We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service”
Review of Gold Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gold Suites
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2013

In the last of our 5 days here now sitting by pool writing this, pool area great and very quiet, first time we've not had whole area to ourselves today, rooms are lovely. Staff are incredible, helped me sort out flowers for my wife on our first anniversary with little fuss, will always cater to any request, is only 5 of them I think so you get to know them all which is nice, food nice, got room service the first night as was tired and food was really good, breakfast included was also excellent, couldn't ask for more really, shower great, sofa great, our balcony could have had more access to sun but not an issue, a great stay at what was excellent value. To note travel to Fira is walkable in about 25 mins to centre, but taxi advised as is only €5-7. Considering walk to Oia which is 90mins or so. Also to note bus service is good enough, extremely busy when we used it but did the job. Overall I'd recommend Gold Suites.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank isspaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

After 5 nights in our hotel in Fira we had the chance to stay 2 more nights on Santorini at Gold Suites in Imerovigla. The hotel is high on the mountain overlooking Skarros Rock with a great view on the caldera, the volcano island, Oia and Thirassia. Our room (number 2) was very spacious and luxurious with a large bathroom (no bath, but a huge walk-in shower), separate living room and bedroom. The room has a huge balcony with two sunbeds, a table and chair where breakfast is served, and - last but not least - a jacuzzi. From there one can truly enjoy a "millionaire feeling" with a glass of Santorini wine looking at the famous sunsets. A few stories down there is a small heated pool with a bar and terrace, where drinks and meals can also be served.

Manager Peggy and the rest of the staff at the hotel is doing everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. You certainly have to try hard to find some point of criticism on this fantastic hotel.

There are some advantages on staying in Imerovigli, which is a small village about a 25 minute walk north from Fira. Fira is really the main town on the Island, which lots of restaurants, hotels and shops. It also has the majority of the daily visitors from cruise ships, which make it very international, but sometimes also rather hectic. Oia is definitely the most beautiful town on the island, but it is on the far north point of the island, making access to the beaches at Perissa, Kamari and Akrotiri (red beach!) in the south more difficult. In the evening Oia is bustling with tourists, who all want to enjoy the sunset from the old castle that is more crowded that Christmas sales at Harrods.

If you are looking for a quiet spot on the island, with a central location towards the other towns, at walking distance from Fira, Imerovigli is an excellent choice. And without doubt, Gold Suites is among the best places to stay there!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Albert-Ludmilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The hotel is at the village of Imerovigli, in my opinion the best place to stay (Oia is too far from every beach, and Fira is very crowded). At a high point, with a wonderful Caldera view and best of all in a few meters from the street so you wont need to go up or down with your luggage.
All the staff are very simpatic and willing to help you, Peg, Lidsa and the boy (sorry, forgot your name). They will book tours and explain everything you need. I bought ferry tickets on the internet and had to get it at a travel agencies and Peg even offered herself to do it for me!
They served a welcome gift, a bottle of wine and fresh fruits, one day later red egg and bread (Greek Easter).
The pool could be better. the vinyl is unglued at a lot of points. And its not a infinity edge pool.
There is a pool bar sunbeds with towels and some tables (i think that is where they also serve dinner as there is no restaurant).

We got a Superior Suite with outdoor jacuzzi, room number 3 right next to the reception (meaning no stairs at all!).
Room has a small living with a sofa and tv. Was cleaned twice a day and every second time they left mp3 music on (nice!). Veranda with heated jacuzzi.
Breakfast is served at your room (starts at 8h, could be earlier), with eggs, omelets, breads, croissants, fresh juice, very good yogurt and more.

WiFi internet was very slow.
There is no parking area, but I don't think any hotel in Santorini will have that (at least the ones with Caldera views).

Lovely stay and I will be in there if ever go back to Santorini.

Room Tip: If you care for privacy the best rooms are at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Compare to Fira, Imerovigli is situated higher above and offers a great view of the caldera and the Santorini island. Generally speaking, Imerovigli also has the newer hotels compared to Fira and Oia.

Gold Suite is also at the high point of Imerovigli which gives it a great view. The location of the hotel is quite accessible by car/taxi, which means that you don't have to travel very far to get all your luggage into your room.

The staff at Gold Suites were very nice and helpful. A bottle of wine and a fruit platter was provided as welcome gifts. We got Room 31 (Junior Suite), which is unfortunately at the lowest level, however, the view is still awesome and it is right beside the walkway path that leads to Fira.

Breakfast provided by the hotel is very nice and includes a big selection of pastries, yogurt, eggs, fresh juice, etc. The staff will bring the breakfast right to your terrace so you can enjoy your breakfast with a breathtaking view.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I did not book this place actually. However, I and my wife were fortunate to get one-night stay at this hotel. Thanks to Sophia of Absolute Bliss Suites (which we booked), who arranged our stay at Gold suites for one night as the Honeymoon Suite at Absolute Bliss was not ready. And whoa... totally loved it. One honest confession - I liked Gold Suites more than Absolute Bliss (which was superb as well).

The staff at this hotel were very courteous. And we loved the luxurious and spacious private terrace with a jacuzzi. The suite was very nicely decorated and amenities inside were perfect. We absolutely loved this place, albeit having a short stay here.

Room Tip: Room with outside jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGeek25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed here after extending our holiday. We originally were booked into the Gold Suite's sister hotel the Chromata and they could not give us a room for the 3 extra nights we wanted to stay so they moved us to this hotel and also upgraded us to a Suite!
Fantastic room, excellent service. Location is great, not very central but a 5 min taxi ride to town centre. The only slight down point was the pool area was very small and a few guests complained when they couldn't get sun loungers but it wouldn't put me off staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gem8206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This hotel can brag about the view but facing facts, the view is absolutely breathtaking from most places on the island. Its out of the way location, is actually a plus. Its half way between Fira and Oia but perfect for peace and ease of getting between the two. Gold Suites did upgrade us upon arrival (see www.slh.com) but it wasn't for our entire stay which was a hassle. Now we did stay longer than most, 10 days but found that moving really disrupted our vacation even though they did try to lessen the inconvenience. We also found that we were not the only ones, it seems many people there for more than 2 nights were required to move rooms. Both suites were fine and as outlined in marketing material so no real surprises. The included breakfast was definitely more than was promised being both delicious and substantial. The service for the most part was again what was promised, great (arrival snack was very nice) although sometimes inconsistent were you would not expect it.

That;s were the downsides come in. I had left a message to speak with the Manager, Peggy which was never returned and after questioning, we never got an answer as to why. We did have to ask for pool towels on a daily basis for five days but again delivered with apologies. The bar was literally five steps from the patio of one of our suites. We ordered at the bar and were going to sit down but the barman said he would bring them over to the patio which we thought was lovely. He did but then charged us room service fees! Also after the large breakfasts, both my husband and I just wanted something light for lunch, a piece of fruit or a bun which we got at the local market to enjoy quickly in our room before venturing out again. You would think we were bringing in a nuclear device with disapproving looks and talk. Apparently, there is a no outside food or drink policy at the hotel which includes water. We didn't know and frankly, ignored this after their reactions to our initial ignorance.

On that note, there is a lovely little market very close to the hotel, an amazing bakery in town, and great little tavernas nearby as well. Caution though, only drink the house white wines which are local and quite good, The house or local reds are less palatable.

All that being said, we would return but would not move suites once were there and although the staff was attentive, messages or valid reasons why not should always be returned to paying guests if your are wanting to be of a small luxury hotel caliber and charge the rates that you do.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JTully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#9 of 51 in Imerovigli
498 reviews
0 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#21 of 51 in Imerovigli
467 reviews
0 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#27 of 51 in Imerovigli
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cocoon Suites
Cocoon Suites
#19 of 51 in Imerovigli
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 51 in Imerovigli
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sophia Luxury Suites
Sophia Luxury Suites
#28 of 51 in Imerovigli
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Suites

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece (Formerly Andromeda Gold Suites)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#24 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £273 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the highest point of the Santorini's Caldera cliffs, at Imerovigli, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, Gold Suites is an intimate complex of 14 Luxury Suites, all facing the sea level and lie amidst the stunning volcanic scenery and legendary sunset. Suites have Traditional Cycladic architecture, with modern touch and lavish details, designed to offer the ultimate in comfort and luxury. The swimming pool is set on the rim of the Caldera, offering spectacular views of the Aegean Sea. The pool lounge area is fitted with comfortable loungers allowing peaceful and unique moments of relaxation. The poolside bar provides the most intimate atmosphere where guests can enjoy refreshing cocktails, healthy smoothies, freshly juices and delicious snacks.Whether dining at lunchtime or enjoying the romantic candlelit evening setup, Gold Resto represents the Mediterranean and authentic Santorinian cuisine with delectable dining choices that promises an exceptional dining experience. Respecting our guests' preferences, our Chef can create and prepare custom menus for private in-suite or at the exclusive 4 table seating area that right by the poolside bar overlooking the Caldera and the impressive rock of Skaros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gold Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andromeda Gold Hotel Imerovigli
Gold Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing