We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back”
Review of Chromata Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chromata Hotel
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2011

My husband and I spent 4 days in this beautiful property (one of a kind), and I wish we could have stayed longer. Santorini is a very unique island in Greece, with so many hotels, and if you are looking for a place where you can get the real feel of the island, with luxurious accommmodation and a modern flare, this is the hotel for you.The location is perfect, since it is far enough from Fira ( the busy village where all the people from the cruise ships spend the day), but only 20 minute walk from shops, restaurants and the famous donkey ride. The arquitecture of the Hotel reflects the unique style of the island, with white washed rooms in "cave" style and sits pefectly on the cliff with spectacular views. Definitely a plus is the manager and the staff, extremely friendly and helpful.
The food at Chromata is another highlight. Starting from the delicious breakfast, served at your private terrace, to the light lunch menu by the pool and dinner at the very intimate restaurant, all with excellent food. We had a fantastic time at Chromata and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxed but still up scale hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monica154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2011

After years of planning and dreaming of our dream vacation we finally found our spot, Chromata Hotel, Imerovigil, Santorini, Greece. My wife was in tears, she was breathless as we walked down the exquisite white stone steps into our room. Each and every minute of our weeks stay was filled with the most outstanding service by the charming and top notch staff. From the elegance to the staff to the dining and of course the view, this absolutely beautiful Hotel is anyones dream vacation. Last but not least, the bed was absolutely comfortable! A.Bahromani

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABahromani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We have been there for 14 nights, so we are a kind of a long stay couple there. The team headed by Roula is very attentive. They are constantly striving to treat you like a vip! The room (No. 4) is a treasure. Clear forms and the colors white and grey let you focus on the essence. The size of the room is fantastic in contrary what you hear very often about the sizes in Santorini. The situation of the hotel could not be better. The view in the amazing caldera is like shown in many picture books. We can recommend the Dinner Experience where you can enjoy a perfect menu at a table on a private terrasse with a romantic view which could not be better!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OliverDross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This boutique hotel is a real gem, marrying stark, white, modern decor with old-world hospitality. Every whim is catered to, every question answered with a smile. Each day started with breakfast served at our private terrace overlooking the Caldera (a wonderful departure from most EU hotels who serve buffets). Getting to Fira is a walk along a footpath that overlooks the sea, which makes it easy to take advantage of the shops and restaurants in the main town, but then you walk back and leave the noise behind. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jlippman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

6 days of great service, wonderful room, no hidden charges(ie..extra for internet, etc.), pool was beautiful, great food.. walked into town every eve for dinner -- definitely would rank this place as one of my top five hotels I have stayed at during my last 10 months of traveling thru Europe... highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderingtraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Chromata is the hotel to stay at if you plan to visit Santorini! The service exceeded our expectations; staff are personable, knowledgeable and mindful of guest details to ensure a memorable stay. Highly recommended and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

My husband and I have recently had a chance to stay at Chromata, and we can definitely say it was one of our best holidays, not just till date but in years to come as well.
The hotel staff was very accessible, with the perfect personal touch.

The hotel has an amazing view, and has a personal veranda/ balcony attached to each room. The best part is the glass door, which allows the sea view from the bed.
The rooms are big and very well done in form of caves, unlike some of the reviews I have read. No there was no 'cat litter' to be seen. Every evening we would come back to find our beds perfectly done, with soft lights turned on and some amazing music to welcome us.

Although, the restaurant is quite small, it serves some amazing food. Also, the cost for a dinner for a two, is similar to any sit in place around. Would highly recommend it food and massage (These were the only things I tried there).

The only thing I think was missing was something to step on in the indoor Jacuzzi, one has to jump to get in and out of that, which is little risky, once you spill some water around.

The Hotel is truly a small luxury hotel, with all the advantages of a luxury hotel with the right amount of personal touch, unlike most of the "big" luxury hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kashika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
3.3 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 51 in Imerovigli
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#14 of 51 in Imerovigli
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chromata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chromata Hotel

Address: Imerovigli Cyclades, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £203 - £552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chromata Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, preserving the Cycladic architecture, Chromata 5 star hotel both astounds and enchants visitors on so many different levels; from the hauntingly beautiful interiors within each of its 22 rooms and suites conveying the heavenly lifestyle of the island, to the uniquely captivating infinity pool from where one can literally breathe in the sheer essence of the volcano. Hidden oasis of calm on its back the Chromata's alfresco Pool Cocktail Lounge and Gourmet Resto offer three types of views: volcanoscape, poolside charm and natural splendor for long languorous afternoons stretching into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chromata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chromata Hotel Imerovigli
Chromata Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing