We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find after a stunning walk”

Skaros Fish Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 32 Restaurants in Imerovigli
Cuisines: Seafood, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice find after a stunning walk”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We decided in our first night in Imerovigli to take the walk along the coast to Fira and take in all the sights and sounds of this part of the island. The walk before sunset was amazing but as we headed home we realized that not only were we starved but were losing sun along the way.

We happened upon Skaros which had stunning views, advertised fresh fish and had a table available when we walked up. The staff were more than friendly, and offered a suggestion of fresh grilled fish. We ended up sharing a grilled Seabass and sides which at 600 g was more than enough for two people. This was something we did find in Santorini which we haven't experienced before and that was that all the fish is sold by the gram.

The Seabass was delightful, the greek salad we had was fresh and plentyful but I would pass on the tomatoe fritters a local favorite. To his credit the waiter told us it wasn't his favorite but we didn't listen.

Again fresh, quiet and a surprise find after a beautiful evening walk.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mayfiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    72
    44
    29
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Seafood great views”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The Best Prawn Cocktail... it was huge yummy creamy dressing made from whiskey and cream, as there was no Mussells saganaki on the menu we asked them if they could make me one and they were most obliging and presented me with a yummy big bowl of them!!
Also made a great fish salad.Definately would go back there again !! highly Recommend it

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusieMark2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dinner with sunset”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were offered a choice of tables, we got very prompt service and good attention - we even got complimentary desserts!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worse service, worse food, highest price in Santorini, Don't go there”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The worse is the service, old guy manager didn't care much and racist, have preference over guests as who to give service and who not.

The food is the second worse thing, salty, vegetable served raw uncooked, when I told the manager, he said it's supposed to be raw - well, in salad maybe, not with my squid...

Terribly Overpriced, even if they would provide a reasonable service. The dinner there is the most expensive meal we ever had in Santorini, but it's the worse of them all. For less money, you definitely can enjoy a lot a lot better in Santorini. Don't go there, save yourself a disappointing evening

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wymta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great view, lacked atmosphere, manager loud and abrupt”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We are staying nearby - literally a 2 minute walk. My husband and I wanted to try the nearby taverna, however it was full.

We peeked into Skaros and view was amazing. So we went in.

Being of Greek background We were familiar with the menu items.

Food was average, bit oily and I agree with an above comment, who serves boiled veggies with fried fish? I have had much better Greek food at lower cost.

Service - the young lady who served us was lovely. The others, stood around and lacked any personality. Manager was scolding staff in Greek and abrupt - ruined the mood slightly.

Restaurant itself - the view is the only thing that makes it. Otherwise no ambience or atmosphere at all.

Won't go again.


  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skaros Fish Restaurant also viewed

Imerovigli, Santorini
Imerovigli, Santorini
 
Imerovigli, Santorini
Imerovigli, Santorini
 
Imerovigli, Santorini
Imerovigli, Santorini
 

Been to Skaros Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing