We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kapari Natural Resort
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 days in August during our island hopping. The hotel is located in Imerovigli which I thought was the best locale for Santorini. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the area with the ability to walk (45min) to Fira (busy and a little smelly due to the donkeys) as well as a quick cab ride to Oia (don't walk, it's too far).

The hotel staff picked us up from the port and airport (one of our friends came in separately). They even greeted us with bottles of cold water. We were upgraded for the first night which was a great room and then we were transferred to our usual smaller room. Both rooms had a cold jacuzzi (great after a long hot walk in the Santorini sun). The pool was small and sometimes too warm but the poolside service was nice (they came running if we even tried to touch the umbrellas on our own and even brought out cold wet towels for our faces).

I think the hotel restaurant was delicious. They had great breakfasts and we had a late evening meal one night and it was definitely one of the better meals I had in Santorini. But I think the best thing about the restaurant was the staff was so friendly and accomodating. (Also, the cheese pie thing was SO DELICIOUS!).

My only gripe with the hotel is that the air conditioning frequently broke in our room. If the hotel had fans in the rooms, it would have helped the situation but 2 nights in a row I woke up sweating due to the broken A/C.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skimmilk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aphilgr1, Owner at Kapari Natural Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Just a note from the owner concerning our A/C system:

Kapari Natural Resort is equiped with an air conditioning system that can be described as state of the art. It is built around a geothermal heat pump that is extremely ECO friendly and conserves a lot of energy. In the rooms, interactive touch panels are used for controling the environment as well as the lighting system, while the fan coil units are enclosed in hand crafted cabinets to match the elegant style of the rooms.

Unfortunatelly, at the time of the reviewer's stay, we faced a malfunction that caused the system to perform poorly for around 48 hours, until a replacement part arrived from Athens.

We wish to express our appologies for the inconvenience caused to him or any other guest during this time. We will try our best to ensure that from now on similar circumstances are dealt in no time.

Kind regards,

Philip Adamidis
Owner of Kapari Natural Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    25
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
347
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

The Kapari is amazingly situated in Imerovigli where the view is spectacular and it is off the beaten path. This keeps it out of the hubbub of Fira or Oia, though at the cost of getting yourself to those locations.

Fira is a good 40 minute walk along a spectacular though rather sunny path. Oia, I would not recommend walking to, as it's the better part of 2 hours and sharing part of the route with the cars and crazy traffic.

The architecture and rooms are intriguing and lovely. The downside of the rooms is they tend to be a little damp and warm due to the indoor jacuzzis and lack of ventilation. Also, their AC system was tempramental during our visit and had minor issues.

The swimming pool is not very large, but few are it seems on Santorini. It's kept clean and tidy, and they come by and provide cold towels during the hot afternoon. It is a little cozy around the pool as guests must navigate past to get to some rooms.

The restaurant and included breakfast were great. The food was very good for being a hotel restaurant. The service was quite excellent as well. That along with the view made for a wonderful stay.

Overall I would say the Kapari is an great hotel, with some room for improved polish that would make it stellar.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahslian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed only for one night but wished it could have been more! We got upgraded upon arrival very generously and that contributed to an awesome day there. The suite was fantastic and the views could not be beat. the staff and food were also exceptional and we cant wait to come back again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davethorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I stayed in Kapari for four nights with my new wife on honeymoon.

The welcome was excellent - we had arrived well before check-in time. Our bags were taken and were given a complementary first breakfast. Once we had been off for a brief walk (use the volcano-side footpath: don't try walking along the main road!), we returned to be settled into an upgraded room, which was beautiful. 

The hotel is situated, like most others in Santorini, on the steep volcano-side of the caldera looking east. The hotel is in Imerovigli and about 25 minutes scenic walk from the main town Fira. It was fine to have dinner in Fira and then wonder back along the footpath. There are lots of steps and narrow pathways linking the various parts of the hotel and our room was about fifty yards from the main complex in the 'private residence'. It is not suitable for anyone very elderly or disabled.  

The view from the whole hotel was stunning and only minimally overlooked (a rarity in Santorini). The general decoration is very classy with smoothly-plastered, slightly off-white walls and subtle lighting. Everything was spotless and our private jacuzzi was a perfect way to settle down and watch the sunset. Little touches like a bottle of local white wine and a basket of fruit on our first night were nice, the bed was big and comfortable, the entertainment system had more functions than we could possibly use (Wi-fi worked well) and the shower was large with good water pressure and lots of warm water. Only concern about the room: very little hanging space!

Food-wise the breakfasts were excellent. There was lovely fresh bread each morning, very tasty eggs made to order, lots of fruit and cereal and a huge selection of pies, quiches, cakes and other things to keep you occupied - we generally didn't need lunch. We ate dinner once in the hotel and were given a complementary heart-shaped honeymoon cake, which was lovely. We did feel that dinner let the hotel down slightly - it is expensive and a little unexciting when compared to a lot of the places downtown. The view from the terrace is, however, excellent. 

Staff in the hotel spoke faultless English were generally very efficient and friendly. 

Overall, accepting that it is expensive, this is an excellent place to stay in Santorini. Despite the expense, it appears to give good value when compared to its competitors locally. 

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwja37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We spent three nights on the magical island of Santorini, and chose to stay in Kapari - it was one of the more reasonably priced caldera view hotels. It was absolutely wonderful.

It's situated in Imerovigli, a beautiful 20 min walk from the main town of Fira, so we enjoyed the quiet and the wonderful caldera views. It was easy walking into town on a balmy summer evening, and the taxi ride back was only 3 euros.

The staff are very attentive and helpful.

The room was fantastic - we stayed in the Vanilla room with jacuzzi; it was very big, very clean, more towels than you can possibly ever need, great entertainment system, programmable room lights, free high speed wireless internet, huge bathroom, big jacuzzi. The room would be tidied up in the midmorning and the mid afternoon.

The breakfast was fantastic - it was a great start to the day to sit on the terrace overlooking the whole of the caldera with an excellent continental breakfast.

The hotel pool is quite small, but the view from it is stunning - we preferred to hire a car and drive to the innumerable beaches for swimming.

There's free for all parking at the top of Imerovigli - plenty of spaces, we never had any trouble finding any.

Thoroughly recommended hotel.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank saltymalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed at Kapari for four nights during our honeymoon. It was absolutely perfect. The staff was attentive and kind; they were willing to do anything to make our stay perfect. Our suite was amazing; brand new with a perfect caldera view. I would recommend Kapari to anyone looking for a beautiful, boutique hotel in Santorini.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We did not stay in this hotel, althought we have booked it. This was becuase we were hit by the stike in Athens in between 28-29th June 2011, so we couldn't have travel into Santorini from Athens.

The only reason I am writing this review is to say the excellent communication response and service given by the hotel. The person who answered my phone at the reception desk from Kapari (Mr Costa), was very helpful and managed to give us a very quick response.

They agreed on a full refund for all three rooms that we have booked, in which I thought they were very thoughtful and considerate of the situation.

Anyway would definitely go back on our next vacation to Santorini.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeymlai2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
1.6 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#5 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.2 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#11 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapari Natural Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapari Natural Resort

Property: Kapari Natural Resort
Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal mix’n’match: The distinctive Cycladic tradition meets minimalism! Located in the gorgeous village of Imerovigli, boasting a majestic view of the caldera, KAPARI Natural Resort is an exclusive sanctuary that invites you to experience the most relaxing and enjoyable vacation of your life. A 300 year old, recently restored, complex of traditional dwellings and houses, typical of the islands unique architecture, welcomes you with state-of-the-art personal services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kapari Natural Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapari Natural Hotel Imerovigli
Kapari Natural Resort Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing