We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Above Blue Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Above Blue Suites
Ranked #2 of 29 Imerovigli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Spent 4 nights at the Above Blue Suites and had a wonderful time. The hotel is in Imerovigli, the highest point of Santorini. We stayed in a Moonlite Suite, a very comfortable room with a big shower and free wifi, an amazing view from our balcony with a private hot tub and had a complimentary breakfast every morning on our balcony. The staff was outstanding, took care of all our needs and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. There are many excellent restaurants within walking distance from the Above Blue Suites and the staff will call and make dinner reservations for you. Santorini is a great laid back island and the Above Blue Suites is the perfect place to relax on the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are delighted that you stayed with us and had a good time.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    32
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
331
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Loved our stay at Above Blue and wanted to comment on a few pros and cons. We stayed at the private pool villa for 5 nights.

Pros:

View: absolutely fantastic
Access: real good, right in front of a walking path that goes from Oia to Fira.
WiFi: excellent, super fast
Private pool: temperature is kind of cold but its private and cant complain
Staff: Superb service and knowledgeable staff that gave us nice suggestions on restaurants which were all very good. Everyone was smiling and was very nice to us.
Room was one of the nicest ones I had to pleasure to stay in. Very clean, comfortable and stylish.

Cons:
.
Breakfast fruits were not very fresh. Fruits looked like they were cut from 2 or 3 days before. At the price I was paying, I was expecting better, like the hotel prior to this one in Greece.
Smell: we could always sense a sewer smell outside from our balcony. I know it is probably not the hotels fault but it does smell bad most of the time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartyQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind review and we are thrilled to read that you have enjoyed our facilities and services, your valuable comments help us to improve even more.

We would like also to inform you and everyone reading this review, that the smell outside from your balcony, it is smell that comes from the cliffs when it’s windy, since under the cliffs several small ports are located, and you can smell it all over the caldera site as you have already correctly noted.

We were really sorry although to read that that you haven’t enjoyed our breakfast, since it is something that prepared especially for every Guest separately and cooked at the spot at the preferred time in order everything to be fresh and hot, our breakfast consider to be one of the highlights of the hotel.

Of course the food is something which does not always meet the expectations of all, and we truly respect this.

We thank you once again for your time in posting this kind review and we truly hope to welcome you again at Above Blue Suites the next time you will visit Santorini again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I've never written a review before on Trip Advisor, but felt compelled to for Above Blue Suites, as we had such an amazing mini-moon at the beginning of May. Santorini is amazing, the views are stunning, almost biblical, and everywhere you turn. Imerovigli is a lovely little place, nice and chilled out, and Above Blue is perfectly situated within it.

We stayed in the Golden Echo suite, which was fantastic, and everything the pictures and other reviews show. Maria and the team were extremely accommodating, and were always happy to go out of their way to help us out, or book things for us. She also gave great recommendations for places to eat like unogi, which was about 5 minutes away.

If you want a holiday where the food and service is excellent, places are clean and the views are stunning, and a quiet place to stay with brilliant amenities, and staff who will go the extra mile then look no further. We'd recommend Above Blue without hesitation, in fact we already have.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We can not say enough thank you for your wonderful review and for the fact that you sign in Tripadvisor only for making a review for us.

The most important think for us is to see that all of our efforts to provide excellent service to all of our Guests comes with succeed.

Thank you one more time and we truly hope to accommodate you again if you ever decide to visit Santorini and Imerovigli in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attard, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We did not stay at this hotel, however we booked a candle light dinner at their restaurant by the pool, it was our best dinner while we were in Santorini. The atmosphere was very romantic and with an amazing view of the Caldera and the sunset! The food was also amazing and the staff made the meal feel very very special!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review and for your kind words about your experience at Above Blue Suites!

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future as a guest of the hotel if you ever decide to visit Santorini again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

There is nothing to complain about at Above Blue. The location is exquisitely beautiful and the staff (Maria, Terry, Yanis) are as friendly, pleasant, and eager to help as you could hope for. We had an amazing honeymoon stay and are so happy we chose Above Blue!

For breakfast, try the French Toast, Greek Yoghurt with Honey, Salmon, Greek Salami, and the Frappe. For dinner, try the fried tomato balls. Mouth watering just thinking of all the great food.

Room Tip: Any room is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Guest, We are thrilled that we managed to offer you an unforgettable time and we sincerely hope that you will choose Above Blue Suites the next time you are in Santorini! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonsberg, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon at Santorini. Very expensive hotel but incredible room with a jaquzzi overlooking the entire island. Incredible beds and tasty decore and furnishing. Personalized breakfast served at our balcony at the time of our choosing. Great selection, fresh orange juice and champagne is standard. Not a bad way to start the day :)
Tiny pool just to cool of, six or eight sunbeds. The restaurant has only two tables, so be sure to book adwance or you can eat on your own balcony and watch the sun go into the sea. Very romantic :) The service was no less than perfection. As far as location goes theres much to see because of the insane views around the hotel but aside from that theres was little or nothing to do within walking distance. Was great for a two night stay but much more and we would start to get bored.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metal2000Viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Guest, We sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Above Blue Suites and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

From the moment we were greeted at Above Blue Suites we knew we had chosen the right destination. We stayed at Above Blue for the first week of our honeymoon before moving to a sister hotel down in Kamari for the second week. We paid for a honeymoon package in advance which included lots of different things including excursions and extras. Before even arriving the staff were absolutely fantastic at replying to emails that I sent and answering any questions that I had. Meeting them in person they were even better. Terry and Maria were both amazingly organised and very very professional at all times, they ran the hotel so perfectly.We stayed in Siren Suite for the duration of our stay - the suite was decorated beautifully with rose petals and candles and a bottle of champagne was on ice. The suite itself was in an ideal location within the hotel - privately situated and beautifully decorated inside.The view from our balcony was just incredible - most of the time I didn't actually believe it was real, sometimes it brought me close to tears. The outdoor hot-tub was amazing and we used it 2-3 times a day. Yannis brought our breakfast every morning (always spot on time) and the breakfast was such a fantastic highlight and start to the day - the menu was extensive and you could choose exactly what you wanted the night before. We spent most days by the pool area which was spotlessly clean and well kept - water was brought to your sunbed and you could order any drinks or food that you wanted. The view from the pool during the day and at sunset were both equally beautiful. At night it was decorated with candles and sparkles on the pool. We ate at the restaurant 3 times in total because the food was just so amazing. We drank cocktails in the Azur Cave Bar every night and Vasillis was a fantastic barman and great company. We can say without a shadow of a doubt that the sunset view from Above Blue was ten times better than at Oia. Seeing the islands surrounding the sunset is just so magical. Thank you Above Blue for such a special honeymoon.

Room Tip: Siren Suite is one level down from the Pool area - it is both private and has a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoegalclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure having you, and we are truly glad that you have chosen to stay with us for your special occasion such us your honeymoon.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our hotel, services, location, as well as our beautiful island.

Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#16 of 50 in Imerovigli
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
1.5 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#13 of 50 in Imerovigli
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#6 of 50 in Imerovigli
1,402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#9 of 50 in Imerovigli
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above Blue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above Blue Suites

Property: Above Blue Suites
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Above Blue Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Above Blue Suites represents a new concept of sanctuary where ten suites perched in the highest point of the stiff cliffs, facing the endless blue of the Aegean Sea, combine harmonically the unique architecture of the famous Santorinian caves, with the sophisticated luxury and the particular decoration, offering generously a truly romantic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Above Blue Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Above Blue Hotel Imerovigli
Above Blue Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing