We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (726)
Filter reviews
727 results
Traveller rating
591
108
19
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
591
108
19
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool evening buffet large balcony beauty treatments separate shower afternoon cakes walking holiday perfect stay german alps a family run hotel overlooking the mountains beautiful room sized room king bed pretty village highly recommend this hotel excellent hotel
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 727 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I just loved this hotel! The room was spacious and comfortable, the pool areas out- and inside great, many different kind of saunas, nice spa (got a very good massage), the breakfast one of the best I have had in hotels: lot's of local products, everything tasty and good quality.

We had a car, so it was easy to take you around (and there are so many nice places around to visit!), wifi was working well and the view was wonderful. It's not so isolated like it looks in the pictures, but it's still very peaceful place. I could have stayed here longer, now we had only three days to enjoy. I definitely would like come back one day. One thing you should be aware of: there is no air condition, which might be a problem when is very hot. Now it was ok, we borrowed the ventilator and it helped.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear wanikka,
thank you very much for taking the time to write an assessment at tripadvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.
best wishes to finnland.
best regards
Silke Roßmann
Berghotel Rehlegg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I booked this hotel for one night on a whim for our 19th wedding anniversary. We positively loved our Sonnenrose room so much that we booked 3 nights here in November! The room is spacious with a king bed & lounge area that opens onto a large balcony with breathtaking views of the Bavarian Alps. What more could you want? Well you get more! A large bathroom w/separate shower, enclosed toilet and a bathtub for two. The lighting in the bathroom is great and there is a retractable magnifying mirror, which is a nice touch for us ladies. We appreciated the stocked glassware because all we planned for the afternoon/evening was relaxing on the balcony with champagne & canapes which we brought. Bring your MP3 player for the supplied sound system. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were typical German with no fluff (we will bring our own next time). The towels were fluffy (no washcloth which we always bring our own in Europe). The room and balcony were spotless. The flooring and furnishings are a lovely light wood. Another reviewer mentioned the hallway walls being worn, but I didn't notice. I thought every area looked lovely.
We did not eat dinner, but were extremely impressed by the extensive breakfast buffet with eggs to order. We can't wait for our next stay and have highly recommended this 5 star hotel to others!

Room tip: 3rd floor above the pool for the full mountain view
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mehim2cutedogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear mehim2cutedogs,
thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor. We are very happy, you enjoyed your short stay and booked again for november.
We offer a pillow menu on the room, where you can choose between different types of pillows. So I think there is a big selection for everybody to find his/her favorite. So maybe you will try one in november?
Have a nice summer. See you soon.
i.A. Silke Roßmann
Berghotel Rehlegg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We decided to go back to this hotel since our favorite hotel was booked out in berchtesgaden. We had visited this hotel... i think it was around 2008 plus or minus one year and also think that it was not under the "best western plus" name then.

And this is my point...it has changed alittle. for example when it was run "private" by the family/owner and everything was tip top. Now you see wear and tear here and there in the halls on the walls. Hmm...

the dinner buffet on friday evening was nicely presented but the two different meat dishes were lukewarm although kept in the warmers. The gravy they poured was hot so i was able to eat the meat. It was tasty though. On saturday they offered a different menu but those warmers did not keep the food hot.

Breakfast was good. Order the omelet or fried eggs..very good!

The room was a double room and very comfortable, clean and roomy. The hotel is about 8-10 car minutes from the berchtesgaden train station.

All in all it was a good stay. P.S. the waitress "patricia" and waitresses serving in the morning..very nice.

Date of stay: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troopermini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Hirlsa H,
thank you very much for taking the time to write an assessment at tripadvisor.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and savour our dishes at our restaurant.
I am wondering about your remark at the ownership. No changes took place during the last 14 years. The hotel ist still owned by the family Lichtmannegger (third generation so far) and cooperate with Best Western since 2001.
Hopefully you will visit us once again.
best regards
Silke Roßmann
Best Western Plus Berghotel Rehlegg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

It didn't matter what we asked for nothing was too much trouble for this place. The ambience was sublime and the restaurant and bar was a place where we could have stayed all afternoon if it wasn't for the stunning scenery and the fantastic walks we would have. We couldn't wish for better hosts. Franz,will and not forgetting Bexter. Can't wait to go back again.

Date of stay: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikingtraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Vikingtra,
thank you very much for taking the time to write an assessment at tripadvisor. We are pleased, you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time.
Hopefully, we will see each other again.
best regards
Silke Roßmann
Berghotel Rehlegg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We drove up to the hotel on the recommendation of a chef who had worked there some years ago. We arrived fairly early in the morning. In the parking lot we looked it up on booking.com and the smallest room was 172 euro. We checked the Best Western website and the room was 117 euro - we guess because it was off-season. We booked it and Jennifer at the front desk was able to get us into a room quite early. She was a wonderful employee and we can only say laudatory praise for her. The hotel itself is in a magnificent breathtaking location. However, be forewarned that the one lane road up into the parking lot is not for the faint of heart. It was icy, had blind curves, no guard rails and is two-way. Our tiny room was in the guesthouse portion of the hotel. Despite its extreme smallness, it was a lovely, clean and a fine accommodation. We found the dinner buffet to be terribly expensive so we chose an alacarte meal which was good, but also seemed quite expensive. The next morning there was a large and plentiful buffet, even a wait person came around asking whether you wanted eggs made up any style you desired.

Room tip: View rooms abound - ask for one
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bargainhuntress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz L, Inhaber at Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear BarbarainOjai,
thank you very much for your feedback at holidaycheck. We are pleased, you enjoyed your stay with us. Jenny was very happy, that you mentioned her (greetings of her to you!).
We hope you will visit us once again.
best regards
Silke Roßmann
Berghotel Rehlegg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews