We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and good views, but may be sold”

Auberge du Val Joli
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge du Val Joli
Ranked #2 of 7 Seez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

A large and traditional looking hotel set on a hillside above Bourg St Maurice with great views over the valley to Bourg and Les Arcs. Good large room with en suite bathroom and small balcony.

Owner was friendly but as we stayed in the quiet season (between the end of the skiing and the start of the summer, the desk was only intermittently manned. Good free wifi.

Sadly it was up for sale when we stayed so may change/disappear.

Room Tip: Easy to find as is large and on road to La Rosiere from Bourg St Maurice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed here for our sking holiday- 2 adults and 2 kids.
the staff are very friendly and helpful. the hotel is basic but very clean. It may lack a little charm perhaps and the only thing dating from 1915 are the stairs, however the evening meal is very good and generally there is a choice. The prices are reasonable and our room was quiet with a fantastic view over the valley. There is a free bus in the morning at 9.45 to the ski lift behind the hotel or further to La Rosiere. The nearest ski lift is about 5 minutes away by car or there is La Rosiere which is about 20 minutes.
Mabye lacking in things to do in the evening but we were so tired after sking all day this did not matter.

the staff and the food get the top marks for this hotel.
it is a bit basic but then it does have Auberge it it's name!

would go again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_and_Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Nico and his team went out of their way to make us feel like at home. Loved the place! We got a double bed room with en-suite bathroom and a balcony. The view from the room onto the mountains is beautiful. The room is cosy and very clean. Liked the location because we could easily go to La Rosiere and Les Arcs to go speedriding and paragliding.
We had dinner on the first evening at the Auberge, they serve some traditional French food (the children even liked it !!!), it was very tasteful so we decided to have our dinners there every evenings (one evening was a cheese fondue) but it is also easy to get into BOurg ST MAurice (3 min) if you want to try other restaurants. The day we wanted to go to Les Arcs they ran out of ski lifts discounts so they sent us to the Office du TOurisme of Seez with a stamped form to get a reduced price. We thought that was really nice of them! Well for us it is a little gem and we are going back this summer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here for one night as a summer stopover. Just a few miles outside of Bourg St Maurice with a great view over the valley. We booked a "refuge" room for 100 euros , sleeps 6 in 3 sets bunk beds - had en-suite bathroom with 2 shower cubicles, 2 wash basins, all spotlessly clean.
Plenty of parking space next to hotel, nice bar and good hearty food in the restaurant.

Room Tip: If you're in a big vehicle its easier to reverse up the driveway or you may have a tight squeeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yourekidding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2008

This is a gem of a hotel. Recently refurbished throughout, the staff are very helpful, the food is superb "mountain food", and the whole place is clean and tidy. We used it as a base for our ski trip. All the resorts of La Rosiere, Tignes, Val d'Isere, Les Arcs, La Plagne etc are easily reached.
It used to be a place where the local border police rested (it's on the road to Italy over the Col de Petit St. Bernard) and it is now a wonderful hotel commanding superb views over the valley. The clientele are mainly french - which should tell you a lot about the quality - and the owner made us feel so welcome, he shared a couple of bottles of champagne with us on our last night.
DON'T go there with the idea that as you are British you are therefore special and should be allowed to shout in a loud and commanding voice, should your request be misunderstood. Go with humility and the desire to blend in with the locals and try to speak the language - if you do, you will absolutely LOVE this wonderful new auberge. If your french isn't up to the task, don't worry as Joel, the manager speaks english. But your efforts will be welcomed and rewarded by a warm and friendly response.
We LOVED this hotel. I was torn between shouting about how great it is, and keeping it as a secret so that we would have the place to ourselves. In the end I decided that Joel and his crew deserved the acclaim that they should justly receive. A wonderful hotel. 6 stars!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank curryfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fabien G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Krake10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seez hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Relais des Villards
0.6 mi away
La ferme d'Angele
La ferme d'Angele
#1 of 7 in Seez
101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#1 of 3 in Seez
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gite Molliebon
Gite Molliebon
#6 of 7 in Seez
16 reviews
1.0 mi away
Camping le Reclus
Camping le Reclus
#1 of 2 in Seez
131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chalet Tioli
Chalet Tioli
#3 of 7 in Seez
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Val Joli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Val Joli

Address: 2 rue des Pierres Blanches | Le Villard Dessus, 73700 Seez, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Seez
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Seez
Price Range: £71 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge du Val Joli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing