We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avaton Resort
Nearby Hotels
Chromata Hotel(Imerovigli)
US$722
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$698
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
San Antonio Luxury Hotel(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$756
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gizis Exclusive(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$366
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pegasus Suites & Spa(Imerovigli)
US$574
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$560
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$584
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$495
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
On The Rocks(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$359
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Iliovasilema Suites(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$548
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Remezzo Villas(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$336
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Heliotopos Hotel(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$434
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$355
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$922
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
252
16
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
16
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful bouquet of flowerssteam room and saunacave spaour honeymoonhydrotherapy poolevery morningfruit basketbottle of winebreakfast is servedspa facilitiessister hotelthe ground floorperfect hotelboutique hotelstar servicepeace and quietsuperior room
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Great Location, perfect view, super service, Great Location, perfect view, super service,

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krostifski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Just got home after an amazing stay at the Avaton Spa and Resort. This place is so beautiful and worth every cent. We had a superior deluxe suite with our own area in front of our room to relax and have breakfast in. My husband and I sat at our stylish table awaiting the brillant Santorini sunset while Alex our amazing attendant made my Hubbie the best Mojhito he ever had.The staff were so attentive and there was nothing they could not do. They made us feel special by organising travel around the island taking the stress out of the mundane tasks you have to do everyday. The breakfasts were lovely and yummy and the restaurant by the spa was something to behold, so romantic.Now lets talk about the view it was breathtaking and not even the likes of Monet could capture this awe inspiring scene, the thing is that you never see the same sunset twice and they all come at the same time in a mytiad of colours each night, just beautiful.Thanks for an amazing holiday and we can't wait to return to our gorgeous room and those lounge chairs in front of the pool.
All the best
George and Anne Vlahos

Room Tip: Room number 7 rocked
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This was definitely a couple's retreat kind of place and I suppose Santorini is pretty romantic overall but it is out of this world! The breakfast is served in your room, the staff will go way above and beyond, the rooms are just beautiful and the view, breathtaking. You get a sunset as good as Oia from your hotel room!
IT is a bit of a walk to the town, but if you are like us, you appreciate this and enjoy the walk each day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamjodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Just returned from a week (minus a day!) in Avaton, chosen due to its location and small size (9-10 rooms) and the reviews on TA. Upon arrival our taxi, booked through Avaton, dropped us at Gold Suites just up the road from Avaton. Laura, Avaton Manager, was waiting for us and said that due to a 'computer system failure' our first night would have to be spent at Gold Suites (actually a superior property to Avaton) as Avaton didn't have a room for us. This was all done v.efficiently, which made me question how often it happens. It was no bother to us, except you felt you couldn't go exploring/unpack etc as we had to wait for our transfer the following day.

Excellent bits - Laura and the rest of the staff are a credit to Avaton as previously mentioned by other reviews. Breakfast is excellent and with a big variety which you chose the day before together with the time you want it - served in room/balcony or Sunset Bar (if not too windy).

Spa facilities - my partner and I both had aromatherapy massages which were first class and not too expensive (€72 for 60 mins).

Room, pool area and spa facilities were very clean and there was also someone around to clear towels from sunbeds if it looked like they were no longer in use, freeing them up for other guests. V.quiet aircon and the best towels I've had in a hotel (which probably sounds weird).

My only slight criticisms of Avaton are: as a light sleeper, I struggled as every scrape of furniture and movement (toilets/taps/showers/people doing stuff!) in rooms below/next to you) can be heard. It is such a small place that as soon as other people were up/breakfasts are being served etc I woke up. Also, although you have a 'blackout' blind over the balcony door, the toilet cubicle only has a glass door on it, leading directly into the bedroom, the lights from the pool area/outside come in via the toilet window (together with a large dimmed light by your front door which I presume is for fire exit purposes?) makes the room quite light. As stated above, you don't have a bathroom (we have a first floor deluxe room). It's just a raised platform from the bedroom where the sink is and to the left a glass doored shower cubicle and to the right a toilet cubicle with a frosted glass door. I would have prefered the traditional separate room set up.

Cliff path into Fira from Avaton is a lovely downhill walk (30 mins) - the other way slightly harder but after some local Atlantis Rose it won't feel so tough going! Lovely restaurants in Imerovigli if you don't fancy the trip into Fira (€5 taxi each way) - both Estia and Anogi v.good food (reservation at Anogi recommended if you want to eat after 8.30pm as people have to queue after that time. Estia more rough and ready but the best moussaka I ate during the holiday. In Fira - Argo and Naoussa both v.good tavernas (only Argo has the Calera view though).

We did the Santorini Wine Tour with Viaos which was a very good afternoon/evening. We'd read reviews on it and Laura also recommended. Viaos's passion and knowledge about local wine is vast and infectious. I would highly recommend.

Overall, v.nice stay, but am off to sleep now!

Room Tip: All rooms face the caldera.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellerJo97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My wife and two college-age daughters just departed the Avaton Resort and Spa, thoroughly refreshed after 5 wonderful days on Santorini. The staff at the Avaton, from the GM Laura to Eri, our porter and all-around helper, are absolutely the friendliest and most hospitable team you will find at any resort, anywhere in the world. Seriously! We rented two rooms and were gifted with an upgrade to the Avaton Suite, which included its own private dipping pool on the veranda, looking out over the caldera and to the sunset. The breakfasts were developed to your exact choosing, and then served to you wherever you wished at the time you wanted. The food was delicious! And lunch? Just as great. We always chose to walk the short distance (5 minutes) into the village for dinner at one of the great taverns (try Anogi!), but the dinner menu looked very flavorful and the Avaton's restaurant, The Cave, very intimate and quiet. Our daughters put the Avaton at the top of their honeymoon destination list!

The Avaton is located near the high point of the caldera rim, with an infinity pool looking as if you were on the edge of the volcano's rim. There is a cobblestone path separating the hotel from the cliff, a path that brings great people-watching but without invading your own privacy and seclusion. The path leads north to Oia and south to Fira, taking you past every beautiful home and church in the area by foot. One day, Laura arranged a rental car for us to tour the rest of Santorini, where we went from Red Beach to Ammoudi Bay. At the end of the day, we simply returned the keys to Laura. So easy, so simple!

Thank you Laura!

Room Tip: All 9 rooms/suites have the same view to the sunsets, you will not be disappointed with any of them!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizardHntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews