We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Resort, Sheer Bliss!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avaton Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avaton Resort
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort, Sheer Bliss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Avaton Resort & Spa from June 28th-July5th 2011.We were not disappointed. It lived up to all our expectations as reviewed on-line. It was
absolutely wonderful! very relaxing,in a great location with a view to die for!! Laura and her team were first class and couldn't do enough to help. Although the Avaton is not cheap, for the standard of care, food, cleanlieness, and location, it was worth every penny. We stayed in a ground floor room which although small, was stylish, had everything you needed and was very comfortable. We visited Oia,Fira & Perissa and can
honestly say that the Avaton was in a prime location for the views including the gorgeous
sunsets every evening. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Avaton to anyone who is intending visiting the island, you won't be disappointed. Thank you Laura & team for helping make our holiday one which we will remember for a very long time.

Room Tip: All rooms looked lovely but upper ones may have better view of caldera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JET1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
180
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

We had our best holiday in Santorini at the Avaton Resort and Spa.The location is perfect,the view to die for,food very nice ,service excellent.We definitly reccomend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaolaandFrancesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Avaton is a fantastic place to stay.. Staff are extremely friendly and giving... a wonderful, clean, beautiful place to stay.. want to come back again... they make you feel to welcome and service is A+ qaulity .. you really made our honeymoon a wonderful time.. couldnt ask for anything better than the Avaton
thanks again Louise and Harvey Appleton (Australia)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Small boutique hotel with stylish interiors and perfect 5-star service. Great food in the hotel restaurant and AMAZING breakfast served on the terrace or directly in the room. Oia and Thira are within easy reach (Oia is about 10 minute taxi drive). The hotel has an amzazing view and we enjoyed the most beautiful sunsets almost every night. All in all a perfect vacation! We will definetely come back to Avaton!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

If you want a relaxing and quiet place to stay, then the Avaton is for you. Avaton is about 10 minutes walk (downhill) from the capital Fira and about 5 minutes and 5 euro by taxi back (uphill). The view is spectacular. The food was wonderful. The rooms were romantic and very well presented. Now the important part, the staff, especially Laura and Marcus, they were just fantastic, they could not do enough for you and nothing was too difficult for them. We have a fantastic time in Santorini, no thanks to them. If you looking for a place to stay in Santorini, then stay here, you wont regret it.

To you all at Avaton, thanks for making our holiday special.

Janine and Greg

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruising_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

We have very complicated lives and very little free time. We were also very much in need of a rest and a hassle-free holiday, we could only travel very early in the season and with my husband's 50th birthday coming up too, I wanted it to be special. What a tall order!!
As we would be travelling all day and arriving late on, and that on my husband's birthday, I called ahead and asked if the hotel restaurant would be open so early in the season? I had lived and worked in Greece many years ago and knew that things can sometimes be different to expectations, but I was assured that it would be and the reviews I had read were very promising.
I was happily surprised when I received an email 3 days before our arrival, from Laura, the Avaton manager, asking if we would like them to arrange a transfer from the airport for us, which we agreed to and it worked well. I got a good feeling from that.
The good feelings multiplied the moment we arrived. Our taxi was met by Markus, who greeted us warmly and showed us along to the hotel. For anyone who has never been to Santorini, if you choose a location on the "Caldera" - the crater top - you have to expect very narrow streets or pathways and possibly many steps to your accommodation. The Avaton Resort and Spa is on the edge of Imerovigli and therefore at the end of the path with just a few easy steps into the hotel. Laura met us on arriving there and we were immediately made to feel like very special guests - we were given an upgrade on the de-luxe room we had booked, to the Avaton Suite, as a special birthday present for my husband. Wow, what a welcome!
That night, due to our lateness, we ate alone in the restaurant, the first of many marvelous meals, and we were even treated to a "Happy Birthday" chorus with a birthday cake after dinner. Later we sank into our beautiful, comfortable bed and slept like babes, knowing we had found our own little bit of heaven.
Staying at the Avaton Resort and Spa is like staying with very good friends, nothing is too much trouble for them, but you have no obligation to fit in with their plans!
We enjoyed the most relaxing and pleasurable time, we ate like kings, beginning each day with the most incredible breakfast imaginable and delicious dining at night - as one of our fellow guests said, the scales provided in every room are a definite "no-go-area"! The hotel is modern in design but also quite intimate, everything is immaculate and of a very good standard and it all works. The spa is a beautiful experience and using the heated jacuzzi on our balcony, in such an unbelievably beautiful setting was a very memorable touch of luxury. My husband also enjoyed a very good massage.
Laura, Markus and all the team worked very hard to make our stay perfect, though always in a very discreet way. All our own impressions were also confirmed at dinner by our fellow guests and we were very sorry when we had to say goodbye.
We thank you all for making our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: The rooms are all great, the suites even more so!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Best4theRest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

If you travel to santorini Greece, this hotel is a must. Great location, clean, comfortable and great food.

Room Tip: all rooms at this hotel have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.4 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#12 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#7 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#16 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sophia Luxury Suites
Sophia Luxury Suites
#22 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avaton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avaton Resort

Property: Avaton Resort
Address: P.O. Box 97, Imerovigli, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#17 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avaton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Avaton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avaton Hotel Imerovigli
Avaton Resort Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing