We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sunday Life(Agia Pelagia)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$397
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Irida Apartments(Agia Pelagia)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Happy Cretan Suites(Agia Pelagia)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pela Mare Hotel(Agia Pelagia)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort(Agia Pelagia)
US$501
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$474
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Renia Hotel Apartments(Agia Pelagia)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,119)
Filter reviews
1,119 results
Traveller rating
361
430
198
83
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
430
198
83
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach baranimation teamlive cookinghalf boardwonderful scenerysalt water poolmain poolreception staffbeautiful hotelmountain viewenjoyed our holidayrooms are bigaegean searestaurants and shopsgreek islandsmelongreat holiday
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,119 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Just arrived home after 10 amazing days at this absolutely beautiful hotel. The views are breathtaking, staff are very friendly and always helpful and the food absolutely delicious. Only having stayed at all inclusive a couple of times, we were slightly concerned there was only one restaurant, however we need not have worried we were offered different delicious food every day, If however you need a change of scenery there are restaurants locally, and the village is only about 15 minute walk with various shops, bars and a couple of restaurants.
All the staff were very helpful especially Fotini and Maria, thank you for sorting our room after being given a family room instead of a the suite we had booked, we was asked if we would mind exchanging the next morning and the hotel moved us as promised.
Thank you Peninsula a fantastic family holiday
The Grooms

Room Tip: We had suite 103 side sea view perfect
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tatgroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on 8th August 2017 at around 1am and was very excited as our holiday had been booked for a while and was ready for a relaxing 10 night break.

I will start with the positives, the views and the hotel, as a whole, are amazing - MOST staff are friendly and the pools are clean and well maintained.

Starting the holiday off on a negative, when we checked in we were told by the guy behind the desk that the air con in our room was broken and was not being fixed until the next morning and would have to stay in another room in the meantime. I didn't think much of this at the time as I assumed this would be similar to the one we had paid for (sea view with balcony). He then went on to show us to our room and I was extremely disgusted by what we was presented with - the room was awful, dirty, infested with bugs, didn't have a balcony and only had very small windows at the top (see attached picture), we literally felt like we was in a prison cell!! We decided to try and ignore the blip and went to sleep hoping this would be all sorted in the morning. The next morning we then went straight to reception as requested and was told the room was not ready until 11am as this is when the family are CHECKING OUT? (Bearing in mind we were told that this was due to air con issues?). Again we tried our best to ignore this and went for breakfast and sunbathed until 12pm. We then collected the keys for our room and headed up, only again to be extremely disappointed. We paid extra for a sea view room and this was NOT a sea view instead this was 80% backs of buildings/mountain and 20% sea, which is really not what we expected. AGAIN we went back to reception for the receptionist to be extremely rude and basically said what's the problem it's a nice view - she then rang the chamber maid and asked her opinion? Apparently we were the first to complain! I couldn't believe it!! After 15 mins of explaining we wasn't happy and we didn't pay for this she then asked to come back Saturday morning to see if we could move. After going back up for the room the phone went and the receptionist explained that a room had just 'become free' as someone had checked our early? Again we went back to reception to collect the keys - the room was eventually what we was expecting! Clean, modern with an amazing sea view :)

A few days into the holiday with minimal problems the air con started playing up in our room (it was making a very loud noise, leaking water and spitting out ice!). The toilet was also making noises and releasing the awful smell of feaces into the whole room! We reported this to reception to be told the technician will come to fix it. That night nothing had still been done at around 10pm so I asked reception and this was not being look at until the following day!!? So we had faulty air con and a disgusting smell in our room whilst we slept and was told to just flush the toilet!!? The next day the technician came to 'fix' the issues and it was apparent later that day that this had NOT been resolved! The air con and the toilet were still the same! Phoned reception and was told they will come back at 6pm. The technician then came and said the 'toilet is fine, it's new, I installed it, I'm a plumber!!!' and said he would have a look at the air con. AGAIN neither problems were fixed. By this point we were sick of complaining and decided to try and overlook the ongoing issues!!!!

In addition to the room complaints the drinks are also very limited (the cocktails that are in the all inclusive are un-drinkable. They are made with cordial and are disgusting). The wine and beer is okay, however they do not have any lime juice which was quite disappointing as I add this to many drinks at home. We then asked for a lime slice instead and was told 'no top expensive in Greece'.

We were also slightly disappointed with the two surrounding beaches as both are very pebbly and we struggled to walk on these bare footed, so spent all holiday around the pool. I wouldn't recommend the hotel to beach lovers for this reason.

The pools were lovely however the top was extremely noisy with the music from the animation team and very very busy (you would not be able to get a sun bed after 9am) and the loungers are very packed in and close together! However I understand this was due to the summer holidays and would not be the case at other times of the year.

The bar was also extremely busy at night and had to queue nearly every time, there was also a LOT of rude people who tried to push in which was very frustrating.

The animation team speak majority French so we could not understand or get involved in the entertainment.

If it wasn't for the room situation on the first night maybe to other issues would not have seamed so severe but this started the holiday off on a negative and the first impression wasn't great. Don't get me wrong I'm sure others have had amazing experiences at the peninsula but ours not so much and will not be returning again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank BettyC1987444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Start at the beginning checked in tuesday 8th August .To be told sorry no rooms left!!!!!We where then put in another hotel in a 1 bedroom apartment,we paid for a 2!!The all inclusive up the road was not tge same so we had to pay for our drinks .In the morning we packed up again dragged our bags down the road to this hotel.To be told your room is still not ready Hahahaha i was then asked by the reception staff "Why are you shaking your head "what .We got our room around 1ish the second day of our holiday. We were told you have a lovely room we know we paid for it .Room is nice 2 bedroom only 1 wardrobe 1 mirror in the bathroom no other.No draws to put anything.We dont leave until 11 at night a lady at reception said i will put in down to keep.your room because of all your trouble.Just been to check if ok to keep noooo another reception staff replied if there is no rooms theres no rooms.Come back in the morning. Nice hotel especially if your french as all evening entertainment is in french.Such a shame view is fab clean place but won't be returning as they just don't care if they mess your first few days up .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in June 2016 for a few nights. The hotel was quite basic but had everything we needed for a short stay, the food was nice although breakfast was very much the same every day so 4 nights was just enough without getting bored of it. The air con in our room wasn't working so we had to sleep with the balcony door open which meant I got bitten by mosquitos which was annoying but as we were only there for a few nights it wasn't the end of the world. The views at the hotel were lovely and location was only about a 10 minute walk into the town where there were a selection of restaurants along the beach front which was a great place to spend an evening. We hired a boat for a few hours and went along the coast where we could anchor it and have a swim in the sea which was a nice experience. I wouldn't come here for a romantic holiday but it was a great place just to get away for a few nights with some friends.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank siobt88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 4 with 2 teenagers, for 2 weeks in July/August 2017. We have stayed in a number of all-inclusive resorts on Greek islands, mostly the Mitsis chain. This hotel had some benefits and some disadvantages compared to other hotels we have visited ...
As expected, the grounds are beautifully kept and the rooms are cleaned every day. The whole resort is immaculate. The entertainment is quite good, with something each evening, though mostly in French. Staff are polite but reserved; nobody took a particular interest in us, for example our choice of table in the restaurant or our drinks orders, though that was not an issue for us.
As other reviewers have mentioned, there is no air conditioning in the communal areas of the hotel, only the bedrooms. But despite the 35 degree heat in July, we felt it wasn't necessary, as the hotel is designed to take advantage of the constant breeze blowing through it.
Other reviews mention the many steps around the hotel, which are inevitable due to its position. However, there are 2 well-situated lifts linking the rooms to the restaurant, reception and main pool. The only time we needed to use steps was to reach the beaches, the seawater pool, or the beach bar.

Benefits compared to other Greek all-inclusive resorts:
*Stunning location; amazing views across the bays on either side and out to sea, from all areas of the hotel. Wonderful to eat every meal with a sea view, and to wake in the morning looking out to sea from bed! The hotel itself is an amazing feat of engineering, making the best possible use of its unusual location and challenging geography.
*Excellent range of swimming and snorkelling options; 2 rocky beaches within 5 minutes walk of our room, the swimming platform next to the beach bar, and 2 swimming pools: one with activities, the other quieter. We thoroughly enjoyed snorkelling every day, and saw lots of fish.
*Appreciated the kettle in the bedroom, which is not often provided. Also tennis racket loan was free.
*Appreciated being able to get coffee / tea in the restaurant at each mealtime. In some hotels, we have found this limited to breakfast.
*Very good bedroom for our family of 4; 2 bedrooms within the one room, with the shower room between.

Disadvantages compared to other Greek all-inclusive resorts:
*The food quality and range, particularly at breakfast. Limited breakfast selection and the same every day: sausages are tinned mini hotdog sausages, cooked meats are cheap tinned type, fruit is not fresh but tinned. I would have enjoyed the plentiful Greek yogurt but there was no nuts, dried fruit, muesli or granola to go with it, only children's chocolate cereal. Other meals were generally freshly cooked and authentic Cretan fare. There was also something good on the grill each day: kebabs, fish or burgers. But overall the quality was not up to the standard of other Greek hotels we have stayed in. And there are no additional food outlets, just the main restaurant. In other hotels for example, we have enjoyed a pizzeria on the beach, a patisserie, a creperie, a gyros stand by the pool, and other snack facilities as well as specialist restaurants.
*Limited "all inclusive" package. After paying a lot of money for the holiday, it is disappointing that the package only covers a limited selection of food/drink. For example: you have to pay extra if you want to order snacks from the beach bar or the pool bar, or if you want coffee at the beach bar. You have to pay extra if you want fresh orange juice at breakfast, or any kind of coffee other than filter coffee from a machine. The bars do not serve you after 11pm, the beach bar is not available after 5:30. The drinks options are limited to soda, a few local spirits, beer and wine. Slushes and milkshakes for children cost extra. The few cocktails on offer are unpleasant, made with cordials rather than fresh juices. Bottled water is not provided in the rooms. Also beach towels are chargeable, as are sun beds by the beach bar, and the safe in the room.

Overall, this hotel met our needs for this trip very well, and the benefits outweighed the disadvantages for us. An excellent holiday overall!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews