We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chromata Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Pegasus Suites & Spa(Imerovigli)
US$1,278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Santorini Princess(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$414
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Antonio Luxury Hotel(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$883
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iliovasilema Suites(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$533
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$495
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$527
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Astra Suites(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$1,102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,031
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Remezzo Villas(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$626
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$930
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Heliotopos Hotel(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$358
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$2,281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveller rating
553
79
13
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
553
79
13
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolour honeymoonleading hotels of the worldcomplimentary upgradethe cliffthe hotel staffevery morningsister hotelhuge bathroomroom upgradebeautiful hotelsuperior suiteluxury hotelcave stylewalking distance to firabreathtaking viewssenior suite
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 666 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My wife and I and another couple spent 4 nights at Chromata in the last 2 weeks. My expectations were high and Chromata far exceeded them. First the views are spectacular. The rooms are spotless and remained that way the entire 5 days. Additionally, I've never had such an attentive staff at my beckon call. They were friendly and anxious to help. Any request was met within minutes. Breakfast each morning on our own private deck overlooking the Caldera didn't hurt our experience either. Christine, the manager, was exceptional. I can't say enough about the experience at Chromata. It's a short walk to Fira and there are plenty of local restaurants and shops in Imerovigili if you choose. Trust this review. I've stayed in places that are good and some that are great. Chromata is above all of that. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Chromata is everything you would want in a fine luxury hotel. The facility is beautiful and compliments the incredible vista below. Our junior suite was beautiful, well maintained, and white glove clean. The food was excellent, as was the room service. And the bed... It is worth staying here just for the bed. Honest. The location is outstanding making it easy to see all that Santorini
offers.
Where Chromata shines brightest is the staff. They are friendly, helpful, and professional in the finest sense of the term. It was a pleasure to interact with them. If we return to Santorini, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Just spent 6 days at the Chromata Hotel, situated 2kms from Fira. As per previous reviews, I agree the views, hotel, pool, food - everything is terrific in this small, 22 room hotel. Best of all has been the service...the staff have, without exception, been attentive and personable - and quietly efficient. Frankly, this has been the best holiday I have had in over 20 years.
Food is great at the hotel but it's also nice to eat out. Good choice of local restaurants (and a couple of small supermarkets) very close by. Best in our view was the fish restaurant 'Mezzo' - best to book a table at around 8.30 and watch the sun set whilst eating delicious Greek food.
We liked to walk into (the much more touristy) Fira early each morning and meander around the cobbled streets and various shops. I am not as fit as my teenage daughter, so I took the local bus back for a couple of euros. Don't forget to ask the staff about local trips they can book for you. Look through their guest folder for ideas. We booked a sunset cruise on the catamaran for a semi- private tour around the Caldera and swam in the volcanic hot springs before having a delicious BBQ on board. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone coming to Santorini. Only negative? Like many hotels in this part of the world, the Chromata is on the side of a cliff...so there are lots of steps.

Room Tip: Very unusual but every single room in this hotel offers stunning views. All seem to have balconies.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

As the many reviews clearly show - this is a good hotel. The staff are excellent and the food high quality. The hotel is built into the mountainside and has a lot of character. The views are amazing.

Our recommendation if, visiting the Chromata Hotel is not to go for 14 nights as we did. Unfortunately, the rooms cannot cope with a reasonable number of clothes. The "wardrobes" are simply two bars fixed at an angle to the wall with around 8 nodules on each upon which you hang your clothes. Our safe was behind the clothes which resulted in the clothes falling off the bars when we tried to enter the safe. This has not been thought through properly.

There was simply not enough drawer space and no cupboard space at all.
Why does the hotel do so well with trip advisor reviews - the answer is simple, mathematics. Please let me explain.

For the majority of people visiting the hotel, their rooms were upgraded (we know because the hotel tour route passed our room seven or eight times each day and we heard the same dialogue each time), but many of these guests were staying for 3 or 4 nights on each trip. We were not upgraded from our junior suite during the 14 night stay, although the hotel did offer to give us an inferior room for the final 3 nights of our visit. So the management take the view it is important to keep 3 or 4 couples happy by upgrading them rather than the 1 couple who stay for much longer. You cannot blame the approach too much, it is commercial, but the mistake (and short term approach) they have made is we will be taking another holiday in Greece in September, but because of the management's lack of consideration we will not be returning to the Chromata.

Our room was below average compared to the many hotels we have stayed in all over the world. The Junior suites description is a room with a seating area, yes we did have one seat in a small room, but normally hotels of this "anticipated" standard, you would have expected at least a settee to sit on. Because we were staying for 14 nights, the company were well paid for our stay and our expectations after reading the reviews were very high indeed. We were bitterly disappointed with this aspect of our stay and feel it is important for other holiday makers to be aware they too could suffer from, in our opinion, poor management.

There are some amazing, very good quality hotels in Santorini, we know as we visited a number of these on our trip. I will not mention the hotel "Iconics" next door to the Chromata which is very much superior, but don't take our word for it, have a look when you get there.

Is the Chromata Hotel value for money - definitely not.

Room Tip: If you still intend to visit the Chromata Hotel go for room 15!!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Haves777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Chromata is a beautiful hotel. The view of the caldera from every point of the hotel is stunning. We stayed in a junior suite that was cave style - the suite was lovely, spacious and very clean. The food at the hotel is great and the infinity pool is perfect to chill by. We found the service to be exceptional with the staff going above and beyond to help us plan our stay etc. We would stay there again and would definitely recommend to our family and friends!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews