We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HONEYMOON HEAVEN!!”
Review of Avaton Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avaton Resort
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My wife and i spent 5 magical nights at Avaton Resort & Spa for part of our honeymoon. The moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed. The staff did everything to make our stay wonderful. The service was great and impeccable and made you feel like royals.
The room was clean, spacious, luxurious and very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and tasty and brought to you every morning at the time you request. Also the meals were tasty and nice and brought to you or you could go to the dining area which was either in the cave pool turn dining area or sit outside and eat and enjoy the beautiful sunset.
Avaton is the best place for either honeymoons, anniversaries, romantic getaway or if you want to unwind relax and get away from things to enjoy the view, sun, peace and tranquility.
I cant speak enough of this place. Its heaven on earth. But i will finish off by talking about the view and the sunset that looks over the Caldera and the Aegean. The view and sunset is breathtaking and beautiful and oozes romance and i shared it with the most beautiful woman in the world, my wife.
We thank Avaton and the staff especially Laura and Marcos for a wonderful and unforgettable stay.
We will definately be coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kastoriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

We were not guests at the hotel, so I think it was somewhat unusual that we got to eat the resort's restaurant. However, it wasn’t a busy night so the staff graciously let us crash in.

Our sunset meal was one of those meals I will remember the rest of my life. The view of the sunset over Oia was stunning. The food was gourmet and creative. The wine list was local and intriguing. And the service was absolutely fantastic. Christophe, our waiter, was a young man with a lot of personality. He seemed to genuinely care about us and paid attention, noticing little things. Like the fact that I had neglected to bring a sweater so he appeared with a blanket to wrap around my shoulders. Now that’s service!

What a meal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ToniPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The hotel really matches the expectation created by its web photos. Has one of the best views in Santorini; with great sunset views (if you are there, please do not waste time going to Oia for sunsets). Also a great view to caldera, Oia and he rest of e island. The hostess/administrator (Laura) is very keen, and the people there is fantastic (cheers to Kostas and for the lady in charge of the SPA). I really recommend it.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sesog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Right at the end of the village, a bit of a walk, but worth it. Hotel was nearly empty and we were upgraded to top suite - Thank you ! The staff are exceptional, nothing was too much and they go the extra mile to ensure you have a great time. The food was very good, breakfast on your own terrace, good light lunches by the pool. Great views of Caldera and Ia.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed at the Avaton resort on our honeymoon in October 2011 (regret the late review!) and booked the honeymoon suite. Wow – what an amazing resort. We were picked up at the airport by a pre arranged car and it look about 15 minutes to drive up the mountain to the Avaton resort. The resort is located in Imerovigli which is walkable but a good distance away from the hustle and bustle of the main town. I feel a better location than Oia, which is located on the far corner of the Island and you would probably need a taxi/car to get around to anywhere beyond the Oia area.

Laura, the manager was just amazing and welcomed us warmly. We actually arrived at Avaton two days early due to strikes in Athens and Laura was very accommodating in being flexible with our booking dates. She assisted us with revising our return flight bookings and showed us to our amazing room. We were treated with beautiful flowers in the room and some lovely local wine and fruits. The honeymoon suite had two balconies, one with the most private outlook with a private spa, and the other that looked onto the resort pool (we watched sunset each night from this balcony – divine).

Marcos who was managing food and beverage service and also helped us with our luggage was an absolute asset to the resort. He was so professional, friendly, efficient and just a delight to meet. Our experience would not have been the same if it were not for him and Laura. Now, to the food. Just beyond amazing. We had a number of ‘room service’ dinners, however we were so surprised and amazed that the meal was set up like a restaurant, with a table, chairs and table setting all in your room (or on your balcony) served in courses! Lots of lovely complimentary surprises, like Vinsanto wine as a dessert beverage and bread and dips for starters. We also ventured to the cave restaurant for a meal and the atmosphere was just beautiful. Breakfast could be taken in room or on the patio and you could make your selection from a number of amazing options, choosing as much as you liked from fruit, meats, cheeses, pancakes, eggs, cake and fresh juices/coffee/tea. Oh, and one night we walked to a restaurant in Imerovigli called Anogi, had the most amazing potato salad and souvlaki.

Do not hesitate to book here, rooms were modern, clean and comfortable and the service is personalised and attentive.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NB_86_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Avaton was our last stay on our Turkey, Athen and Greek Island Holiday in June this year.
The staff was amazing. Avaton is located at the end of the road away from the hustle of other Imerovigil Resort. We stayed in the Avaton Suite with a balcony spa which looked out over the Agean Seas and Oia. The day spa was fantastic. the room service was remarkable. the chef was fabulous. Breakfast was service to your balcony very morning. During our stay I had my birthday, that morning breakfast was serviced with champagne by the waiter singing Happy Birthday too you. On arrival Flowers were placed on our bed. Red wine and fruit were also a surprise gift. Avaton staff goes beyond to make your stay special. Thank you for the memories.

Room Tip: Avaton suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dellobears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I did not stay here but will definitely do so next time. Gorgeous resort with immensely helpful and attentive staff. I went to the spa for a deep tissue massage and a pedicure. The spa was splendid. You feel relaxed from the moment you walk in. It's the small touches that help one relax - it was warm, you could hear water trickling into their spa pool, you could smell peppermint essence oil. I was met with a lovely massage therapist who knew exactly what she was doing. She was able to soothe the problem areas on my back (which is an ongoing issue for me). Every little thing was taken care of - the oil used was warm, the room was at optimum temperature, lighting was perfect, and the level of care provided really makes you feel special. I wish I had booked to stay here. Quality and comfort come first, and I really appreciated that. Next time, this place will be a definite stay

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Transient-friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.5 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Porto Fira Suites
Porto Fira Suites
#7 of 81 in Fira
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#14 of 51 in Imerovigli
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#26 of 51 in Imerovigli
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#5 of 51 in Imerovigli
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avaton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avaton Resort

Address: P.O. Box 97, Imerovigli, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#11 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £259 - £481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avaton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avaton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avaton Hotel Imerovigli
Avaton Resort Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing