We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ramsau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I just loved this hotel! The room was spacious and comfortable, the pool areas out- and inside great, many different kind of saunas, nice spa (got a very good massage), the breakfast one of the best I have had in hotels: lot's of local products, everything tasty and good quality.

We had a car, so it was easy to take you around (and there are so many nice places around to visit!), wifi was working well and the view was wonderful. It's not so isolated like it looks in the pictures, but it's still very peaceful place. I could have stayed here longer, now we had only three days to enjoy. I definitely would like come back one day. One thing you should be aware of: there is no air condition, which might be a problem when is very hot. Now it was ok, we borrowed the ventilator and it helped.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear wanikka,
thank you very much for taking the time to write an assessment at tripadvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.
best wishes to finnland.
best regards
Silke Roßmann
Berghotel Rehlegg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    96
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
118
364
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I booked this hotel for one night on a whim for our 19th wedding anniversary. We positively loved our Sonnenrose room so much that we booked 3 nights here in November! The room is spacious with a king bed & lounge area that opens onto a large balcony with breathtaking views of the Bavarian Alps. What more could you want? Well you get more! A large bathroom w/separate shower, enclosed toilet and a bathtub for two. The lighting in the bathroom is great and there is a retractable magnifying mirror, which is a nice touch for us ladies. We appreciated the stocked glassware because all we planned for the afternoon/evening was relaxing on the balcony with champagne & canapes which we brought. Bring your MP3 player for the supplied sound system. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were typical German with no fluff (we will bring our own next time). The towels were fluffy (no washcloth which we always bring our own in Europe). The room and balcony were spotless. The flooring and furnishings are a lovely light wood. Another reviewer mentioned the hallway walls being worn, but I didn't notice. I thought every area looked lovely.
We did not eat dinner, but were extremely impressed by the extensive breakfast buffet with eggs to order. We can't wait for our next stay and have highly recommended this 5 star hotel to others!

Room Tip: 3rd floor above the pool for the full mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mehim2cutedogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear mehim2cutedogs,
thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor. We are very happy, you enjoyed your short stay and booked again for november.
We offer a pillow menu on the room, where you can choose between different types of pillows. So I think there is a big selection for everybody to find his/her favorite. So maybe you will try one in november?
Have a nice summer. See you soon.
i.A. Silke Roßmann
Berghotel Rehlegg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
405 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We decided to go back to this hotel since our favorite hotel was booked out in berchtesgaden. We had visited this hotel... i think it was around 2008 plus or minus one year and also think that it was not under the "best western plus" name then.

And this is my point...it has changed alittle. for example when it was run "private" by the family/owner and everything was tip top. Now you see wear and tear here and there in the halls on the walls. Hmm...

the dinner buffet on friday evening was nicely presented but the two different meat dishes were lukewarm although kept in the warmers. The gravy they poured was hot so i was able to eat the meat. It was tasty though. On saturday they offered a different menu but those warmers did not keep the food hot.

Breakfast was good. Order the omelet or fried eggs..very good!

The room was a double room and very comfortable, clean and roomy. The hotel is about 8-10 car minutes from the berchtesgaden train station.

All in all it was a good stay. P.S. the waitress "patricia" and waitresses serving in the morning..very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hirlsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Hirlsa H,
thank you very much for taking the time to write an assessment at tripadvisor.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and savour our dishes at our restaurant.
I am wondering about your remark at the ownership. No changes took place during the last 14 years. The hotel ist still owned by the family Lichtmannegger (third generation so far) and cooperate with Best Western since 2001.
Hopefully you will visit us once again.
best regards
Silke Roßmann
Best Western Plus Berghotel Rehlegg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

It didn't matter what we asked for nothing was too much trouble for this place. The ambience was sublime and the restaurant and bar was a place where we could have stayed all afternoon if it wasn't for the stunning scenery and the fantastic walks we would have. We couldn't wish for better hosts. Franz,will and not forgetting Bexter. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikingtraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Vikingtra,
thank you very much for taking the time to write an assessment at tripadvisor. We are pleased, you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time.
Hopefully, we will see each other again.
best regards
Silke Roßmann
Berghotel Rehlegg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We drove up to the hotel on the recommendation of a chef who had worked there some years ago. We arrived fairly early in the morning. In the parking lot we looked it up on booking.com and the smallest room was 172 euro. We checked the Best Western website and the room was 117 euro - we guess because it was off-season. We booked it and Jennifer at the front desk was able to get us into a room quite early. She was a wonderful employee and we can only say laudatory praise for her. The hotel itself is in a magnificent breathtaking location. However, be forewarned that the one lane road up into the parking lot is not for the faint of heart. It was icy, had blind curves, no guard rails and is two-way. Our tiny room was in the guesthouse portion of the hotel. Despite its extreme smallness, it was a lovely, clean and a fine accommodation. We found the dinner buffet to be terribly expensive so we chose an alacarte meal which was good, but also seemed quite expensive. The next morning there was a large and plentiful buffet, even a wait person came around asking whether you wanted eggs made up any style you desired.

Room Tip: View rooms abound - ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bargainhuntress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz L, Inhaber at BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear BarbarainOjai,
thank you very much for your feedback at holidaycheck. We are pleased, you enjoyed your stay with us. Jenny was very happy, that you mentioned her (greetings of her to you!).
We hope you will visit us once again.
best regards
Silke Roßmann
Berghotel Rehlegg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel offers different room types. We had the studio Sonnenrose which is a wonderful modern and spacious room with balcony and a fantastic view of the mountains. We can highly recommend the restaurant which offers high level cuisine and very friendly service. The SPA area is nice, but could be bigger since when the hotel is fully booked it gets quite crowdy in the late afternoon. Unfortunately they do not offer massages on a Sunday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas-from-Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz L, Inhaber at BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Thomas,
thank you very much for taking the time to write an assessment. We are happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the opening times of our Spa, we will change the opening hours. We will start offering massages and treatments every day a week in the middle of december.
best regards
Silke Roßmann
Berghotel Rehlegg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

There are many reasons we came back to this hotel after our first visit last year. It is a combination of perfect location, the stunning view from the Residenz building we stayed in again and the excellent service this hotel provides. It is worth every Euro !
We stayed in a one of the suites which had a separate bedroom ( you could hear a wonderful rushing stream and the church bells ) and a living room with attached balcony. We spent many afternoons after a day's hike in the mountains there; just relaxing and enjoying life.
The suite was great, the bathroom alone wonderful with heated floor and a separate TV in the bedroom. The hotel had placed a small backpack with their logo on plus some phone numbers you might want to have while outside in the mountains which I think is a great idea.
They also featured mostly local food at the breakfast buffet ( if not only local ) and they managed to do that without any plastic wrappings. This alone is worth the highest rating and shows their attitude towards the environment. Fresh and changing food things and a wonderful afternoon 'sweet and sour' bread, salad and cake buffet ( free ) all add up.

Right outside you could start your hiking trip but the hotel also participated in the free bus transport schema in Berchtesgaden which was great.

Ramsau has kept its Bavarian country style and will hopefully do so for many years to come and this hotel just fits in. It is subtle but luxurious. It has great service, great views from all rooms and it has fantastic details which just add value like the backpack in the room and the heavy use of local food producers.
I only hope it will stay this way _ subtle, quiet and amazing in this wonderful area God has created there.

Room Tip: Mountain views everywhere :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sge_lightfighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz L, Inhaber at BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear sge_lightfighter,
thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed assessment at tripadvisor.
We were very pleased as we read what a wonderful time you had with us and our hotel.
Thanks for noticing, that we are aware of environmental isseus and using regional products. The sustainability is very important to us.
May be you will be back in Ramsau one day. We would be happy, if you will visit us again.
best regards
Silke Roßmann
Berghotel Rehlegg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsau
4.7 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alpenhotel Beslhof
Alpenhotel Beslhof
#4 of 6 in Ramsau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pension Berganemone
Pension Berganemone
#2 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel-Gasthof Hindenburglinde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg
Address: Holzengasse 16, 83486 Ramsau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Ramsau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ramsau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Bavarian Alps, you will find the Berghotel Rehlegg. Enjoy sparkling clear creeks, airy heights and enchanted forests.An intimate atmosphere and refined hospitality helps to distinguish the Rehlegg. Relax in our wellness area or let us pamper you at the WatzmannSpa. Or just take in the breathtaking panoramic view that our indoor pool provides.Should you feel the urge for some culture, Salzburg with all its cultural events is just half an hours drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Berghotel Rehlegg Hotel Ramsau
Best Western Ramsau
Ramsau Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing