We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Avianto Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avianto Suites
Ranked #4 of 29 Imerovigli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We will be back for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Avianto Suites combines the Santorini chic with the best of Greek hospitality. One could not wish for a better view over breakfast, it is truly inspiring and only bettered in the evening while enjoying a glass of wine as the sun sets. Staying at Avianto is like being a house guest, nothing is too much trouble for Margarita and her team.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    23
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
197
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Even although it was our 4th stay at Avianto its views are still spellbounding. Its incredible that each year that Margurita manages to find further improvements with jacuzzi's, new luxury beds etc and is looking to add more features for next year. Her and her family's customer care and kindness are outstanding and this year after my wife was taken ill and had to be flown to Athens we have an even greater sample of this for which we will be eternally grateful.We love the choice of breakfasts and the time you take them, the perfectly positioned sunloungers and the shady porch when the sun gets too hot and the fully loaded fridge and excellent showers when you want to cool down further and the fact that however hot the suite is lovely and cool.I also wish i could have smuggled back her cleaner as when she's finished the place is sterile!
It is just a pity that we cant add more stars to our rating.

Room Tip: Have stayed in 3 rooms and love them all from the smallest suite which has everything you need to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

The best place to stay in Santorini!!!!! Clean spacious quiet with a unique view and a wonderful hostess Margarita! We stayed at the amazing Marvelous suite, big room with PRIVATE balcony and jacuzzi. Breakfast was exceptional with fresh squized juice and may we say that Margarita went all the way to find apricot marmalade without us even insisting. The best surprise was that she upgraded us from Fabulous to Marvelous suite!(a more expensive one). Overall we had a fantastic time in Avianto, we most definatelly suggest it to friends and consider it to be the best in place to be, combining view, perfect service, cleaness, great breakfast and comfort!!Christos and Sylvia

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catzachr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Breath taking view, customized breakfast taken on your private terrace with many choices, family service, excellent beds with new matresses, this is a place where you can rest while being in the heart of Imerovigli, walking distance to Firostefani with nice restaurants on the way.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicoFR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

What a wonderful, marvellous place! The view and the service are beyond compare. My wife and I stayed here for 11 nights to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, and it was just so great!

As has been said so many times already the views and the service are sublime. Sitting on the balcony eating our pre-ordered breakfast, drinking champagne, and looking down on the sea (the Caldera) and the boats was incomparable. The bed was large and comfortable and the air conditioning worked well.

Walks around the village and into Fira were straightforward, and we were able to catch buses to locations all across the island cheaply and easily. There are plenty of car and quad bike hire facilities, bars, restaurants and supermarkets within easy walking distance.

At the time of writing this, 75 people have rated the Avianto Suite as a five, and 5 as a four. This review gives it another five, so you can see a theme developing here.

Reading some of the less positive comments I can understand some of the sentiments, but I don’t agree with them. Everyone has different hopes and expectations, which cannot always be met through no fault of anyone. This is a superb three star bed and breakfast, not a five star luxury hotel. The island of Santorini is incredibly expensive compared to some places, but remember the business people there are being squeezed hard by the Greek government as part of their austerity policy and are not making massive profits at our expense. Also the bedrooms are a variety of sizes, but they are not ”massive” suites. As a consequence if you come for a few days there is plenty of storage space. If you come for two weeks you may find that you might have to keep some of your stuff in your suitcase. Please bear this in mind when booking your holiday.

Two final points – there is no swimming pool and the balconies are semi-private. Occasional tourists might come to get a photo but this is not common and might only happen once every two or three days (in my experience). We spent every second day on the balcony with suntan lotion, a beer and a book, it was just so peaceful and relaxing. Even when other people were there we managed to maintain our own space. The rest of the time was spent exploring.

I won’t single out any of the restaurants – we visited most of them and the food was good in all of them (although there is one that we didn’t try – you’ll understand why if you see it). Fira was crowded and overpriced but it had a bit of a buzz. Oia similarly but a very different atmosphere.

The two sisters and a son/nephew did an excellent job of making us feel welcome. Margarita gets special mention throughout many of these reviews for good reason. Maria and her son were also friendly; and we wish him all the best as he continues with his studies at University in Athens. Margarita’s husband also transported us and our luggage in his car on our last day there, how many hotels can you say that for?

Finally, cleanliness – you can literally eat you food off the floor! The darling cleaning lady (sorry I couldn’t remember your name but you were so good – if you ever read this) works harder than any other cleaning lady I know, and takes great pride in her work. If I could award a six for cleanliness I would!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank spc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

I’m sorry to note, that unfortunately my husband and I did not have a good experience at the Avianto Suites. We had enjoyed many incredible properties recommended by Tripadvisor throughout Greece (two others in Santorini) and found in comparison the Avianto Suites didn’t offer us good value for our dollar. We were very disappointed the pictures on the internet didn’t reflect the location of our room, so chose to leave the property after only one night. It was then we came to realize, we had not been given the suite we’d booked and paid for several months prior. Perhaps this played a role in our poor experience.

When we stepped off the van in Imerovigli, we were very warmly greeted by one of the sisters working that evening. When she showed us to our room, we were very disappointed that after much research, it wasn’t at all what we were expecting or had asked for. Very quickly the extremely small room became congested, as there was nowhere except the floor to lay our suitcases. We soon discovered some other small, but irritating issues: no coffee, no mugs, used shampoo/cream bottles (seals were broken), used tea light candles and a shower that drained ever so slowly. All-in-all minor problems, but considering we were being charged more here, than any of the other wonderful properties we had stayed thus far, this was unexpected and not what we’d become accustomed to.

One of the reasons we love Greece, is the hosts do an incredible job of going above beyond, giving lots of attention to detail and providing unexpected “special touches” to ensure guests have a very unique and special experience. This was the first property we encountered, where this did not happen. In the morning while giving “gentle” feedback to the other sister, we felt it was not well received, leaving us both feeling very uncomfortable.

Unfortunately, our disappointment didn’t end in our room. Outside our door/window, there was a very small area where two sun beds were pushed up against one another, alongside an air-conditioning unit. Unlike the suites beside us with extended balconies offering generous sun bathing areas, spacious eating nooks and unobstructed views; our tiny patio was further back and behind the walk-way to these suites. Not only did they have to pass in front of our small table and squashed together sun beds to get to their rooms, but other people would also come here to stand just outside our door/window, to enjoy the view and take pictures. Unless you want to keep the drapes closed in this small room, there is zero privacy in the “Wonderful Suite”.

We were very grateful when our non-refundable deposit was returned the next morning enabling us to change accommodations. Unfortunately, this was not before we had to struggle through a very frosty breakfast that was again, not like the pictures we saw on Trip Advisor. It was quite evident, we were no longer welcome.

Until there’s some adjustment in the pricing (especially in the “Wonderful” suite) to reflect the small space and lack of “extras” offered, we do not feel the Avianto Suites is on par with other properties in Santorini. While it does offer a tidy place to lay your head and like so many others that amazing Santorini view; value for dollar, it just didn’t compare.

Room Tip: The Wonderful Suite is the least desirable of them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed at Avianto for our wedding in September 2012 and we found it an overall great experience. It felt like we were Margarita's guests rather than customers - not something you get in many hotels. A small issue with the room was resolved immediately and Margarita would always make sure there are no problems with anything. On the wedding day she even went out of her way to help with the bride's preparations and to decorate the room, which was very nice of her.

The room was always spotless and the homemade breakfast made by Margarita herself was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stavz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.3 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#26 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#11 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avianto Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avianto Suites

Property: Avianto Suites
Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avianto Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart and modern in design, yet reassuringly unpretentious in attitude Avianto Suites offer a relaxed retreat with heart-stopping magnificent views of the endless Aegean Blue, the volcano, Thirassia and the caldera combined. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avianto Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avianto Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing