We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Greek Con”
Review of Gold Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gold Suites
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Booked months in advance, only to be told on arrival that oh we double booked. This is commonly known as the great Greek con, where they send you off somewhere far inferior to what you expected. Be careful who you book through as these guys won't honour your booking.
A ruined honeymoon. Thanks gold suites.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
20  Thank Ruined M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Gold Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I should start by saying thank you to Madeline and Agnes and the rest of the staff ( the lovely gentleman who brought us breakfast everyday but we never got his name!) for providing us with an excellent service and a lovely clean room at all times ( sorry for the mess, we're lazy on holiday!)

We had such a great time at gold suites. It's the perfect honeymoon hotel. The service was excellent and all the staff went out of their way to help you. Whether it be with taxis, advice, bringing you a mug so you can make tea at midnight (must be a northern thing - thank you Madeline x 2!) they were all just so lovely.

We would definitely stay here again. The room was beautiful. The breakfasts (plural!) were gorgeous. The views were divine.

We have many happy memories of here and the location it's in.

Please can we live here ?
Thank you Gold Suites :) x
Rebecca and Michael

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heyprestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

What a beauty this hotel is, on hill top of Imerovigli, facing the sea, views from here are just breathtaking. Sit by pool or on your balcony, you don't have to go anywhere to enjoy the most beautiful sunset you will see in town. Very clean, very professional staff, makes you feel like part of family. Me and wife were visiting Greece for our one year anniversary and Santorini was our last place to visit in our trip. They made sure that our stay here was enjoyable, and if we had any feedback or request, they were on top of it to make us comfortable. Not to mention, hotel food was outstanding. Usually hotel food is not that great, they beat our expectations. Breakfast was so yummy, we just sat by our balcony, enjoy morning sun,
appreciating the breakfast.

Overall I highly recommend this place for stay. Great service, very very polite staff, good food and million dollar breathtaking views. Thank you Gold Suites for making our stay very memorable, I wish we had more time to stay there. But oh well, we will come back :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chandra_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The rooms were clean and the views were as good or better than any on the island. We rented ATVs for 2 days and that gave us the opurtunity to do a lot of exploring and we kept saying to each other that we did not encounter a single resort that we were envious of.

The staff were always attentive, professional, polite and informative. Their directions and advice was always spot on, they acted as our unofficial tour guide until we got our bearings. My wife and I always felt like the staff genuinely cared about us having a great stay. They always acted in our best interest when assisting with excursions and taxis etc. There were few if any real language barriers on the island, but the staff spoke perfect English. The staff were so kind that we spent many hours just talking about local culture. The staff remained very professional and are very genuine people, you probably know by now that the island of Santorini is second to none in the world, but the staff are the reason why we will come back above all else, they are the type of people I call friends.

Thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Firemoore99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I must be honest with myself: I will probably never stay at the likes of the Gold Suites again. My husband and I spent four glorious days in Santorini as part of our honeymoon a few weeks ago, and we were somehow lucky enough to be upgraded to the Grand Suite, which included a MASSIVE room with our own private veranda and pool, as well as a hot tub in the suite and the most spectacular view of Skaros rock you could possibly ask for. We seriously felt like celebrities (we even caught other guests trying to get a peek into our room as we were coming in from dinner a few nights). Not only is this hotel gorgeous, but the FREE breakfast is out of this world - you can order as much as you want from the a la carte menu, and it's all DELICIOUS. Furthermore, the staff here is the nicest you'll ever come across - everyone went out of their way to help us with our (many) questions, and several people actually worked their magic to get a watch I'd left in my Crete hotel shipped at no cost to me. If we ever have this much $$$ to spend again, I will be balling out again at the Gold Suites.

That being said, two tiny criticisms: 1. The shower is creepy, dingy and dark (but there's a steam head and it's massive, so I guess I shouldn't really complain). 2. The private pool area that was attached to our room had nowhere to sunbathe, and the hotel pool only had a few chairs and umbrellas.

Still, very very minor details and when we look back on our honeymoon 40 years from now, we're definitely going to reminisce about our glory days at the Gold Suites.

Room Tip: Pray for an upgrade
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Visited last week 13-18 May for our anniversary. Found the hotel to be very clean and stylish with an amazing view.

Unfortunately, the guy on reception ruined it for us, anything we asked, the answer was always NO!! - the wifi is terrible can we have a cable, the food is cold, umbrellas cannot be removed, not enough sunbeds do you have more, no guidance when asking where to go...

Maybe we were just unlucky, but feel that we wasted nearly 3k on a holiday that should have been amazing! The hotel is listed as a small luxury hotel of the world, which it is on the face of it, but the customer service needs to match this!

We will definitely return to Santorini as it is a beautiful island, but not to the Gold Suites!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TJP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

If you want the best sunset view in Greece, the nicest staff, and the little things ... stay at Gold Suites.

The view is spectacular. Can't stress enough... Oia is overrated because most hotels face to the left so you would have to turn right to see the sunset fall behind buildings. @ Gold the sunset is directly ahead and drops into the water! Pics attached.

Also the staff is so sweet. They upgraded us to the suite for free and provided us with free wine and fruits as a welcome. We had a couple small issues which they immediately resolved.

The rooms are all great but the jacuzzi or heated pool rooms are great. The breakfast a la carte is fantastic too.

Lastly the hotel is right on the path so you can walk to Fira or Oia.

Definitely stay here. Don't cheap out in Santorini. This is the best hotel here.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.0 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#29 of 51 in Imerovigli
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sophia Luxury Suites
Sophia Luxury Suites
#28 of 51 in Imerovigli
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kasimatis Suites
Kasimatis Suites
#40 of 51 in Imerovigli
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cocoon Suites
Cocoon Suites
#25 of 51 in Imerovigli
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#6 of 51 in Imerovigli
1,437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#22 of 51 in Imerovigli
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Suites

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece (Formerly Andromeda Gold Suites)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#25 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £236 - £613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the highest point of the Santorini's Caldera cliffs, at Imerovigli, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, Gold Suites is an intimate complex of 14 Luxury Suites, all facing the sea level and lie amidst the stunning volcanic scenery and legendary sunset. Suites have Traditional Cycladic architecture, with modern touch and lavish details, designed to offer the ultimate in comfort and luxury. The swimming pool is set on the rim of the Caldera, offering spectacular views of the Aegean Sea. The pool lounge area is fitted with comfortable loungers allowing peaceful and unique moments of relaxation. The poolside bar provides the most intimate atmosphere where guests can enjoy refreshing cocktails, healthy smoothies, freshly juices and delicious snacks.Whether dining at lunchtime or enjoying the romantic candlelit evening setup, Gold Resto represents the Mediterranean and authentic Santorinian cuisine with delectable dining choices that promises an exceptional dining experience. Respecting our guests' preferences, our Chef can create and prepare custom menus for private in-suite or at the exclusive 4 table seating area that right by the poolside bar overlooking the Caldera and the impressive rock of Skaros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gold Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andromeda Gold Hotel Imerovigli
Gold Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing