We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to recommend again....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pennystella Apartments
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Happy to recommend again....”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We needed a place near Heraklion Airport and booked in here as the last visit had exceeded expectations.

Pennystella has large immaculately clean rooms, in a great location with great views easy parking and within and easy stroll down to the beach and restaurants.

We've only ever stayed here for a few nights but if we wanted a great value place for a longer stay we'd be booking in here.

Tips:
We found it gets to communicate via the gmail address you'll find on their website
The Airport is a 20 min drive away

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wreford miles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    9
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We travelled to Crete on vacation, with my wife and 16 month old baby. We had made no prior reservations and ended up at Pennystella Apartments by chance late on a Sunday evening. Nikolas the owner was very hospitable and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. He showed us three available rooms to ensure we stayed where we felt was most convenient, especially as we were travelling with a baby. At a moments notice he arranged a baby cot for our baby, put it up himself and arranged for some dinner to be sent to the room.

The establishment itself was very clean and tidy. The apartment we stayed in (No 16) was spacious clean and because of its exact location had an amazing view of the Cretan Sea both from the balcony and the bedroom and at night a refreshing moderately strong breeze was also prevalent when the windows and balcony door were left open. The apartment was very comfortable with all the basic necessities and very well priced.

A small "super" market is located approximately 2 km away and stocks all the basic requirements, nappies, toiletries, snacks and drinks.

The beaches at Agia Pelagia and Ligaria are very commercialised which was not to our liking, however there's a plethora of restaurants at Agia Pelagia to satisfy most culinary requirements.

Nikolas you were fantastic and you also make a potent raki (Cretan alcoholic beverage). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Pennystella and hope to come back again. Socrates, Lia & Artemis

Room Tip: Apartment No 16 has the most breath-taking views of the Mediterranean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Posydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We only stayed two nights as a stop gap... It was arranged by another hotel to help us out before we stayed with them

It was very clean, close to the beach and managed by a lovely couple and you can see why another hotel who cared would recommend them.

Breakfast on the terrace is great way to start the day.

We are very happy to recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wreford miles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

These apartments are family run - Nicholas and Angela make you feel very welcome and their dog Frendiz is lovely. The rooms are basic but clean with a small kitchen area. We paid 50 euro per night and this included a view over the bay, air conditioning and the use of the safe. The rooms are cleaned everyday and the towels and bed linen is changed three times a week. Me and my 15 year old son went with a friend who has a 16 and 18 year old. We had the pool to ourselves most of the time. Angela is a good cook and we ate there a couple of times. Fantastic BBQ, pork chops, chips, greek salad, bread and tzatiki. The only fault I could find is we were the only english staying there and one afternoon our teenagers were told to be quiet in the pool as the Greek families were having their siesta. We will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have sea view balconies overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulkellietoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allschwil, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is our second time visiting Nikolas and his wife Angela at the PennyStella.

All we can say is that if you are looking for fantastic value, friendly people, great food and wonderful setting then you wont go wrong here.

We are veteran travelers and have stayed in many places on the planet at some of the very best venues, and while the PennyStella is simple in concept it is without question " the most at home feeling " have ever experienced on holiday.

The food is great, the rooms are clean, the pool is big and the view is awesome.

Also two great beaches within 10 minute walks.

Angela is a fantastic cook and we highly recommend her chips.

Thats all there is to say.

You wont go wrong here and maybe it will be your best kept secret too.

Dan snd Pia

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Petty and pretty. The hotel is located on a nice turn which gives it a great view. We had an apartment that was adequately sized. A twin bed instead of a sofa and no TV in the living room. Nice but small balcony overlooking pool. This is a nice place to stay, but I wouldn't go back because I felt the owners were petty with their charges. They "invited" us to come down for a drink and we weren't sure if the invite meant drinks were on the house, but we consumed a total of two cokes. They refilled our baby bottles with milk twice (maybe total 12 ounces of milk) and we had the impression they were doing this for free. In any event, a quart of milk is maybe $1? Still, we were charged 10 euro or 13 USD when we checked out for the sodas and the milk. We paid 60 euro or 80 USD for the room, so it's not like they were making up for the room charge.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scoutings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyd, WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We didn't stay at Pennystella but ate at the restaurant andi it was great. Nicholas showed us around the facility and from what I saw I would stay there next time I go to Crete. Nick and Angela are genuinely friendly, helpful people; they couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. We felt like family. They fixed us a meal that no one on Crete matched and it cost less than any of the others. The view is great and you're out of the congested developed area of Agia Plagia and close to the main east west highway.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeFromBoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agia Pelagia hotels
0.3 mi away
Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort
0.1 mi away
Irida Apartments
Irida Apartments
#9 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scala Hotel Apartments
Scala Hotel Apartments
#15 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#8 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.1 mi away
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Anatoli
Hotel Anatoli
#5 of 37 in Agia Pelagia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pennystella Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennystella Apartments

Property: Pennystella Apartments
Address: Main Road, Agia Pelagia, Crete 715 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Agia Pelagia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pennystella Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pennystella Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennystella Apartments Crete/Agia Pelagia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing