We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can a hotel be better - We don’t think so”
Review of Chromata Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chromata Hotel
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can a hotel be better – We don’t think so”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We had the absolute pleasure of incorporating this hotel in our itinerary for our overseas holiday in April/May 2011. After being disappointed the previous year with an aborted holiday due to the Iceland Volcano Chromata made everything in the past forgotten.
From the moment we arrived and took the first step down into the cascading hotel we were awe struck with not just the magic of all white with a magnificent blue backdrop of the ocean but the wonderful welcome from the staff.
It just continued, the room was superb – with the most comfortable bed in the world; the staff at the pool, cocktail bar and lounge restaurant were also very friendly and helpful.
Everyone we met, including all the other staff, made us feel extremely special and it just kept getting better.
It was a special occasion for us with a proposal in the unique and private Chromata Resto Restaurant. The Administration staff in conjunction with the Hotel staff had everything prepared and the proposal was made over a fabulous dinner looking out over the Caldera.
We loved every minute of our stay – this place is heaven on earth. By the way the answer was yes.

Room Tip: Our room was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    74
    12
    13
    8
See reviews for
39
447
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Santorini always takes my breath away and getting out of the tansfer van in the little square, walking across the path and down the brilliant white steps of the Chromata to the open-air reception, it happened again!
Pure white rooms cascading down the cliff side to an amazing pool that appears to be hanging off the edge... An awe inspiring view (the best of the caldera) of the volcano, Firostefani and the cruise ships coming in and out of the port. Do bring binoculars. You will spend hours checking out the beautiful sailing boats, the enourmous cruise ships and the little vessels which carry people to Kameni for an excursion. I know we did!
We had a superior suite (21) which was eourmous for Santorini standards in a modern minimalistic design in pure white. I have now decided that I want a bath tub just like the one in the lovely bathroom but have to find somewhere to fit it!
The food served both at midday around the pool and in the evening was exquisite. We happened to be there for a special evening celebrating the volcano exploding and a dinner experience was organized by the hotel with a 25 minute fireworks show on the volcano. What can I say... I have dined in quite a few Michelin-starred restaurants and the dishes served were every bit as good! I wouldn't even bother trying to find a better restaurant on the island.. neither "1800" nor "Ambrosia" even come close... Bravo to the chefs!
There is an indoor and outdoor jacuzzi (we tried both) and a small massage room (didn't try).
All in all I LOVED Chromata - just like I LOVE their sister hotel Kirini in Oia! Consistent quality, excellent finishes, luxury touches, friendly and professional service, delicious food, peace and quiet and a breathtaking view!
Thank you Maria, Christina, Roula and the rest of the team for (yet another) unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GBCHGR64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This is my second visit to this beautiful hotel and with the recent renovation it's even better than the first time! Gorgeous view on the caldera, relaxing atmosphere, excellent service with every person working here always smiling and ready to help you with any thing you may need.
If you plan a hop to santorini this is definitely the place where to stay

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucaDea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Wow = white. A magical moment staying in a volcanic cave with breathtaking views. A truly unforgettable experience every couple should indulge in.

Special thanks to George and Stefan at the pool bar and Lidia on reception. U guys made it that extra special.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FZ94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here for the night as our other accommodation was ovebooked and this was was the sister hotel. What an amazing hotel. The staff are wonderful as are the rooms. Huge and beautiful can only describe the room we stayed in. There was a two room walk in wardrobe; great for not constantly looking at your bags. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom beautifully appointed. You get to choose your breakfast and what time you would like it served. It is brought to your room and you sit and take in the stunning views whilst sipping your coffee and enjoying your breakfast. The pool area is great with double lounges - cruisey music playing just divine! You can recline, have a drink and something to eat. For honeymooners or those just wanting to be away from the hustle and bustle this hotel is ideal. I'll say it again it really is an "amazing" hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Merran97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

If you are going to Santorini, stay away from very touristic Fira and Oia, but stay in the quiet village of Imerovigli at the Chromata Hotel. Absolutely great!! With our 17-year old daughter we stayed for 6 nights in a Superior Suite (room 12). Breakfast on our private terrace with a stunning view on the caldera was an unforgettable experience! Although the pool is small, it's a great place to relax and to enjoy the delicious food and drinks (ask for the tzatziki with pita bread and a fruit cocktail!!!!!!). The service by the charming staff is outstanding. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We returned this week from our honeymoon. We stayed for 7 fabulous nights and could have easily stayed longer. From the moment you arrive at this hotel you are taken away by the stunning views. The welcome and show around is the best we have ever experienced - and we are both very well travelled! The hotel and rooms are built into the cliff and decorated in true Santorini style of white coolness with matching Bose sound docks and iPod playing chilled music, we had a lovely big bath and even a jacuzzi facing the sea! Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and it's as if they never want to say no! Nice touches are the breakfasts, the ice cold towels in the afternoon, and the mobile phone they give you in case you need anything during your stay!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tdt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#16 of 50 in Imerovigli
285 reviews
1.8 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#13 of 50 in Imerovigli
660 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#13 of 56 in Oia
928 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#21 of 50 in Imerovigli
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chromata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chromata Hotel

Property: Chromata Hotel
Address: Imerovigli Cyclades, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chromata Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, preserving the Cycladic architecture, Chromata 5 star hotel both astounds and enchants visitors on so many different levels; from the hauntingly beautiful interiors within each of its 22 rooms and suites conveying the heavenly lifestyle of the island, to the uniquely captivating infinity pool from where one can literally breathe in the sheer essence of the volcano. Hidden oasis of calm on its back the Chromata's alfresco Pool Cocktail Lounge and Gourmet Resto offer three types of views: volcanoscape, poolside charm and natural splendor for long languorous afternoons stretching into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chromata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chromata Hotel Imerovigli
Chromata Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing