We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This was my second time in Santorini and my second stay at Ampelonas apartments. If I get the chance to come back to
Santorini, I will be staying here at Ampelonas apartments again.

The rooms are large and easily fit 4 adults with lots of luggage. They were also always clean.

The location in imerovigilli, is in a perfect spot, located right in between Fira and Oia.There is a bus stop a 2 minute walk away and it is also only about 20-30 minutes walk from Fira centre if you're feeling adventurous.

The views from the rooms are breathtaking, and you can watch the sunset with fantastic views from the rooms or the pool area which is always clean and comfortable.

Staff at ampelonas are extremely helpful, especially the bar staff lady who often helped with tourist info etc.

I hope to one day stay at ampelonas again

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Alyssa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I absolutely loved staying there. Georgia was beyond accommodating. The views are spectacular. The staff is very friendly and will help you with anything. Heads up that you cant drink any of the water and showering will be salt water. Not that it actually matters. I found that the rooms were very clean. The beds were comfy as well. Your right by a small market and some shops and restaurants and bars are within walking distance. Worth the stay for sure! They even loaned my sister 1200 euros! to pay the photographer when she forgot to bring her money to the wedding and it was locked in her room and the key was with the family! Now that's amazing

Room Tip: Rooms with the caldera view are worth the few extra bucks though all of them had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cassi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Imerovigli is the best location in Santorini, views are phenomenal (sunset is unbeatable, you can also experience sunrise), restaurantes and bars near by are great, and it is close to Fira. Rooms are very pretty, service is personalized and very efficient, we had a great experience.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Martin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed on this hotel for 3 nights in late July and we were pleasantly surprised.
I have visited Santorini quite a number of times over the last 25 years and it's always challenging to find good value for money during the peak season.
Especially when you are looking for a room with Caldera view, the prices can be very high or extremely high.
Well, Ampelonas Studios has this great combination of a great location with great Caldera views and reasonable prices that is hard to find in Santorini and especially in Imerovigli.
Imerovigli, is the best point to have a 360 degree view of the island while it is quieter compared to Fira and Oia, so a great choice for a romantic getaway for couples.
Note that to go to the beach you need a car, but this is for everyone that wants Caldera view and doesn't want to swim in the pool.
The Ampelonas rooms have either a view of the famous Caldera on the west or a sea view of the Aegean sea on the east.
The rooms with Caldera view have some more noise and somehow less privacy when you sit on your balcony but the breathtaking views and the beautiful sunsets you will enjoy from your balcony are worth the extra cost. Rooms on the east side, have also sea view (not of the Caldera but the Aegean sea on the other side of Santorini) and are more quiet.
What we liked about the hotel: the room was exceptionally clean (with linens and towels changed every day), it was nicely and traditionally decorated, it had all the basics you need: flat TV, quiet AC unit, a safe and a fridge, as well as cutlery, glasses and plates plus a kettle for coffee.
A big advantage is the easy access to the hotel and all the rooms. Actually you park your car almost outside the hotel which is a big plus in Imerovigli (and Santorini in general) where even for the most expensive hotels you have to walk and climb steep staircases up and down with all your baggage at hand under the hot sun.
Another plus is that it is a small, family run hotel, and both the family and staff will be happy to assist you with a smile.
It is not a luxurious property and if someone wants the luxury, the spa or very expensive decoration and in-hotel gourmet dining, there are plenty of much more expensive hotels nearby.
A couple of things that might be an issue for some people:
The bathroom was a bit small (but very very clean).
The bed was a bit hard, but it is a mattress on top of stone, so it is how traditional beds in Santorini used to be.
We didn't choose to have breakfast in the price, so I can't comment on breakfast quality.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and I recommend to all who want a romantic getaway in Santorini, with Caldera view and at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5, which has a great view of the Caldera from the balcony, even from the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Situated to the Northern end of Imerovigli along the cliff path to Oia this accomodation is beautifully positioned just across the path from the Caldera edge.Georgia and her staff welcomed us despite the fact that we had a late arrival.
The rooms are typically greek but recently refurbished and given a more contemporary feel.The accomodation is immaculate and the cleaners appear to work 24/7 with clean linen and towels every day.It is beautifully maintained with a lovely pool overlooking the caldera and bay.Lots of different levels for sitting ,sunbathing or havinga drink from the pool bar.
Our room was a small room with a view from the patio overlooking the vineyeard,it was just beautiful and as we stayed 7 nights we enjoyed many lovely lunches there .Great care and attention was given to the plants and the general ambiance outside and in it was absolutely perfect for us.Inside the room we had a shower room with loads of hot water a large bedsitting room with fridge Tv hairdryer, kettle ane enough crockery to make a cold lunch and breakfast.
Georgia and her staff were helpful ,polite and keen to make our visit a happy one.OK we are not honeymooners and it is not hanging on the very edge of the caldera but this place is a little gem and should not be overlooked.The sunset from that pool was better than from Oia,we were near to restaurants shops, bars,it was quite but accessible, and we could not have asked for more .

Room Tip: Decide if you want sunset or vineyard view - they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lbl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We shared an apartment here with friends for 5 days.
We received a very friendly welcome and were quickly settled into our apartment.
The ground floor of the apartment comprised a kitchen area, (cups, glasses, cutlery, kettle, fridge - no cooking facilities), a small bathroom, (including shower), a day bed and double bed with windows opening onto a balcony. The upstairs level comprised a double futon style bed with en suite toilet. You could also access the roof terrace via the upstairs window. The stairs to the first floor were quite steep and the ceiling low so a little care needed. Towels were provided for inside and poolside use.
The apartment and complex were kept very clean and tidy and there was a choice of areas either to sit in the shade or sunbathe and a separate pool area. Beware the water in the pool is very cold!
Being situated on a hill and the choice of terraces/balconies available, there was always a place to sit in the sun and we could see both sides of the island. We had the most wonderful view up to Oia and watched the sunset from our balcony.
We had breakfast at the apartments most days and it was always, fresh, hot and served with a smile. While we were able to pay for the apartment by card, you do have to pay for breakfast in cash which can catch you out if you are settling up at the end of your stay.
The location of the apartments is perfect; far enough away from the busier areas but easy enough to get to them. There are plenty of places to eat within a few minutes walk, mini markets and vehicle hire. There is also parking nearby. Great base from which to explore a very beautiful island.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this little hotel for three nights. There were four of us in the family. We flew into Santorini from Athens on the first flight and therefore got to catch the beautiful sunrise as we touched down at the airport. We rented a car and drove straight to the hotel. It was not too difficult to find the hotel and there were always some parking spaces available at all time while we were staying there.

The staffs were nice and friendly. They actually let us check in shortly after 8am, well before the check in time stated.
The mansionette had two queen size beds. One at the top upper floor and another one on the bottom floor. Due to the white painted low ceiling and Santorini style architectuaral design, one might have to be very careful if sleeping on the upper floor. Your head could easily bumped and hit the ceiling if not careful. There was also a toilet, and a sundeck you could climb out from a small window at the upper floor.

Apart from a queen bed, there were bathroom, balcony with chairs and table, small dining table, kitchenette and cupboard with a safe located at the bottom floor. The room was clean and comfortably big enough for four of us.

Scenery was great.. we could watch the sunrise when stepping out from our main door, and the paranomic sunset from our balcony in the evening. Certainly, it was still worthwhile to go to Oia for its paranomic sunset view.

The pool was small. We did not swim in their pool as the water was too cold.
Our room package didnt come with breakfast. The staffs could help to order takeaway at night. The takeaway food was reasonally priced and inexpensive.
The hotel was nice and located away from the busy Fira. So.. it was really a great place to stay in especially if you rent a car during your visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank SleekVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#8 of 51 in Imerovigli
656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#26 of 51 in Imerovigli
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prekas Apartments
Prekas Apartments
#33 of 51 in Imerovigli
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#21 of 51 in Imerovigli
467 reviews
1 mi away
Pantheon Villas
Pantheon Villas
#1 of 48 in Imerovigli
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vallais Villas
Vallais Villas
#7 of 48 in Imerovigli
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Imerovigli
Price Range: £96 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ampelonas is a studios and maisonettes complex located on the top of hill, in the picturesque Imerovigli, in Santorini. It offers self-catering accommodation with views of the Volcano, the Sunset and the Aegian sea. Guests enjoy a beautifully-shaped pool with a big sun terrace with amazing view to the Volcano and the Aegean sea. The breakfast served at the sun terrace around the pool. Close free parking. Free Wi-Fi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes Hotel Imerovigli
Ampelonas Studios And Maisonettes
Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing