We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay - but missed the charm”
Review of Chromata Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Chromata Hotel
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fantastic stay - but missed the charm”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

chromata is a beautiful small boutique hotel and we enjoyed our stay. upon our arrival we were asked if we would like to stay at the hotel next to chromata for three nights (of a total of 11 nights) and then get an upgrade to the honeymoon suite. a great deal as we had booked the smallest room. we took the offer and everything worked out fine.
the hotel has a small pool which is okay given the location. breakfast was good and served on the private balcony, lunch and dinner is also worthwile trying. staff is very nice and professional. we liked it, although missed the charm and found it pretty expensive, but that's Santorini.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophiezurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    74
    12
    13
    8
See reviews for
36
435
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

this hotel deserves what you pay for, they are selective with what they recommend, polite, and you get top quality food, toiletries, spas and views and water!!. complimantry everything.

the mini bar is not a mini one. you get full size everything. a real five stars, other hotels should learn how its done from those guys!

if you cant climb a couple of stairs up a hill, while you have a "black" i dont know who belt, just cancel your whole trip to santorini. may i suggest you wear your belt and go watch TV on your couch instead?

white one white and cheesy "sunset views" suddenly looks charming in this hotel

the people working at chromata are nice, pure nice. they maybe fake it, i dont care!

its simple, if it hurts to pay that much per night then just dont stay there. it did hurt me a little, but its all worth it, the pain went away with the magnificent service, organization of the rooms on the hill, the organization of furniture in the room and the overall quality of service.

i am not a big fan of beaches, nature and sunset, yet chromata is where i will go again if i was forced to go on another "sunset/ lovey dovey" vacation.

please take me back to santorini!

Room Tip: i got the cheapest room and it was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchieKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We booked two rooms at Chromata and when we arrived at the hotel we could not believe what beautiful views there were! I could not stop looking out from our hotel room's window to the stunning ocean and beautiful sun set. The rooms were excellent and we really enjoyed our stay. We could not get to the pool as it was always full which was a bit disappointing but it was not a problem as we went to one of the beaches in the area. Thank you to the hardworking team at Chromata for making our holiday so special - keep it up! We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeraJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Ideal Location, Beautiful sunsets.
Amazing service.
Pool is incredible just overhangs on the edge of the cliff face.
Just a stunning place. Balcony's are large, inside furnishings are minimal & very clean & Pristine.
Room service expensive.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

So, we booked 4 nights at Sun Rocks, and enjoyed 3 at Chromata! Whilst we were really annoyed at the treatment we received from Sun Rocks who were overbooked so moved us to Chromata ultimately our room at Sun Rocks was woeful, and our room at Chromata was BEAUTIFUL!

Our suite was opulent and spacious, beutifully decorated with a lovely bathroom and freestanding bath.

We had a private verranda with two sunloungers on it and a bistro set on which they served breakfast overlooking the Caldera. We sunbathed there every day and nipped down to the pool for a dip when we needed.

There is an infinity pool which is breathtaking, great pool bar, cold jacuzzi etc. The only criticism you could level was that the poolside area is quite cramped with space taken up with sunloungers, but that's a problem with the whole of Santorini and the lack of space (literally) on the cliffs, so you'll find the same everywhere.

Staff were lovely, especially the guys at the pool bar/breakfast etc.

We would go back here over sun rocks without a doubt. Chromata has more rooms but somehow manages to feel quieter and more private than Sun Rocks. I think because it is in Imerovgli and not Firostefani space isn't quite at the premium so the rooms are bigger, balconies are better etc.

At the end of the day, given the pretty astronomical price it has to be excellent, which it was, but I would stop short of saying it blew our minds like some boutique hotels do. That's because this is part of a big group so it lacks the personal touch that we have had elsewhere in the world (Insolito in buzious springs to mind).

All in all, wonderful end to a great trip to Santorini.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeinenPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Have just returned stayed in beautiful Room 8 and had a superb week. Really relaxing experience. Food was fantastic and staff could not do enough to help and deliver to you as a guest. The view is captivating and the pool and rooms make the most of it allowing you to enjoy it at every opportunity. Attended a full moon dinner hosted around the pool with a tasting menu that would rival the best eateries globally. They have a gifted young chef and a staff that are superb. Thanks to them all for caring about creating a wonderful experience - to George, the superb barman and the rest of the team a big thank you. Having spent time walking around and seeing the island there is no where else I would choose to stay and i hope to have the opportunity to return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoney_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed June 2011 , for 4 Nights . We were with large group and landed here after Mykonos. This was the best Hotel we had stayed at in Greece. Not for total luxury but just total bliss , views and intamicy. The Hotel is basically set into the side of a Mountain the views are simply the best I have ever seen. The rooms are basically cut out cave like rooms but with all the luxuries, Ipod ,Plasma , Spa Bath , Walkin robe etc. All have private balcony. There is no restuarant at this hotel so Breakfast was brought to your room and ate on your balcony over looking the views.
Neer by there isnt much but we hired Quad bike from outside for only 16 euros a day and me and my wife explored Santorini by Quad. A break form the Kids it was simply magic. I would love to return one day. Santorini is a great a fantastic greek isle. Great shopping and beaches.

We especially loved the infinity pool at this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWgoldengrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
1.8 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#7 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#7 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chromata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chromata Hotel

Property: Chromata Hotel
Address: Imerovigli Cyclades, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chromata Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, preserving the Cycladic architecture, Chromata 5 star hotel both astounds and enchants visitors on so many different levels; from the hauntingly beautiful interiors within each of its 22 rooms and suites conveying the heavenly lifestyle of the island, to the uniquely captivating infinity pool from where one can literally breathe in the sheer essence of the volcano. Hidden oasis of calm on its back the Chromata's alfresco Pool Cocktail Lounge and Gourmet Resto offer three types of views: volcanoscape, poolside charm and natural splendor for long languorous afternoons stretching into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chromata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chromata Hotel Imerovigli
Chromata Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing