We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHOCKING !”
Review of Nicolas Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nicolas Villas
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Is this all inclusive?! The worse I've ever experienced:
- terrible, obercooked food, poor choice, every day the same
- no wifi, air con €7/day,
-the pool bar does not exist to be honest. you'll find better, bigger selection of drinks in your own kitchen.
-There is none to complain to as the owner who is always around pretends to be just a local visitor - LIAR!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karol_Kochanowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Nicolas Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

hotel had just been renovated, everything was spotless, rooms cleaned everyday, sheets cha nged and towels every other day. The staff are excellent, helpful and very friendly.and nothing was to much trouble for them when you asked for anything. Food was basic but plenty of it. The mini bus goes down several times a day who which is great. We are looking to book here again - and would you believe it you didnt have to get up early to put towels on beds whatever anybody went for a walk they never left towel on bed and there was a mixture of nationalities. we arrived after 11 pm and was greeted with a bottle of wine and a greek salad which was a great way to start our holiday very welcoming all staff.

Room Tip: we were on top floor overlooking pool next to end lift working at all times would want same room aga...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at Nicolas Villas for the first 2 weeks in June 2014. The hotel is basic, almost austere, but has been recently painted and is spotlessly clean. The rooms are very basic, 2 hard single beds, and no drawers to put clothes in, just a wardrobe with 3 coathangers, so unable to unpack, we lived out of our suitcases. Sheets changed regularly, towels changed 3 times in 2 weeks, all linen clean but with old faded stains. The one blanket had a dirty mark (possibly chocolate?) but each room has tv, fridge and balcony. Air conditioning in rooms is a whopping 7euros per day! Dining room, again, very basic, air conditioning broken for the whole 2 weeks we were there so it was hot and stuffy. Coffee machine kept breaking down, cups and saucers chipped and sometimes dirty, food very basic, not very hot, and little variation. Table cloths not changed often enough, and sometimes just turned upside down when dirty, also frayed, torn and holey. But floors and serving surfaces very clean. The only bar is by the pool, with limited drinks and all-inclusive finishes at 10 pm, after which all drinks must be paid for, even coffee. The hotel is too far for us over sixties to walk to the nearest beach, although we managed it twice. The old and very tatty minibus ferries guests to and from the village and beach of Agia Pelagia three times a day, but only holds 10 people, so has to make several trips, and the many Russians staying in the hotel pushed to the front of the queue, leaving us oldies to wait in the hot sun. There is no hand rail on the stairs, and several power cuts meant the lift was out of use sometimes, worrying if you are unsteady on your feet. The staff are helpful, friendly and polite, and trying their hardest to give a good service in difficult circumstances. If you want a cheap, no frills holiday, that is what you will get at Nicolas Villas. But if you want a little more comfort and a bit of luxury, go elsewhere!

Room Tip: If you are older, or unsteady on your feet, ask for a ground floor room, as the stairs have no hand...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Sorry review late, stayed August 2012. Well they say you get waht you pay for, where do you get a refund, If it wasnt for the fantastic people i was with. Full of rude and very drunk trouble making russians, booked 2 rooms anly to be told all four had to share, so slow at the bar. The town is ok eat out if can at Nikkos best greek food i ever tasted. if there is no where esle to stay then go for it.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mr-markymarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely terrible, do not ever stay here. Spend your money on the decent hotel down the road, it is full of rowdy brits and rude russians. Staff are overworked and miserable, reception staff couldnt care less if you had an issue, just looked at you with contempt.

The bus that goes to the beach is a death trap.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Smokinbeatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

this place is a joke its run down the staff are rude and the food id awfull. reception are unhelpful and the manageres is also not bothered. takes ages to get served at bar as only one member of staff working at the speed of a slug and long ques!!! met nice people there and nice walks to beach but wouldnt go back this hotel ever even for free , pool man chucks buckets of piwder in pool ! russians stack plates soo high and push in all the time its like they never been fed. also bus that takes u beach is on its last legs and again russians push u out way to get on it anyhoo !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nadeanya b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Terrible food, service, staff. That is just to start!! It is miles away from the Beach and the 'bus' service is definately not road worthy! The food was cold and samey. We had food poisioning several times. If you love pork, or pasta and tomatoe sauce everyday i would reccomend this place. The waitress wtiht the glasses is rude, ignorant, hates the English and acts like a 5 year old. Tried to start an argument with my boyfriend for waving a Greek flag. We had no electricity and water for two days due to the so called storms, but the rest of the Island was fine. flusing the toilets with buckets out the pool is not my idea of a relazing break! I have seen a lot of comments in regards to its cheap and cheerful, yes the holiday was not overly expensive but i could have stayed at home for free and at least had elec and water! Complete and utter joke. We made suggestions to management who had no idea what they where doing, the staff spoke English when it appealed to them, but most of the time they just pretended they did not understand you. The Russian population at the hotel was the worst part I have never met such iggnorant people in my life, they dont know what a que is and manners well that is a joke! I would honstly say to anyone that is even thinking of going don't, book to go to Butlins that will be a safer option!!

Room Tip: Just don't book here!!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Pelagia
18.9 mi away
Club Lyda Hotel
Club Lyda Hotel
#12 of 36 in Kato Gouves
624 reviews
21.5 mi away
Hotel Oceanis
Hotel Oceanis
#7 of 7 in Anissaras
226 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Galini
Hotel Galini
#65 of 171 in Hersonissos
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Porto Village
Porto Village
#93 of 171 in Hersonissos
250 reviews
32.1 mi away
Pantheon Hotel
Pantheon Hotel
#2 of 2 in Atsipopoulo
220 reviews
56.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Rock
Hotel Eden Rock
#3 of 3 in Agia Fotia
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicolas Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicolas Villas

Address: Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Agia Pelagia
Price Range: £52 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nicolas Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Agia Pelagia, 15 miles from Heraklio, Nicolas Villas is the ideal hotel for family holidays. With two great swimming pools, at a short distance from the beach this is one of the best hotels in the area. The well-equipped rooms together with the two bars and the friendly atmosphere guarantee a relaxing Cretan holiday. Contact our Web Marketing Expert, Kostas Papahatzis -“K0stasP”- for help, great discounts on reservations and more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nicolas Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicolas Villas Hotel Agia Pelagia
Nicolas Villas Crete/Agia Pelagia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing