Aygulf has clean sand and clear sea and good amenities - and has a section for dogs so may be taking mine next year! Cannot recommend this campsite and area highly enough, this holiday is going to turn into a family tradition.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Aygulf
2.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Aygulf
Hotel Saint Aygulf
#1 of 11 in Saint-Aygulf
685 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Jardins du Mai-Tai
Les Jardins du Mai-Tai
#1 of 16 in Saint-Aygulf
252 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Plage d'Argens
La Plage d'Argens
#2 of 16 in Saint-Aygulf
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Camping Sandaya Riviera d’Azur
5.4 mi away
Camping Sandaya Douce Quietude
Camping Sandaya Douce Quietude
#1 of 24 in Saint-Raphael
569 reviews
3.5 mi away
Camping La Pierre Verte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ecolodge l'Etoile d'Argens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ecolodge l'Etoile d'Argens

Address: 121 Chemin des Etangs | Fréjus, 83370 Saint-Aygulf, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Aygulf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Aygulf
Price Range: £29 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ecolodge l'Etoile d'Argens 4*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Fréjus - St Aygulf, on the French Riviera, between Cannes and St Tropez, on the shores of the Mediterranean sea, the 4 star Ecolodge l'Etoile d'Argens campsite welcomes you in the heart of a 11 hectares oasis of greenery, on the edge of the Argens river. At your disposal: 3 heated swimming pools, jacuzzis, restaurant, bar - disco, tennis, mini golf, multi-sport field and a free children's club. Discover our ranges of mobile homes, KLASSIC, up to 6 people, the new and very comfortable KOSY mobile homes, and our KABANE wooden chalets on stilts located on the banks of the river. Want more ? Enjoy our free river shuttle to reach the beach ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your L'Ecolodge l'Etoile d'Argens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Etoile d`Argens Hotel Antibes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing