We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect romantic destination.”
Review of Chromata Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chromata Hotel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I was looking for a very special hotel for a 1 week holiday and the Chromata did not disappoint. The location is breath taking and in my option better than Oia. It is a 20 minute walk into Thira or a 20 minutes drive to Oia. The staff at the hotel are first class and could not be more helpful. The trip was extra special as I asked my girlfriend to marry me. The hotel staff helped me make it a very special moment and she said yes! We will definitely return to the Chromata which I think is the best place to stay on Santorini.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony8669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
There are newer reviews for Chromata Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay for our anniversary with Chromata and they very kindly upgraded us to a beautiful honeymoon suite. The views are simply stunning, especially the sunsets and it is an easy walk to explore neighbouring villages. The Staff were exceptional especially breakfast served on your private terrace each morning!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Storeys12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My wife and I and another couple spent 4 nights at Chromata in the last 2 weeks. My expectations were high and Chromata far exceeded them. First the views are spectacular. The rooms are spotless and remained that way the entire 5 days. Additionally, I've never had such an attentive staff at my beckon call. They were friendly and anxious to help. Any request was met within minutes. Breakfast each morning on our own private deck overlooking the Caldera didn't hurt our experience either. Christine, the manager, was exceptional. I can't say enough about the experience at Chromata. It's a short walk to Fira and there are plenty of local restaurants and shops in Imerovigili if you choose. Trust this review. I've stayed in places that are good and some that are great. Chromata is above all of that. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Chromata is everything you would want in a fine luxury hotel. The facility is beautiful and compliments the incredible vista below. Our junior suite was beautiful, well maintained, and white glove clean. The food was excellent, as was the room service. And the bed... It is worth staying here just for the bed. Honest. The location is outstanding making it easy to see all that Santorini
offers.
Where Chromata shines brightest is the staff. They are friendly, helpful, and professional in the finest sense of the term. It was a pleasure to interact with them. If we return to Santorini, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Just spent 6 days at the Chromata Hotel, situated 2kms from Fira. As per previous reviews, I agree the views, hotel, pool, food - everything is terrific in this small, 22 room hotel. Best of all has been the service...the staff have, without exception, been attentive and personable - and quietly efficient. Frankly, this has been the best holiday I have had in over 20 years.
Food is great at the hotel but it's also nice to eat out. Good choice of local restaurants (and a couple of small supermarkets) very close by. Best in our view was the fish restaurant 'Mezzo' - best to book a table at around 8.30 and watch the sun set whilst eating delicious Greek food.
We liked to walk into (the much more touristy) Fira early each morning and meander around the cobbled streets and various shops. I am not as fit as my teenage daughter, so I took the local bus back for a couple of euros. Don't forget to ask the staff about local trips they can book for you. Look through their guest folder for ideas. We booked a sunset cruise on the catamaran for a semi- private tour around the Caldera and swam in the volcanic hot springs before having a delicious BBQ on board. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone coming to Santorini. Only negative? Like many hotels in this part of the world, the Chromata is on the side of a cliff...so there are lots of steps.

Room Tip: Very unusual but every single room in this hotel offers stunning views. All seem to have balconies.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

As the many reviews clearly show - this is a good hotel. The staff are excellent and the food high quality. The hotel is built into the mountainside and has a lot of character. The views are amazing.

Our recommendation if, visiting the Chromata Hotel is not to go for 14 nights as we did. Unfortunately, the rooms cannot cope with a reasonable number of clothes. The "wardrobes" are simply two bars fixed at an angle to the wall with around 8 nodules on each upon which you hang your clothes. Our safe was behind the clothes which resulted in the clothes falling off the bars when we tried to enter the safe. This has not been thought through properly.

There was simply not enough drawer space and no cupboard space at all.
Why does the hotel do so well with trip advisor reviews - the answer is simple, mathematics. Please let me explain.

For the majority of people visiting the hotel, their rooms were upgraded (we know because the hotel tour route passed our room seven or eight times each day and we heard the same dialogue each time), but many of these guests were staying for 3 or 4 nights on each trip. We were not upgraded from our junior suite during the 14 night stay, although the hotel did offer to give us an inferior room for the final 3 nights of our visit. So the management take the view it is important to keep 3 or 4 couples happy by upgrading them rather than the 1 couple who stay for much longer. You cannot blame the approach too much, it is commercial, but the mistake (and short term approach) they have made is we will be taking another holiday in Greece in September, but because of the management's lack of consideration we will not be returning to the Chromata.

Our room was below average compared to the many hotels we have stayed in all over the world. The Junior suites description is a room with a seating area, yes we did have one seat in a small room, but normally hotels of this "anticipated" standard, you would have expected at least a settee to sit on. Because we were staying for 14 nights, the company were well paid for our stay and our expectations after reading the reviews were very high indeed. We were bitterly disappointed with this aspect of our stay and feel it is important for other holiday makers to be aware they too could suffer from, in our opinion, poor management.

There are some amazing, very good quality hotels in Santorini, we know as we visited a number of these on our trip. I will not mention the hotel "Iconics" next door to the Chromata which is very much superior, but don't take our word for it, have a look when you get there.

Is the Chromata Hotel value for money - definitely not.

Room Tip: If you still intend to visit the Chromata Hotel go for room 15!!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Haves777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Chromata is a beautiful hotel. The view of the caldera from every point of the hotel is stunning. We stayed in a junior suite that was cave style - the suite was lovely, spacious and very clean. The food at the hotel is great and the infinity pool is perfect to chill by. We found the service to be exceptional with the staff going above and beyond to help us plan our stay etc. We would stay there again and would definitely recommend to our family and friends!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.0 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#17 of 51 in Imerovigli
322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#14 of 51 in Imerovigli
675 reviews
3.3 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
2.8 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chromata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chromata Hotel

Address: Imerovigli Cyclades, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £232 - £723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chromata Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, preserving the Cycladic architecture, Chromata 5 star hotel both astounds and enchants visitors on so many different levels; from the hauntingly beautiful interiors within each of its 22 rooms and suites conveying the heavenly lifestyle of the island, to the uniquely captivating infinity pool from where one can literally breathe in the sheer essence of the volcano. Hidden oasis of calm on its back the Chromata's alfresco Pool Cocktail Lounge and Gourmet Resto offer three types of views: volcanoscape, poolside charm and natural splendor for long languorous afternoons stretching into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chromata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chromata Hotel Imerovigli
Chromata Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing