We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent rooms, superb location, amazing views of the caldera and most of all, wonderful staff and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms, superb location, amazing views of the caldera and most of all, wonderful staff and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We reserved a studio room with a double bed and a caldera view, and another studio room with a sofa bed for my parents and sister. The studio room they had worked out well b/c the bedroom was separate from the kitchenette and the living space where my sister slept, affording some privacy. Both rooms were wonderfully comfortable and inviting and seemed newer, with breakfast served right on our own balconies. Although close to parking and a mini market, Ampelonas is quiet and situated as the highest point in its part of Imerovigli, with nothing to block the views. The very best was Georgia and her staff who were extremely considerate, helpful and accommodating and gracious and made us feel very welcome. Georgia stayed up well past late check-in to accommodate our late and delayed flight in, she communicated well with us before we arrived, and helped us book a sunset cruise and restaurant reservations. Thank you Ampelonas!

Room Tip: The caldera view rooms are worth the extra bit of cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    21
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens Greece & CA, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Rooms were large, very nicely appointed. We were 3 couples, our rooms were side by side on the ground floor, with a sea view (not caldera). We had the large garden/patio area outside our rooms all to ourselves, with multiple tables etc. We enjoyed our breakfasts here, with the lovely, serene sea view. (It was a bit too windy for the upper terrace or pool areas, with the more spectacular caldera views, for breakfast.) Georgia was extremely helpful & gracious, both before our arrival (providing info, booking car rentals for us, etc), & during our stay. Breakfasts were basic but good, & Georgia even accommodated a special request for our second breakfast. We have stayed in Santorini before & while were were not unhappy with previous accommodations, we would absolutely choose Ampelonas for future visits. As we were driving our rental cars from the port (so were not met by the hotel), we did have a little difficulty finding it at first . . . but this is not unusual in my experience, when there are no actual addresses!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms of course get the morning sun, caldera view the sunset. We were very happy with sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Steve-Wendy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorks england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed here July 2012 for 2 nights. We arrived from the ferry, Chris the guy who works there answered my email in good time and he arranged transport from the harbour to the apartments which was very reasonable, and reliable considering the chaos after getting off the ferry in high season and the sheer number of people crowding around looking for transport.
When we arrived Chris had a caldera view room free and he gave us that one although I hadn't paid for this type of room. I must say he is one of the nicest Greeks I've met, a real gentleman, he was so kind and helpful, he makes the breakfast and serves it at the room ,when you are ready. There was coffee, juice, toastie, yogurt and honey, cake and fruit, more than enough.
The room was on the ground floor, one room with a small kitchen area, a table and chairs and a double bed which was really comfortable. Also the shower was good. On the whole the room was really nicely presented, my only fault would be that there was no kettle to make my own coffee, there was a small fridge too .
The small pool at the apartments was a bonus, so many in this area don't have them.
Gotta great nights sleep because the rooms are not on road,they are on a path that leads to fantastic views, and more or less on the end of imerovigli at the highest spot.
Our room was so cute, we had our own little gate to get in onto our patio seating area outside the apartment.
The nights were spent drinking ouzo watching the sunsets from outside our room which were absolutely amazing we had the full Santorini sunset experience with the full caldera view truly unforgettable.
There are eating places within walking distance and a small shop to buy beer ect, we went slightly inland to eat because we didn't need to go to a overpriced caldera view restaurant because we had the view at the room.
Overall a great stay, friendly people and fantastic sunsets. They are not directly on the edge of the cliff but as near as possible with only hotel in front which is lower down and does not impair the view, but it is probably twice as expensive.
At the end of the 2 night stay my only regret was not staying for longer ...
Regards Chris , we are the couple that had the air tickets dropped off to fly to Crete because the ferries were full.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaffaswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

I stayed at Ampolonas with three of my friends. We were welcomed by a beautiful Greek woman named Georgia who made us feel right at home! The view from our two story appartment was amazing! We had a 360 degree view from our roof top balcony. The breakfast was served at a time suited to us and it was delicious with a variety of goods!! Santorini is a beautiful place and I would definitely recommend staying at Ampolonas.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Gpratten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

I simply loved my stay here,the owner and Chris were very kind and friendly,they gave me tomatoes from them garden to eat in the morning which was delicious,and one afternoon while they was preparing the barbecue for themself they bring me in the room some meat and traditional sausage.We arrived early in the morning and left the hotel at 9.30 PM and they didn't charge us for early/late check-in.The taxi untill Fira center it was only 5 euros ,but we had also 2 nice restaurants-taverna near by,and many stores and minimarkets.The view from the terrace was awesome,in the night was windy and cold,but the atmosphere was so nice.
I will come back with pleasure,I highly recommend this place and also Estia taverna where we eat very very good and genuine and the price was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holte, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

This place is clearly underrated. We arrived late, were greeted in a very friendly way and were taken up the stairs to our nice appartment. Next morning we were stunned - 360 degree views over Santorini, including the famous Caldera. Wow .... We have seen a lot, but this has got to be one of the best. The pool is nice and clean. Not necessesarily luxurious but great never the less. Will be back !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Søren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
155 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Away from the chaos of either Oia or Fiera, this gem is within a short walking distance to the bus and several markets. And after having left the hectic pace of Athens, Ampelonas was exactly was we needed.

What impressed me the most is the wonderful attentiveness shown to us by the owners and Chris - who greets you, helps you in anyway and makes and delivers your breakfast.

The balcony offers the same view of the sunset as Oia does. The winds are cooling -- we were there in July and the temps were high all through the Pelopenese and Santorini. But on this side of the 'mountains', it was quite cool because of the winds.

I had the day bed as there were 5 of us - it was very comfortable. Two of my friends had the netted bed and they also slept well.

One last story - we had to meet our transportation to the airport at 5:30 a.m. Maria, the owner, was there to wish us well and greeted each of us. She had already been cleaning the common areas.

All 5 of us agreed that we had found the best place on the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.1 mi away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#39 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prekas Apartments
Prekas Apartments
#33 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#6 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
3.2 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes

Property: Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ampelonas is a studios and maisonettes complex located on the top of hill, in the picturesque Imerovigli, in Santorini. It offers self-catering accommodation with views of the Volcano, the Sunset and the Aegian sea. Guests enjoy a beautifully-shaped pool with a big sun terrace with amazing view to the Volcano and the Aegean sea. The breakfast served at the sun terrace around the pool. Close free parking. Free Wi-Fi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ampelonas Studios And Maisonettes
Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes Hotel Imerovigli
Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing