We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent staff and good evening meal”

Auberge du Val Joli
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge du Val Joli
Ranked #3 of 7 Seez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent staff and good evening meal”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed here for our sking holiday- 2 adults and 2 kids.
the staff are very friendly and helpful. the hotel is basic but very clean. It may lack a little charm perhaps and the only thing dating from 1915 are the stairs, however the evening meal is very good and generally there is a choice. The prices are reasonable and our room was quiet with a fantastic view over the valley. There is a free bus in the morning at 9.45 to the ski lift behind the hotel or further to La Rosiere. The nearest ski lift is about 5 minutes away by car or there is La Rosiere which is about 20 minutes.
Mabye lacking in things to do in the evening but we were so tired after sking all day this did not matter.

the staff and the food get the top marks for this hotel.
it is a bit basic but then it does have Auberge it it's name!

would go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_and_Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    23
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
19
14
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Nico and his team went out of their way to make us feel like at home. Loved the place! We got a double bed room with en-suite bathroom and a balcony. The view from the room onto the mountains is beautiful. The room is cosy and very clean. Liked the location because we could easily go to La Rosiere and Les Arcs to go speedriding and paragliding.
We had dinner on the first evening at the Auberge, they serve some traditional French food (the children even liked it !!!), it was very tasteful so we decided to have our dinners there every evenings (one evening was a cheese fondue) but it is also easy to get into BOurg ST MAurice (3 min) if you want to try other restaurants. The day we wanted to go to Les Arcs they ran out of ski lifts discounts so they sent us to the Office du TOurisme of Seez with a stamped form to get a reduced price. We thought that was really nice of them! Well for us it is a little gem and we are going back this summer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here for one night as a summer stopover. Just a few miles outside of Bourg St Maurice with a great view over the valley. We booked a "refuge" room for 100 euros , sleeps 6 in 3 sets bunk beds - had en-suite bathroom with 2 shower cubicles, 2 wash basins, all spotlessly clean.
Plenty of parking space next to hotel, nice bar and good hearty food in the restaurant.

Room Tip: If you're in a big vehicle its easier to reverse up the driveway or you may have a tight squeeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yourekidding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

This is a gem of a hotel. Recently refurbished throughout, the staff are very helpful, the food is superb "mountain food", and the whole place is clean and tidy. We used it as a base for our ski trip. All the resorts of La Rosiere, Tignes, Val d'Isere, Les Arcs, La Plagne etc are easily reached.
It used to be a place where the local border police rested (it's on the road to Italy over the Col de Petit St. Bernard) and it is now a wonderful hotel commanding superb views over the valley. The clientele are mainly french - which should tell you a lot about the quality - and the owner made us feel so welcome, he shared a couple of bottles of champagne with us on our last night.
DON'T go there with the idea that as you are British you are therefore special and should be allowed to shout in a loud and commanding voice, should your request be misunderstood. Go with humility and the desire to blend in with the locals and try to speak the language - if you do, you will absolutely LOVE this wonderful new auberge. If your french isn't up to the task, don't worry as Joel, the manager speaks english. But your efforts will be welcomed and rewarded by a warm and friendly response.
We LOVED this hotel. I was torn between shouting about how great it is, and keeping it as a secret so that we would have the place to ourselves. In the end I decided that Joel and his crew deserved the acclaim that they should justly receive. A wonderful hotel. 6 stars!

  • Liked — The whole experience and the friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank curryfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seez
2.6 mi away
Hotel Autantic
Hotel Autantic
#9 of 28 in Bourg Saint Maurice
127 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Arolla
Hotel Arolla
#12 of 28 in Bourg Saint Maurice
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Relais des Villards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Les Lauriers Roses
#8 of 11 in Bourg Saint Maurice
1 reviews
0.6 mi away
La ferme d'Angele
La ferme d'Angele
#1 of 7 in Seez
98 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Relais De La Vanoise
Le Relais De La Vanoise
#5 of 11 in Bourg Saint Maurice
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Val Joli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Val Joli

Property: Auberge du Val Joli
Address: 2 rue des Pierres Blanches | Le Villard Dessus, 73700 Seez, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Seez
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Seez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Auberge du Val Joli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing