We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, surpassed expectations”
Review of San Antonio Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Antonio Suites
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2010

If you're considering visiting Santorini and you want a quiet, classy time the San Antonio Suites is certainly worth considering. This was our second visit to Santorini, we went 3 years ago for our 10th wedding anniversary. This trip was also special as it was to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday. So we spent a little more than we normally would. The hotel has quite a high tariff but you get what you pay. Beautiful top of the line accommodation with exceptional views of the Caldera, excellent service and friendly staff.

Tranquil, relaxing, I had to drink coffee to prevent myself falling into a coma.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olly1363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2010

After researching numerous high end hotels for a 3 night stay on our honeymoon in Santorini, I booked San Antonio Suites. It's conveniently located between Fira and Oia (about 10 minutes drive to each town). Would highly suggest renting a car if you are staying there since there's nothing around it. We loved the location because it was away from the crowds and noise.

The hotel itself was pure luxury, romance, seclusion, and relaxation. The views were unbeatable, sunsets unforgettable, and service was delightful. We would not stay in any other hotel if we go back to Santorini--San Antonio Suites made all the difference during our stay and we had to force ourselves out to explore the island. We had dinner there one night and it was delicious and a bit overpriced. But the setting and view made it all worth it. Room service was also excellent. Breakfast was delicious and there was a variety of options to choose from. The made to order eggs and freshly squeezed orange juice was the best we had in Greece.

We were upgraded to a bigger room after some issues with the first room upon check-in.
We were also given complimentary white wine and a fruit platter because it was our honeymoon. There was also a private balcony with lounge chairs and a sunbathing area we loved. This was by far our favorite hotel...

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badgerc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

As appears to be an ongoing 'issue' with this hotel we arrived late in the evening to be told there was no trace of our reservation. We were eventually transferred to the Chromata a sister hotel and upgraded (was very good - see separate review). As part of our compensation we came back for a massage and day by the pool. The location is remote which is nice in one way but means hire car, taxi or buses are a must to get anywhere. The massage was excellent done by someone who knew what they were doing. The facilities were good but the poolside was busy and there was a shortage of sun loungers.
My advice is double-check your booking. If I were cynical would suggest that it appears to be a good way for the group to get business across the chain by transferring over/’non’ booked clients to their other hotels?

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank misterteegold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

This was our first visit to Santorini. After much extensive research, we decided to stay at S.A.S. I travel quite a bit and am a VERY picky - A type - traveler. I look at the little details such the type of bedding, down to the type of tile in the bathrooms, etc. I look at location - convenience, privacy, security surrounds, views, etc. San Antonio Suites seemed to fit the bill.

We arrived late after spending the day in Athens. We were pleasantly greeted by a full staff, and Chrisa (manager) herself took us for a brief tour of the property and then to our upgraded master suite. it was absolutely breathtaking! we had our own outdoor and indoor jacuzzi, and what i love most, is it's totalllly private. no neighbors above or next door to us...(wink). THey gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne and bowl of fruits. It was 9:30pm but she insisted we go up to the restaurant for a late bite to eat. We quickly changed (kitchen closes around 10pm) and headed up. great service. the menu was IMO, a little overpriced, but i the food was very very good.

we were still a bit jet lagged (having traveled from SF), so was up JUST before sunrise. perfect, it would be the first time seeing the water and surroundings (since we arrived around 9pm the night prior) and omg, the scenery is just absolutely BREATHTAKING! (see my photos). we decided to go up for a sunrise swim (we love to get the pool all to ourselves) and words cannot describe how beautiful and romantic it was!

We had breakfast (included in the rate we chose) every morning at the restaurant. just the views made it all the worth while. we ended up staying at the hotel during the days it got too hot to walk the towns. location is perfect. just about 5minutes from Oia and about 8min to Fira. average about 10-15euro ride to/from town. although it was a great decision since most of the hotels we saw in town, either had a hotel just above them on the cliff, or just below them. so there was not much of the 'secluded' feeling as we had at SAS.

have to admit that the couple spa package we arranged - it was a bit awkward..maybe b/c i'm an avid spa junkie from the states, usually the therapists leave the room for you to undress...but they just stood there and watched us. also, i'm always very skeptical when your massage therapist is ALSO your esthetician. hmm. it was OK. the sauna and steam room were great. not too overpriced, so it was worth it in the end.

overall:
location: 5 stars (although can be a challenge to catch a cab in the late hours)
food: 4 stars (not huge selection, but quality is there)
rooms: 5+stars
service: 5 stars (they bend over backward to make you happy)
scenery: 5 stars (you still should get to town for every sunset, since there is a cliff that obstructs)

p.s. not a kid in sight. so this is perfect for couples. mixed range of young(30's) to mid age (40-50's)...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tphantran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed in San Antonio for five nights this August and had a fabulous time!
Great staff and wonderful views! We loved everything about it except leaving!!!
Many thanks to Chrisa and her team for making our stay memorable.
We will surelly be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k_trocka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This hotel is fabulous, really beautiful, quiet and peaceful.

We stayed here on our mini-moon in June 2010. We loved it, we were up-graded to a suite and it was delightful, with an indoor and outdoor Jacuzzi. The views are to die for and the service impeccable. The beds are comfortable and the room service and mini bar well stocked. The breakfast is superb and such an enormous selection of fabulous food and champagne.

There are just a couple of things to consider, it is far from anywhere, making it secluded and quiet, but also not within walking distance of anywhere, so taxi's or car hire is a must. Also there are a lot of steps with this hotel so I wouldn't recommend it for the elderly or couples with young children. Be aware that food and drink in this hotel is pricey, you pay for the good quality food and drink and service, it's only the breakfast which is free.

The only real downside is there are not enough sun loungers, so unless you get up early (and are one of those annoying people who put your towel on a lounger, which they ask people not to do, but then do nothing when people still do this), you won't get to be around the pool, and the staff won't bring anymore loungers for you. I guess it would make the pool area look crowded.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alvy1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

The reservation system of this hotel seems to be a recurrent problem, as reported by other customers. At our arrival the room was not available and we were transferred to another hotel for 2 nights. However, as a compensation, we were given a master suite when we came back 2 days later. The room has a wonderful view on the caldera.
The lobby personnel does not seem to have professional hotel training and has difficulties in communicating in languages other than Greek. The hotel director never showed up during the 5 days (in other 5 star Santorini hotels, the director or manager is the first person you meet when you arrive). The restaurant and pool personnel appeared to be unmotivated and was helpless to provide solutions to find seating on days when the pool was overbooked. A bottle of Assyrtiko wine (Sigalas), which you can buy in a Santorini supermarket for 8 Euros, was offered at the bar for 40 Euros, a bit too much of a recharge.
The suite we were offered, although huge and beatiful, has an open bathroom, which is not exactly convenient, unless you are alone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ViaggioLento58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
1.0 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
1.9 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#17 of 50 in Imerovigli
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
1.8 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#16 of 50 in Imerovigli
462 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#11 of 50 in Imerovigli
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Suites

Address: Imerovigli | Outside Imerovigli on the way to Oia, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#9 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#10 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#12 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £262 - £566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty six luxurious suites, harmonically crafted into the encompassing interior of the rock, merge into shapes following the earth's own command. Façades covered with red solidified lava and black volcanic stones, outdoor lounges full of comfort and uninterrupted views to the Caldera... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Antonio Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Hotel Santorini
San Antonio Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing