We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little hotel, lovely owner”
Review of Antigoni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antigoni
Ranked #8 of 13 Agia Galini B&B and Inns
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fantastic little hotel, lovely owner”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Cretans are known for their hospitality and friendliness, but Maria at the Antigoni is the best of the bunch! She's a very sweet person who goes the extra mile to ensure that her guests are happy and very well fed. I was only sorry that it was too hot for me to do full justice to her amazing breakfasts! The apartment was spotless and well-equipped with TV, aircon, fridge, kettle, tea and coffee, a glass water-pitcher, and even a cocktail shaker. Nice toiletries provided in the bathroom, too.Incredibly good value overall. The Antigoni is set on a hillside overlooking the sea and very near the beach, harbour, and all the bars and tavernas. A huge thumbs up for this wonderful little place - can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stormswept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North East England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Lovely little hotel in a lovely little town. Small, clean and comfortable. Simply furnished but with air conditioning and a substantial breakfast, this was great place to stay. Close to the town's restaurants, bars and shops and a short walk to the beach. The friendly couple who own the hotel prepare and serve the breakfast which will certainly keep you going throughout the day!
Ideally placed hotel, I would certainly recommend it to anyone. The cost was surprisingly reasonable. We stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay in Agia Galini.

Room Tip: A higher level room gives you a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billyjo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Simple hotel if you want nothing more then a place to sleep.
Small but adequate room, bathroom and balcony (no nice view), on top of several stairs.
Located in the part of Ag.Galini where most apartments and hotels (but no restaurants/tavernas) are, high above the harbour/restaurant area.
If you haven't got a car at your disposal, a somewhat problemetic location, but with a car no problem (at the harbour ample parking place is available).

We got a room with a good, extensive breakfast for Eu 20 (for 2 persons): an incredible deal !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchman-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgiaGaliniDenis, Owner at Antigoni, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
We tried to spend you a nice time in our hotel.
Offered to you the best services and the best rate.

Could you find an other hotel same services same rate?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Agia Galini is a great little place and this hotel is ideally located on a hill that is 10 minutes left to the beach or 5 minutes right to the restaurants and bars and 10 minutes from the harbour.
The rooms are clean and for the price you get air conditioning and breakfast (we booked through booking.com for 2nd week in October for £20 per night - the weather was excellent - 25 degrees and sunny every day)
The breakfast (see photo) is brought to your table on a tray and is laid out diligently by the owner who seems to do everything around the hotel.
Anyone not familiar with Greek accommodation needs to adjust e.g. the toilet and shower are typically Greek

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view - some rooms have a better sea view than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyB1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rethymnon, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We found this accommodation to be excellent value, lovely clean rooms with the normal Greek style shower/toilet.
The inclusive breakfast was much better than expected.
Also included was air con, which was a bonus.

It is located at the top of the hill with views over the bay - close to the hotel is a path to the beach, and a short-cut down to the tavernas in the harbour area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob_and_carole73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed for 14 days, clean room,lcd tv,cleaned every day, fantastic breakfast, all for 28 euros per night for the room. Would recommend. At top of hill but everywhere hilly in Agia Galini. Opposite road down to beach

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

It was really a luck to us to find this hotel! I recommend it to everyone who plans to have quiet and comfortable stay. And it's an excellent value for money! The hotel has only 8 rooms and all of them are very nice. The rooms are tidy, consist all needed things, which are in the best condition. We had 2 painting in the room and the vase with flowers. I try to say - every thing there represented owner's care about us :) The hotel and surrounding were also quiet and polite. The owner of the hotel is even the best owner I've ever seen. He is so helpful and so pleasant. So, I can't write even one sentence without the word "very" :) During our stay in the hotel there were no unfavorable moment. I think this is because of absence of such ones as we have been living there for 2 weeks. Separate word about the breakfast! Every morning started in the best way because of the breakfast at Antigony. In the morning, in the quiet little garden... there were some tables. We were coming and choosing one of them. The owner was greeting us with a smile and asking about coffee or tea. What would we prefer today? Of course - coffee! :) After a minute he returns with a big tray with - as for me - more than the ideal breakfast! Amazing warm cretan bread, fresh orange juice, slices of bacon and cheese. Hard boiled eggs, butter, marmelad and honey. Sweets and yogurt. Every of them were in the separate dish. In the white and always clean dish. It is so special to me to have them always clean. I'm a fan of clean dishes in hotels. So my mark for Antigony's cleanness - 10 from 10! Guys, wish you to have a comfortable stay in whatever hotel you will choose! I believe it very difficult in the heaven named Agia Galini to find something terrible. But if you choose Antigony for your stay there - it will be for sure great!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OksanaIe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agia Galini hotels
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Greco
Palazzo Greco
#3 of 25 in Agia Galini
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Glaros
Hotel Glaros
#2 of 25 in Agia Galini
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Petra
Hotel Petra
#17 of 25 in Agia Galini
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Irini Mare Hotel
Irini Mare Hotel
#4 of 25 in Agia Galini
129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#6 of 25 in Agia Galini
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Idi
Hotel Idi
#3 of 13 in Agia Galini
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigoni

Property: Antigoni
Address: Main Road, Agia Galini, Crete 74056, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Agia Galini
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Agia Galini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigoni 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run Antigoni is situated only 350 metres from the beach at Agia Galini town in Rethymno, in the south of Crete. Set on a low hill, it offers a view of the Libyan Sea and mount Psiloritis.Antigoni offers well appointed rooms with sea or garden-view balconies. All rooms feature modern amenities such as satellite TV, air conditioning, fridge and electric kettle.Guests can start their day with free local delicacies, such as local pies, served in the room. Tea and coffee facilities are also available free of charge in the rooms.The village and port of Agia Galini, where cars are only allowed on the main road, are ideal for a stroll or a visit to one of the many bars and restaurants.Antigoni is a great base to visit the beaches, villages and countryside of sunny South Crete. Antigoni is close to excellent transport connections to the many places to be visited nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Antigoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigoni Agia Galini, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing