We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel perfect location but food not 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Agia Pelagia
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Lovely hotel, very clean, perfect location, big airy room with lovely comfy double bed, friendly helpful staff - the best thing about the hotel was sharing it with 100's of the lovely Russian people.

Americans and Germans get bad press abroad and it was refreshing and a pleasure to holiday amongst Russians - they are polite, pleasant, cheerful and friendly - the hotel complex is a maze of corridors, paths and trails - several times my girlfriend and I gave way to let Russians of all ages pass and each time we received a thank you, a smile or a nod to say thank you.

We found a nice spot on the beach which wasn't at all busy, and within minutes we welcomed a group of quiet and peaceful Russians to come and join us, and not once did they jabber loudly to each other and yapping on their phones constantly and spoilt our peace and quiet and annoy us..

Breakfast and Dinner was an air of organised tranquility, a joy to behold, the Russians set the pace when it comes to orderly queueing and I admire their patience and courtesy they showed.

Also despite the temptation they resisted the urge to pile the food up on their plates and not eat it, which I admired considering the waste and how many starving people there are in the world!! Now Russians have money to travel it was refreshing to witness their behaviour on holiday, especially when interacting with the helpful staff who were treated very well and with the utmost respect - it made our holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason4qh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapsisEliteResort, Social Media Manager at Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Jason4qh

Thank you for your contribution and your kind words. We are pleased to know that you assume our resort as a lovely, very clean hotel in a perfect location with big airy rooms, lovely comfy double beds and friendly helpful staff.

It’s our goal to make our guests feel at home away from home and we look forward to future opportunities to welcome you back! In the meantime we wish you and your family a warm and fruitful winter.

Kind Regards

E.K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

We came to out honeymoon there, the staff was did great effort to please our stay there.

we stayed for 5 nights in which we had Half board, Food is good multiple choices and children buffet. Be advised that drinks at dinner are extra cost, including water! in breakfast it is all part of the deal...

There are several pools around the facility and a private beach which is comfort.

You have to rent a a car if you would like to go out of Agia Palagia, Taxies is
too pricey!

Mostly relaxing location, and if you go to the Ruby Red pool you enjoys privacy and silence due to the fact it is children free!

We did enjoyed our stay there! Truly magical spot.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NirDahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapsisEliteResort, Social Media Manager at Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear NirDahan

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on this website, following your recent stay.
We are very happy to see that you rated with 5 stars the location, the value, the rooms and that you were pleased by our staff’s service.

Rest assured that all your comments have already been brought to the management’s attention in the spirit of continuous improvement.

Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

E. K
Social Media Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We was on September in Capsis (the old name of Out of the blue) for 4 nights.
We arrived at 9 AM to the hotel and normaly the check in at 2 PM. Thomas welcomed us with a big smile and made everything to make our check in ASAP. And he made it, at 11 AM we had a room. He gave us a little tour in the resort while taking us to our room with a golf cart. Also I want to mention the waiter Yanis at main restaurant he give us extra attention and was very polite. All Capsis staff was wounderful. The food was excellent an was presented very beutiful and colourful. The resourt have private beach and few swimming pools. Room was great (we stayed in bungalow). Also they have awsome zoo, Maria the cockatoo was funny and very smart (we really miss her). Thanks for all Capsis staff especially Thomas and Yanis, we surely come back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapsisEliteResort, Social Media Manager at Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Victoria G

Thank you so much for your time writing this wonderful tripadvisor review and also for choosing the Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort for your holidays in Crete,Greece.

We are glad to read that in particular you enjoyed the friendly service of our associates and their assistance through your stay.

Hopefully we can see you again soon. In the meantime we welcome you to join our facebook page. Just search for “ Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort”. We have a great “group” of friends and we keep everyone updated with reasons to come back!

Best Regards

E.K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I am going to provide a relatively detailed review/info about the hotel that I would have appreciated before going myself.

The hotel is very large, nice and clean. It consists of several separate sections that could function as separate hotels. The vast majority of the hotel guests were Russians and Israelis (we came over yom kippur).

You have to pay for the internet connection EUR 10 per day or EUR 45 per week per device.

We stayed in what seemed to be the oldest part of the hotel just above the lobby. The rooms were relatively big and as said, clean. We booked a garden view room but were upgraded to a sea view room with a large balcony and truly magnificent views (photo attached). That whole building was supposed to be a child free zone for extra calm as far as we knew. However, a room close to us had a couple with a baby that was crying one night a lot. That part of the hotel could use a little rebuilding. The bathroom has seen better days but we liked the room anyway.

The other buildings of the hotel seem more modern and there are also many bungalows. Each part of the hotel has got its own pool and may bungalows/rooms have got private pools as well. The Ruby red are we were staying at had a very calm pool with only a few people around.

The hotel has 3 beaches. One completely dedicated t the hotel guests, half of which is reserved for specific suites. There is also a part of the public beach strand reserved for the hotel guests (only ca 20 places). This was in or opinion nicer than the first beach. There is also a tiny hotel beach accessible only through steep stairs from the cliff. This beach was in our opinion the nicest and some of the ship tours come to show the tourists the little creek. This beach.however only has place only for about 8 people so you need to come in the morning or just after lunch if you want to get a place.

We had booked half board for our stay. The buffets were ok. One day we swapped the dinner buffet for a lunch. The hotel does this by giving a EUR 12 per person credit in their restaurants for lunch. That just about covers the cost of a main course in the restaurant by the beach (Poseidon). However there are many beach restaurants offering comparatively very cheap lunch menus.

The hotel seems to be the only 5 star hotel near by and looks by far the most luxurious and we would recommend it if you are looking for a nice and calm holiday. There are not that many opportunities for wandering around which is what we normally do a lot, since the town is very small.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapsisEliteResort, Social Media Manager at Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Jan D

Thank you for recommending our hotel and talk about our nice service. We are happy to read that in particular you enjoyed our premises and the room upgrade offered to you and could benefit from our good location close to many central and isolated beaches.

Please rest assured that all of your feedback has been already shared with the management in the spirit of continuous improvement.

We eagerly anticipate your return to Agia Pelagia in Crete and look forward to welcome you back in Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort.

Best Regards

E.K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I was upgraded to a crystal energy suite, that was amazing, with a beautiful view to the bay.
The property is huge and it offers all kind of accommodation for every taste. There were several pools and three beaches with comfortable daybeds and effective service (towels, drinks, snacks). It is the ideal place for family vacations, because it is very close to Heraklion and provides all kind of infrastructure that keep children happy : water park, kids club inspired by the Minoan civilisation, zoo, playgrounds, water slides etc. The hotel grounds were very green and the location on the private peninsula was unique!
The negative points are:
- you have to pay for wi-fi
- although there were many restaurants, I had breakfast and dinner only at the central buffet restaurant, that was average and boring, lower than the general hotel standards.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCEAAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapsisEliteResort, Social Media Manager at Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear MCEAAthens

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to know that you assume Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort as an idyllic location and to recommend our hotel for family vacations.
Please rest assured that all of your feedback has already been shared wth the hotel management.

In regards to your observation of the internet access, we would like to inform you that from the 1st of October we offer one hour free internet to all our guests who enjoy their coffee or meal in Ikaros Bar (at Ruby Red’s lobby) or in the hotel’s greek taverna “Poseidon”.

We look forward to your next visit- in the meantime we welcome you to join our facebook page, where we keep everyone updated with reasons to come back!

Best Regards

E. K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel is well situated for a relaxing stay,but if you want to tour you will need to hire a car.

We were upgraded from Ruby Red to Crystal. The rooms are really excellent,but the air conditioning can be a bit problematic.

Another problem is that you have to pay for water at supper, and at £3 par bottle, it's expensive. Strangely enough, you can get champagne for free at breakfast..


Be warned that late check out will cost you a hefty £205 for 6 hours. The hotel does, however, provide guests with room for freshening up after check out for half hour slots. It must be booked on advance, however.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dberis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapsisEliteResort, Social Media Manager at Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Dberis

Thank you for your review. We are glad to see that you found the rooms to be excellent and that you rated 5 out of 5 their cleanliness.

The truth is that we work hard to ensure that we deliver real value for money with our quality food, friendly professional service and a relaxed atmosphere in which to enjoy the whole experience.

Please rest assured that all of your feedback has already been shared with the hotel management for further improvements.

Once more thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Best Regards

E.K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Capsis resort is split into several units, Ruby Red, Oasis, Crystal Energy etc.' all of them at the same resort using the same facilities mostly.
We stayed 3 nights over the weekend along the Crystal Energy.
The Pros:

1. I enjoyed (really needed 3 days on the beach doing nothing)
2. The hotel is situated on a peninsula with a private beach
3. The hotel is nice for children, but was as not built as one, so although there were many kids
it was ok.

The Cons:

1. When checking in we received the room very late somewhere between 14:00-16:00 (that the
official hours)
2. Food is ok, there are a lot of choices, but nothing really tasty
3. The restaurants in the hotel recycle the food of the dinning room, so the food was semi
fresh!
4. The economic situation in Greece is noticeable, the hotel switch off lights, everything
additional costs including water and coffee with dinner, no hair conditioner in place
5. Hot water – you sometimes need to wait few min' for those, at least one time I have a cold
shower.
6. The internet is not for free and expensive

All in all I had a nice vacation I didn't plan to go anywhere else from the beach, so I have a go time with my wife. Nevertheless, I don't think this is a 5 star hotel. It had too many deficiencies

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ori_Yitzhaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapsisEliteResort, Social Media Manager at Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Ori_Yitzhaki

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our green private peninsula where is situated the hotel as well as the beach.

Regarding the time of your arrival, we would like to notice that the hotel’s check -in time is at 14.00 (as at most hotels as well) and is something that all customers are informed about by their travel agencies. Nevertheless, if a guest comes earlier than 14:00, he has, of course, the opportunity to enjoy a coffee or a snack in the hotel's lobby bar or at the beach bar, where he can also have a relaxing bath under the sun.

We are sorry to read that you were ok with our cuisine. It is obvious that we didn’t fully meet your expectations, so anything less than a delicious experience is failure in our view. However we would like to clarify here, that we are strictly regulated by the international policies & procedures and therefore recycling of any food type is forbidden. Our food & beverage associates are not exempted from this and go through scrutinizing tests such as the scrupulous food handler’s test that ensure they are fit for handling & preparations of guest meals. As a standard procedure, the kitchens, restaurants, and hotel as a whole are also evaluated every quarter in order to maintain our top hygiene standards.

We apologize about the lack of conditioner in your room. We do offer shampoo/conditioner, shower gels and soaps as well as several other items in all the rooms, so if you just mentioned it to us during your stay we would have taken action immediately to rectify this omission from our part.

In regards to your observation of the internet access, we would like to inform you that from now on, we offer one hour free internet to all of our guests who enjoy their coffee or meal in
" Ikaros" Bar (at Ruby Red’s lobby) or in the hotel's greek taverna "Poseidon".

Once more thank you for your time dedicated to write this review. Please rest assured that your feedback has already been shared with all the hotel departments in the spirit of continuous improvement .We are very happy to read that generally you had a nice vacation with us, so we would like to welcome you back to offer you an even more favorable experience. In the meanwhile, we wish you and your wife a nice and fruitful winter.

Kind Regards

E.K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Pelagia
0.6 mi away
Sea Side Resort & Spa
Sea Side Resort & Spa
#2 of 30 in Agia Pelagia
2,245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 30 in Agia Pelagia
1,057 reviews
1.2 mi away
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
18.7 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Happy Cretan Suites
Happy Cretan Suites
#1 of 30 in Agia Pelagia
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort

Address: Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#5 Spa Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range: £109 - £676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Out of the Blue, Capsis Elite Resort is a 5-star deluxe hotel complex located on a private peninsula surrounded by a luscious Botanical Garden of 167.000 m2 that captivates your senses with its majestic Aegean views. The property is situated 20 minutes from the City and the International Airport of Heraklion and next to the traditional fishing village of Aghia Pelaghia. For those who seek to combine the beauty of the Greek Islands with the utmost of luxury, this resort complex provides guests a choice of 2 hotel collections with 3 different hotels/concepts with various types of accommodation, from family bungalows to private pool-villas. A natural beauty resort which is surrounded by ponds, cascades, colourful gardens and private cultivation of organically-grown fruits, vegetables, herbs and flowers used in the hotel restaurants and bars. The resort features the Capsis Minoan Amusement Park, 4000 sq m,the only one amusement park for children in Greece which features games and activities based on the Greek myths and combines fun and education with interactive games. Sand and fine pebble beaches, 7 swimming pools, 6 restaurants, 8 bars, a water sports centre, a shopping boutique, a nutrition and detoxification unit and a complete spa centre are only some of the wellness and gastronomic facilities on offer at this elite resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Out Of The Blue, Capsis Elite Hotel Agia Pelagia
Hilton Garden Inn Malia
Sofitel Agia Pelagia
Agia Pelagia Sofitel
Out Of The Blue Capsis Elite Resort Crete/Agia Pelagia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing