We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very, very good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison

La Maison
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very, very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

More at the fine dining end of the scale, La Maison was a bit 'different' to what we were expecting. The food and service were both excellent. Nick, our waiter (head waiter I think) added a bit of flare with his larger than life personality. The location is stunning, set right out on an outcrop of rock with amazing views on 3 sides. Unfortunately the night we were there it was extremely windy and the screens had to be lowered.

Probably edged out of first place spot on our 'best restaurant of Imerovigli' list by Kapari Wine Restaurant, but that is probably down to ambience rather than food. Certainly well worth a visit though.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SqueakyKlean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,099
    293
    86
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fussy service, food nicely presented but not fantastic - little atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Everyone told us we "had to" go to this restaurant They try to provide fine dining but, although the food is nicely presented we found it under-seasoned and not as delicious as we expected. The service was a bit fussy and the restaurant lacked atmosphere. Give this a miss and go to more authentic Greek restaurants. A good view if you get a table by the window.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Ate here last night. Hotel booked table for us so we had the caldera view.
We had great mussels in lemon grass and chilli, then truffle and beef pappardelle. 2 half litres of house wine for €70, seemed excellent value to me.

Helpful?
Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
210 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very good Modern Greek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Interestingly we were not generally blown away by the food on santorini other than fresh fish and tomatoes (grown in volcanic soil) and the fabulous santorini wine. la maid on served as a welcome respite from Greek food with a modern flair. Everything was good, the location was great (particularly at sunset), the service was excellent and they had a nice wine list.

Helpful?
Thank Voldar15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great choice for our last night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We visited this restaurant on our last night in Santorini, having already dined at three other fine establishments. This one had a lot to live up to! It did not disappoint. Our table was on the Oia side so we were able to watch the sun turn everything golden as it disappeared. The downside is that this was cold. The restaurant hands out warm wraps for the ladies and they were needed. However, the helpful waiter anticipated the temperature and lowered the see-through blinds. Much better!

We were offered beautifully presented appetizers washed down with a shot of cold soup. Yum. The waiter was very helpful in suggesting food and wine that we would like. He persuaded me to go with the pasta and it was sublime. Husband pronounced his moussaka the best he had had. Everything was beautifully presented in addition to being very tasty. It is disappointing to read that several reviewers were unhappy with the service. It could be that things changed as the season progressed, but in May it was clear that much pride was taken in ensuring that their customers had an enjoyable dining experience. Yes, it is a little pricey, but good food often is. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a memorable evening of dining.

Tip : rug up warmly. And don't be afraid to ask for the blinds to be pulled down if you are feeling chilly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scottie2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Maison also viewed

 

Been to La Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing