We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Glaros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Glaros
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Agia Galini
Certificate of Excellence
North
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We bartered hard at the end of the season and managed to get a room for 35 Euros with breakfast for two. A bargain
Excellent clean rooms, excellent breakfast, lovely pool.
Lovely staff.
Would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller00000North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    38
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
113
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have spend one night stay over there end place was really nice. Every thing was nice and new (recently renovated). Even that the season was nearlly finished the place was great. We were two couples and we both had two rooms overlooking the pool. There were only some small negatives about the room that the owners have to have a look. All four of us found the pillows a bit uncomfortable to sleep with so i dont think that one or two pillows extra will add up to the cost. In both rooms the fridge was a bit noisy so we had to unplagg it. For last but not least is the price 40€ without breakfast we all thought it was a bit two much for this time of the season!!! At any other time of the season we were willing to pay even more...
Anyway we would all of us definatelly recommend Glaros Hotel for your stay in Agia Galini !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in September and wish it could have been longer. We were offered an alternate room on arrival, which was bigger but up more steps, but it was well worth it. The rooms were cleaned every day, and whilst basic, very comfortable and spacious. The pool was just perfect with a 4 year old as she had her own shallow section, and whilst the pool area is not large, it was perfectly serviceable. We loved Agia Galini, there is a "shabby chic" to the town and walking through the alleyways at night with their many al fresco restaurants was great. The beach may not be perfect, but with a small child it was ideal as there was no road, rather restaurants and a boardwalk running along behind the beach. We visited Matala beach and Phaistos during out stayed and these were great outings. Overall loved it, and would return to Glaros in an instant.

Room Tip: The rooms higher up have a better view of course, but more stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FroggyAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The Glaros hotel is - at first site - not situated in the best spot of Agia Galini. Thera are hotels with better views. But I suspect there are not many better hotels around. This hotel is an absolute gem! Elegant, stylish, clean, cozy, great service ... Very friendly people!
We picked Agia Galini not because we wanted an ideal venture point to visit the Minoan sites around Phaestos. We ended up getting so much more! First of all, let me just comment on what the tourist guides have to say about Agia Galini: it has supposedly sacrificed its pristine charm for mass tourism. Well, at the end of September this was not the case. The village is still charming yet the sea-front is obviously attracting lots of tourists. So what? The local beach is nothing special but hey, you've got great beaches near-by.
Anyway, the hotel sports nice breakfast (lots of sweets, but also lots of fruit and delicious Greek youghurt so it is healthy enough), and when we came back from our daily trips, the room was spotless every day with fresh towels and fresh linen. The service is truely great! The owner is a charming lady running this business with lots of class.
The pool is not really big, but that's just OK - a dip in it felt good anyway. The rooms are very roomy, modern and elegant and enjoy lots of sun all day. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I bet all the rooms are great. Ours was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here the last week in august with my partner , the room was clean bathroom was modern and balcony was perfect place to watch the sun go down with a glass of wine. Its not on the beach but its a short walk and town is not to far down hill.Breakfast is fine but we went to the tapas bar just down the street for a good latte and great eggs and bacon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballygriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Analipsi, Greece
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel has been recently renovated and everything looks new. However our room smelled a little bit when it was too hot, but when we open the balcony door or the A/C the smell went away so it was ok. The ladies who run the hotel are very kind and helpful, while the breakfast was absolutely fine. Also the location is very good as well, as it is within walkable distance from the port and the beach. We would go again!

Room Tip: choose a room in low floor, as there are many stairs leading to the rooms up hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tefi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was our third stay at Hotel Glaros and I would not stay anywhere else in Agia Galini. Tassoula and her sister are so welcoming. The hotel is so clean, both rooms and the common areas, the two cleaning ladies do a wonderful job and are so pleasant.
The location of the hotel is perfect, quiet and convenient for trips out to bars and restaurants.
We like to stay in the fourth floor studios and the climb up is good exercise. The studios are a good size with comfortable beds and the small kitchen area is well equipped. This year we were even provided with an electric kettle.
Tassoula will do anything to make your stay here as pleasant as possible, from organising airport transfers to offering cakes that she has baked when you return from a night out. Overall I would thoroughly recommend Hotel Glaros.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agia Galini hotels
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Greco
Palazzo Greco
#2 of 25 in Agia Galini
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Irini Mare Hotel
Irini Mare Hotel
#4 of 25 in Agia Galini
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avra Hotel
Avra Hotel
#5 of 25 in Agia Galini
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Petra
Hotel Petra
#17 of 25 in Agia Galini
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#6 of 25 in Agia Galini
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gioma
Hotel Gioma
#7 of 25 in Agia Galini
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glaros

Property: Hotel Glaros
Address: 300 meters from the sea, Agia Galini, Crete 740 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Agia Galini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Agia Galini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Glaros 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Glaros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glaros Agia Galini, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing