We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise on earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avaton Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avaton Resort
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Rijmenam, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Great Location, perfect view, super service, Great Location, perfect view, super service,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krostifski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
180
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Just got home after an amazing stay at the Avaton Spa and Resort. This place is so beautiful and worth every cent. We had a superior deluxe suite with our own area in front of our room to relax and have breakfast in. My husband and I sat at our stylish table awaiting the brillant Santorini sunset while Alex our amazing attendant made my Hubbie the best Mojhito he ever had.The staff were so attentive and there was nothing they could not do. They made us feel special by organising travel around the island taking the stress out of the mundane tasks you have to do everyday. The breakfasts were lovely and yummy and the restaurant by the spa was something to behold, so romantic.Now lets talk about the view it was breathtaking and not even the likes of Monet could capture this awe inspiring scene, the thing is that you never see the same sunset twice and they all come at the same time in a mytiad of colours each night, just beautiful.Thanks for an amazing holiday and we can't wait to return to our gorgeous room and those lounge chairs in front of the pool.
All the best
George and Anne Vlahos

Room Tip: Room number 7 rocked
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

This was definitely a couple's retreat kind of place and I suppose Santorini is pretty romantic overall but it is out of this world! The breakfast is served in your room, the staff will go way above and beyond, the rooms are just beautiful and the view, breathtaking. You get a sunset as good as Oia from your hotel room!
IT is a bit of a walk to the town, but if you are like us, you appreciate this and enjoy the walk each day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamjodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Just returned from a week (minus a day!) in Avaton, chosen due to its location and small size (9-10 rooms) and the reviews on TA. Upon arrival our taxi, booked through Avaton, dropped us at Gold Suites just up the road from Avaton. Laura, Avaton Manager, was waiting for us and said that due to a 'computer system failure' our first night would have to be spent at Gold Suites (actually a superior property to Avaton) as Avaton didn't have a room for us. This was all done v.efficiently, which made me question how often it happens. It was no bother to us, except you felt you couldn't go exploring/unpack etc as we had to wait for our transfer the following day.

Excellent bits - Laura and the rest of the staff are a credit to Avaton as previously mentioned by other reviews. Breakfast is excellent and with a big variety which you chose the day before together with the time you want it - served in room/balcony or Sunset Bar (if not too windy).

Spa facilities - my partner and I both had aromatherapy massages which were first class and not too expensive (€72 for 60 mins).

Room, pool area and spa facilities were very clean and there was also someone around to clear towels from sunbeds if it looked like they were no longer in use, freeing them up for other guests. V.quiet aircon and the best towels I've had in a hotel (which probably sounds weird).

My only slight criticisms of Avaton are: as a light sleeper, I struggled as every scrape of furniture and movement (toilets/taps/showers/people doing stuff!) in rooms below/next to you) can be heard. It is such a small place that as soon as other people were up/breakfasts are being served etc I woke up. Also, although you have a 'blackout' blind over the balcony door, the toilet cubicle only has a glass door on it, leading directly into the bedroom, the lights from the pool area/outside come in via the toilet window (together with a large dimmed light by your front door which I presume is for fire exit purposes?) makes the room quite light. As stated above, you don't have a bathroom (we have a first floor deluxe room). It's just a raised platform from the bedroom where the sink is and to the left a glass doored shower cubicle and to the right a toilet cubicle with a frosted glass door. I would have prefered the traditional separate room set up.

Cliff path into Fira from Avaton is a lovely downhill walk (30 mins) - the other way slightly harder but after some local Atlantis Rose it won't feel so tough going! Lovely restaurants in Imerovigli if you don't fancy the trip into Fira (€5 taxi each way) - both Estia and Anogi v.good food (reservation at Anogi recommended if you want to eat after 8.30pm as people have to queue after that time. Estia more rough and ready but the best moussaka I ate during the holiday. In Fira - Argo and Naoussa both v.good tavernas (only Argo has the Calera view though).

We did the Santorini Wine Tour with Viaos which was a very good afternoon/evening. We'd read reviews on it and Laura also recommended. Viaos's passion and knowledge about local wine is vast and infectious. I would highly recommend.

Overall, v.nice stay, but am off to sleep now!

Room Tip: All rooms face the caldera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerJo97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

My wife and two college-age daughters just departed the Avaton Resort and Spa, thoroughly refreshed after 5 wonderful days on Santorini. The staff at the Avaton, from the GM Laura to Eri, our porter and all-around helper, are absolutely the friendliest and most hospitable team you will find at any resort, anywhere in the world. Seriously! We rented two rooms and were gifted with an upgrade to the Avaton Suite, which included its own private dipping pool on the veranda, looking out over the caldera and to the sunset. The breakfasts were developed to your exact choosing, and then served to you wherever you wished at the time you wanted. The food was delicious! And lunch? Just as great. We always chose to walk the short distance (5 minutes) into the village for dinner at one of the great taverns (try Anogi!), but the dinner menu looked very flavorful and the Avaton's restaurant, The Cave, very intimate and quiet. Our daughters put the Avaton at the top of their honeymoon destination list!

The Avaton is located near the high point of the caldera rim, with an infinity pool looking as if you were on the edge of the volcano's rim. There is a cobblestone path separating the hotel from the cliff, a path that brings great people-watching but without invading your own privacy and seclusion. The path leads north to Oia and south to Fira, taking you past every beautiful home and church in the area by foot. One day, Laura arranged a rental car for us to tour the rest of Santorini, where we went from Red Beach to Ammoudi Bay. At the end of the day, we simply returned the keys to Laura. So easy, so simple!

Thank you Laura!

Room Tip: All 9 rooms/suites have the same view to the sunsets, you will not be disappointed with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizardHntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Avaton was more than I dreamed of for ending our trip to Turkey and Greece in May/June 2012.  Staffs  hospitality and attention to detail was more than pleasing. A bottle of wine, basket of fruit and a beautiful bunch of  flowers on arrival in our room. I celebrated my birthday during our stay, the day was made even more special  and memorable  by Lara and staff at Avaton.  The views at sunset over the Caldera Sea were spectacular from our balcony, no need to go to Oia.  Credit to the chef. . An awesome  Breakfast was served on our balcony every morning. Definitely Avaton spa resort is the place to stay while in Santorini.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

As soon as we entered the hotel, we were stunned by the excellent view of Kaldera. The room we stayed was very nice, clean and comfortable. We were welcomed with a wine (very good quality) and fruit basket, The only disadvantage was the lack of privacy, however given the view, delicious breakfast and the hospitality of the staff, especially Laura, you could ignore noise coming from next door. If I go to Santorini again, this is definitely the only place I will stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samuel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.4 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#12 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#18 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#7 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sophia Luxury Suites
Sophia Luxury Suites
#22 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avaton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avaton Resort

Property: Avaton Resort
Address: P.O. Box 97, Imerovigli, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#17 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avaton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Expedia so you can book your Avaton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avaton Hotel Imerovigli
Avaton Resort Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing