We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Berghotel Rehlegg
Nearby Hotels
US$112
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Koppeleck(Schoenau am Koenigssee)
US$129
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden(Schoenau am Koenigssee)
US$160
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Konigsseer Hof(Schoenau am Koenigssee)
US$166
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nutzkaser(Ramsau)
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brunneck Hotel(Schoenau am Koenigssee)
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen(Schoenau am Koenigssee)
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveller rating
542
105
19
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
105
19
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolevening buffetseparate showergood sized balconybeauty treatmentsbavarian buffetafternoon cakeswalking holidayspa facilitiestypical germansuper hotela family run hotelstayed for nightsoverlooking the mountainson a half board basissized roombeautiful room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 675 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We decided to go back to this hotel since our favorite hotel was booked out in berchtesgaden. We had visited this hotel... i think it was around 2008 plus or minus one year and also think that it was not under the "best western plus" name then.

And this is my point...it has changed alittle. for example when it was run "private" by the family/owner and everything was tip top. Now you see wear and tear here and there in the halls on the walls. Hmm...

the dinner buffet on friday evening was nicely presented but the two different meat dishes were lukewarm although kept in the warmers. The gravy they poured was hot so i was able to eat the meat. It was tasty though. On saturday they offered a different menu but those warmers did not keep the food hot.

Breakfast was good. Order the omelet or fried eggs..very good!

The room was a double room and very comfortable, clean and roomy. The hotel is about 8-10 car minutes from the berchtesgaden train station.

All in all it was a good stay. P.S. the waitress "patricia" and waitresses serving in the morning..very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hirlsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Hirlsa H,
thank you very much for taking the time to write an assessment at tripadvisor.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and savour our dishes at our restaurant.
I am wondering about your remark at the ownership. No changes took place during the last 14 years. The hotel ist still owned by the family Lichtmannegger (third generation so far) and cooperate with Best Western since 2001.
Hopefully you will visit us once again.
best regards
Silke Roßmann
Best Western Plus Berghotel Rehlegg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

It didn't matter what we asked for nothing was too much trouble for this place. The ambience was sublime and the restaurant and bar was a place where we could have stayed all afternoon if it wasn't for the stunning scenery and the fantastic walks we would have. We couldn't wish for better hosts. Franz,will and not forgetting Bexter. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikingtraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Vikingtra,
thank you very much for taking the time to write an assessment at tripadvisor. We are pleased, you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time.
Hopefully, we will see each other again.
best regards
Silke Roßmann
Berghotel Rehlegg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We drove up to the hotel on the recommendation of a chef who had worked there some years ago. We arrived fairly early in the morning. In the parking lot we looked it up on booking.com and the smallest room was 172 euro. We checked the Best Western website and the room was 117 euro - we guess because it was off-season. We booked it and Jennifer at the front desk was able to get us into a room quite early. She was a wonderful employee and we can only say laudatory praise for her. The hotel itself is in a magnificent breathtaking location. However, be forewarned that the one lane road up into the parking lot is not for the faint of heart. It was icy, had blind curves, no guard rails and is two-way. Our tiny room was in the guesthouse portion of the hotel. Despite its extreme smallness, it was a lovely, clean and a fine accommodation. We found the dinner buffet to be terribly expensive so we chose an alacarte meal which was good, but also seemed quite expensive. The next morning there was a large and plentiful buffet, even a wait person came around asking whether you wanted eggs made up any style you desired.

Room Tip: View rooms abound - ask for one
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bargainhuntress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz L, Inhaber at Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear BarbarainOjai,
thank you very much for your feedback at holidaycheck. We are pleased, you enjoyed your stay with us. Jenny was very happy, that you mentioned her (greetings of her to you!).
We hope you will visit us once again.
best regards
Silke Roßmann
Berghotel Rehlegg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel offers different room types. We had the studio Sonnenrose which is a wonderful modern and spacious room with balcony and a fantastic view of the mountains. We can highly recommend the restaurant which offers high level cuisine and very friendly service. The SPA area is nice, but could be bigger since when the hotel is fully booked it gets quite crowdy in the late afternoon. Unfortunately they do not offer massages on a Sunday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas-from-Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz L, Inhaber at Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Thomas,
thank you very much for taking the time to write an assessment. We are happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the opening times of our Spa, we will change the opening hours. We will start offering massages and treatments every day a week in the middle of december.
best regards
Silke Roßmann
Berghotel Rehlegg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

There are many reasons we came back to this hotel after our first visit last year. It is a combination of perfect location, the stunning view from the Residenz building we stayed in again and the excellent service this hotel provides. It is worth every Euro !
We stayed in a one of the suites which had a separate bedroom ( you could hear a wonderful rushing stream and the church bells ) and a living room with attached balcony. We spent many afternoons after a day's hike in the mountains there; just relaxing and enjoying life.
The suite was great, the bathroom alone wonderful with heated floor and a separate TV in the bedroom. The hotel had placed a small backpack with their logo on plus some phone numbers you might want to have while outside in the mountains which I think is a great idea.
They also featured mostly local food at the breakfast buffet ( if not only local ) and they managed to do that without any plastic wrappings. This alone is worth the highest rating and shows their attitude towards the environment. Fresh and changing food things and a wonderful afternoon 'sweet and sour' bread, salad and cake buffet ( free ) all add up.

Right outside you could start your hiking trip but the hotel also participated in the free bus transport schema in Berchtesgaden which was great.

Ramsau has kept its Bavarian country style and will hopefully do so for many years to come and this hotel just fits in. It is subtle but luxurious. It has great service, great views from all rooms and it has fantastic details which just add value like the backpack in the room and the heavy use of local food producers.
I only hope it will stay this way _ subtle, quiet and amazing in this wonderful area God has created there.

Room Tip: Mountain views everywhere :)
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sge_lightfighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz L, Inhaber at Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear sge_lightfighter,
thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed assessment at tripadvisor.
We were very pleased as we read what a wonderful time you had with us and our hotel.
Thanks for noticing, that we are aware of environmental isseus and using regional products. The sustainability is very important to us.
May be you will be back in Ramsau one day. We would be happy, if you will visit us again.
best regards
Silke Roßmann
Berghotel Rehlegg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews