We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property, service, location, view but room smelled!”
Review of Avianto Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avianto Suites
Ranked #7 of 28 Imerovigli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bombay, India
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely property, service, location, view but room smelled!”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We checked in to find out that we had been upgraded from the base room (fabulos suite) to the highest one (Marvelous Suite). The hotel seemed to be full so this was strange. When we walked in, we figured out that it might have been because the other guests may have objected to the awful stink that was emanating from the room. Thankfully, it improved a bit after switching the A/C on but didn't ever go away. This was the only (but biggest) drawback.
Other than that the service was great-although the property only has a public jacuzzi, they have a tie-up to swim at another hotel's pool closeby. The room was gorgeous as was the bathroom. From our bed, we could see the caldera view (breathtaking) because of the way it was designed. The balcony was a nice size and semi private since it was at the end, but if the nearby suite people were sitting outside, then there wouldn't be any privacy.
Breakfast was brilliant and fresh (fresh orange juice, fresh olive tapenade, fresh santorini tomato pesto) and huge! A complete feast!
The location was really good too-not many stairs to climb or descend-only a couple. And it's right near many great restaurants like La Maison and others. They give free wi-fi (which only came in parts of our room).
We realised that in season time, Imerovigli is the perfect location to live in because the views are as beautiful as Oia but its quieter than Fira and Oia--and close enough to both: Fira is 5 minutes by car and Oia is about 15 minutes by car. Oia was too noisy and overcrowded in August, and got a little suffocating for my husband and me.
Parking is available in the square near the hotel (just up the couple of stairs) but it tends to get full easily. We rented a car from Alta rentals (who is also on that square), and the man there would allow us to park in front of his garage, or in some no parking spots and he'd change the car around every morning to a proper spot (he had duplicate keys)-so this turned out to be quite convenient.
All in all, lovely place-but just don't stay in a room that stinks.

Room Tip: Marvelous Suite stinks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    25
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
205
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We have never been to Santorini before and could not have selected a better place to stay than this place. It is perfectly located right on the cliff with a stunning view over the Caldera. The bus stop is conveniantly located and there are some really good restaurants close by.
The view is extraordinary and the rooms and service is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0tt0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed here for three nights traveling with another couple wo stayed somewhere close by. Hotel arranged transfer from port for a cheaper cost then on your own. Hotel is only steps from drop off point (which looks to be a rarity in santorini with its crazy paths and stairs) and we were greated at the stop. First impression was what an amazing view, incredible. The room was very nice, decent size and nicely arranged. The bathroom was great but a little dark, it is a cave house after all. Thebalcony was excellent, the room next door did have to walk across it to get to their room, but we never noticed them evn though they were the couple who got married on the roof while we ere there. Overall it was very quiet (again in a cave) and peaceful. Breakfast was wonderful on our patio in the morning, however it is 22 euros extra for two per day (otherwise breakfast may be hard to come by locally, there is a fridge in room though if you want to go to the market very close by). The location is right on the awsime path to Fira, only 15 min wal away, with breathtaking views, shops and restaurants on the way. Same path can lead you all the way to Oia (5 miles away) wich gets rugged but is an amazing walk, walking there is vastly downhill with some climbs, wlking back is pretty much uphill, very uphil at times, and very hot so AM is recommended. The is a good bus system close by, but is very packed. Avianto will nicely arange discounted taxi fares anywhre on the island. The owner Margarita, is amazing, she stops by every morning to chek in and give advice, very nice and very helpful, always with a smile. We had a great experience at Avian to, the only downside I can think to relay is the beds are very hard. Overall an amazing experience and I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkolVikings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed at the marvellous Avianto which is perfectly situated to enjoy the magnificent views of the caldera,the rooms are perfect and cleaned to a very high standard every day. Breakfast which is excellent is served every morning on the balcony over looking the caldera which is amazing,and then there is Margarita who goes out of her way to make your stay even more enjoyable, she recommends places to visit and cares for your wellbeing. in fact all the staff are very friendly and create a real family feel to the place. Would definetly go back again one day

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The service was fantastic, the two ladies who one the hotel are very sweet and give you more of a friendly family feeling and at the same time discreet and professional.
The room was very nice and and clean, equipped properly as most 5 star hotels are. It was very quite, and I only saw couples staying in this hotel.

The area was WITH OUT A DOUBT the most beautiful area on the island and I consider myself lucky to have found a place to stay there.
I really can't think of anything negative to say to be honest, the experience was truly unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyspjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviso, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Very good hotel with incredible view from the terrace on the Caldera. Good breakfast with eggs, peppers, tomatoes, feta cheese, various pie, bread, coffee, fresh fruits and good greek yoghurt.
There are 2 Sunbeds and 1 umbrella in the private terrace to enjoy the great Caldera experience. Sun towel is free to use.
Margarita is very nice and disposable to advise us in best restaurants and best places to visit.

We will come again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trajanshaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We went to Santorini on june 2011 and we want to chose a location with wonderful view and perfect service: we found all of this in AVIANTO SUITES.
We choose it first of all because of the breathtaking view, than we saw the rooms! WOW!
Margarita the hotel manager is a delicious person, she has always a smile and she try to help you in everything.
The Place is AMAZING, we spent there 3 days, rooms are perfect and we can see the "Vulcano island" from our bed every morning and eat the breakfast looking at the best caldera view in Santorini ever; beautiful jacuzzi into a cave.
Was like a dream! and we want to come back as soon as possible!so romantic!
very recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiovaVivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#17 of 51 in Imerovigli
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#21 of 51 in Imerovigli
427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#14 of 51 in Imerovigli
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avianto Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avianto Suites

Property: Avianto Suites
Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avianto Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart and modern in design, yet reassuringly unpretentious in attitude Avianto Suites offer a relaxed retreat with heart-stopping magnificent views of the endless Aegean Blue, the volcano, Thirassia and the caldera combined. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Avianto Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avianto Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing