We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Regina Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regina Mare Hotel
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We recently returned from a 2 week holiday staying at the Regina Mare Hotel.
It was a lovely holiday. The staff were really great, so helpful.
The food was fantastic. The breakfasts were amazing, so much choice. We also had a few meals at the hotel and they were also lovely.
I would definitely stay again at the Regina Mare, the only thing I would do differently is take quite a few coat hangers with me, there was not a lot of storage for clothes for a 2 week stay.
We stayed in a junior suite which was worth upgrading to.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LN1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    73
    23
    9
    8
See reviews for
13
201
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We did a lot of research online before booking. We stayed in the Deluxe Suite, which is on the top floor. At 400 euro a night you expect a lot, and we thought it was worth every penny. The views are to die for. I am confused by some of the reviews on TripAdvisor about rude staff (both managers were exceptionally helpful) and an average breakfast (the buffet was beautiful - all home-cooked breads/cakes and fresh fruit, eggs). One thing I can understand is that many people seem disappointed with the size/location of their room. If you are on the pool level, you aren't getting any privacy and a very small room. For 200-ish euro people have felt ripped off, but my guess is this price compares with similar rooms in a similar location, so this isn't down to Regina Mare alone. So if you can afford the deluxe suite or similar, go for it, if not, do your research carefully and be prepared to not get what you would normally get for a 200-euro room. This is, after all, one of the most sought-after holiday destinations in the world - so it will be relatively expensive, regardless of the size of your room.
We walked around Imerovigli and Firostefani and by comparison were very happy with the location we got at Regina Mare.
Their restaurant recommendations were also faultless - especially Anogi.

Room Tip: Stay above pool level if you can afford it, so you get more privacy. Also, one room with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Although a bit of a trek to get to with many steps and uneven ground, it was set in a good location. Staff were kind enough to pick our bags up and carry them for us to the hotel, then down all the steps to reception.
We arrived early, so sat around the pool til our room was ready.. Which was at 2.30. There were problems with the other two rooms we had organised (being a group trip), and they didn't have room for them in the hotel - even though booking was paid 6 months in advance and a confirmation call was made a day prior to their arrival. Our booking, however, was fine.
Rooms are smaller than what they appear to be in photos. No room to open up a suitacase.
Room was clean though, shower had no lighting, so you couldn't even shave your legs safely in there!
Our private balcony was the same size of our room. It was nice. Views were spectacular.
Although the food takes a while to come from the bar, it is beautiful and well worth the wait.
You need transport to get anywhere, whether it be fira town or oia. We used taxis which were well priced.
Overall a good experience. I would take my chances and go to another hotel next time though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahtribel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here and got married at the hotel, despite booking in advance got the smallest room in the hotel and have to say the manager was not overly helpful, we had to get the wedding planner involved and threaten to leave.much nicer rooms seemed to be reserved for foreign guests not be its.this aside wedding went well but hotel unable to offer any food. Most staff very friendly.location perfect, view stunning.

Room Tip: Rooms get better the high up in the hotel, pool rooms over small and I mean very!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelleb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

General: The view and the quality of the geography is absolutely stunning, with amazing sunset, good size swimming pool, and a few rooms which makes the hotel extremely pleasant and not too crowded.
However, though I came the wrong week (Santorini did not have electricity nor water during a few days following a fire of the main Public Power Unit), services were extremely disappointing for a luxury standard hotel. Information was poorly spread to the guest (with only 2 hours of water/day, if you were at the beach, you just missed your shower of the day... but you still have the public swimming pool of course !), no alternative infrastructure was settled for the 3 first days (for 230e a night, I did not have one candle to light up at night !), no apologize from managers given... It was like camping in a castle. Without any services.
I had one night refunded after going and asking every day for a compensation (diner or other), each time with the manager being extremely rude. I realized after that all guests were not treated the same, with a couple having one night refunded, but also being upgraded in the honeymoon suite, having bottle of champagne and a free diner.

All in all, the view is amazing, the room is clean, but when you pay 230e/night with an average salary of 500e for a greek person, you expect to have an extremely high quality of services. Which was not the case.

Positive: amazing breakfast (though the only time I asked for a special cheese, they told me they will charge it and never did it at the end !), smiling staff and really incline to help you

Negative: bad management, bathrooms need to be renovated in all rooms

Room Tip: Rooms located on the first floor are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This hotel is superb and the staff welcome you like part of the family. I was very lucky to be upgraded to stay in the honeymoon suite which has it's own terrace and sun loungers and a jacuzzi with views across the caldera. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean and there is a decent size pool (not that common in northern Santorini) with plenty of sun loungers. The breakfast was great with a huge selection of Greek and continental food and the location couldn't be better.

I researched hotels quite a bit beforehand and had a look at the others I almost booked and I'm so glad I stayed here as it was by far the best choice and offers extremely good value. The island is truly beautiful and you will not find a better place to stay than here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shoegal_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband booked the Regina Mare and I was totally impressed by his choice! Total rest and relaxation for the week that we were there. The entire staff are so friendly and efficient which made our stay stress free and most enjoyable. The breakfasts are amazing-always home made items on offer and always a brilliant choice. All this looking out over the caldera under bright blue skies.
The hotel is well placed being in the middle of Fira and Oia which are definitely worth visiting.We also went on dream catcher which was a great day out with a really good crew. Try Dimitri restaurant by the port in Oia for delicious seafood.
Thank you all for a wonderful week-I am sure we will be back!

Room Tip: Higher rooms- better view, although in room 6 we could shower looking out over the caldera!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.0 mi away
Kasimatis Suites
Kasimatis Suites
#41 of 51 in Imerovigli
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#28 of 51 in Imerovigli
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#26 of 51 in Imerovigli
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Prekas Apartments
Prekas Apartments
#34 of 51 in Imerovigli
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tholos Resort
Tholos Resort
#32 of 51 in Imerovigli
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kallisto
Hotel Kallisto
#47 of 51 in Imerovigli
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Mare Hotel

Property: Regina Mare Hotel
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Regina Mare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Regina Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Mare Imerovigli
Hotel Regina Mare
Regina Mare Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing