We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible View”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chromata Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chromata Hotel
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Incredible View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

We just had 2 weeks in the cyclades with 3 islands (Mykonos, Paros and Santorini) and this was our last stay.

We had booked a room in another hotel but at the last minute, we were transfered to the Chromata into a standard room, which became eventually the famous room N°1! After one day, we told the hotel that we could not stay in this room as it is completely tiny and close to the pedestrians (looking through your window..).

The manager understood and we were transfered the day after to the room N°14, right at the bottom of the hotel (they are 87 steps to go out of the hotel...). The room was a superior type room, so quite larger, with a nice design, but a few embarassements for the room: A/C not working (one night we had 35°..), floor needs painting, bathroom a bit humid;

We have to say that the staff were quite impressive into trying to solve our small problems, with always smile and kindness.

On the other hand, the design and the view are quite stunning (breakfast is served every morning onto your veranda), and to some extent, it can pretend to be a SLHW hotel.

PROS:
- Stunning design;
- Staff very friendly and helpful, all with correct English;
- Nice swimming pool area;
- View on the caldera;
- Cave style bedrooms;

CONS:
- Avoid room N°1 at all cost!;
- Few items not working in the room: A/C, phone, ...;
- Stairs (don't forget your swimsuit!);


RESTAURANTS:
- Alexander in Kamari (for fish);
- Flame of the Volcano in Fira (for the view);
- Sunset Tavern in Ammoudi (for the vie and the lobster);
- Skaros in Imerovigli (every day);


PLACES TO SEE:
- The half day caldera cruise with Blue Lagoon and Jimmy (150€/person): nive sunset on the catamaran, with bbq and white wine;
- The walk between Fira and Oia, 12km, consider 2,5h;
- The mount of Ilias, 567m high, nice view of the Island;
- The ancient city of Thira, in the morning only;

We recommend this hotel as we really enjoyed it ourselves.

  • Liked — Location and Service
  • Disliked — Bedroom #1
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nanard37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    74
    12
    13
    8
See reviews for
34
423
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2008

I can't say enough about the accomodations and staff at Chromata. Staying there was the splurge of our honeymoon and it was worth every cent. It's a beautiful, clean, and unique place to stay. Staff are friendly, warm and eager to please. The only warning I have to potential guests, is that this is not the best place for those with physical disabilities, poor physical health, or even a fear of heights. It's all open-air, somewhat steep and definitely narrow flights of stairs between the rooms.

When we arrived we were greeted by friendly faces and glasses of champagne while we were checked in. A porter came and carried our bags down the many flights of steep steps. We were in a blue room, where the theme was carried right through to the colour of the toilet paper!

We our breakfast was delivered the next morning and was a lovely mix of both familiar and new tastes. Everything was delicious! We had the option of ordering more of any one thing, but the tray they brought was more than enough to fill us up.

The pool was literally about 5 steps from the door to our room. It was always clean and provided a spectacular view. You need to get there somewhat early to get a spot on the bench, but sitting on the balcony of our room was just as good a spot for sun tanning.

In response to some negative feedback about the bathrooms, keep in mind that these rooms are built into the side of a cliff. As such, don't expect a luxury chain hotel bathroom. Bathrooms here are unique, but we found them very comfortable and easy to use.

  • Liked — The amazing view
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TorontoMenina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2008

We knew of Chromata Hotel before comming to Santorini as I have seen lots of pictures that friends of mine made durring their honeymoon stay in August 2007.From the minute we arrive we were blown away by the gorgeus views and all smilling staff....a galss of champagne to follow , before the resident manager Vaso introduse us the hotel and our room.with the best possible views, very romantic.
Room was quite comfrtable, as we are extended travellers trouhtout Europe,we know most of the upscalse properties are very stylish but not that comfortable, our room has a large bathroom, small living area and fancy bedroom with that amezing view from the private balcony just up front our door.
Breakfast is served upon calling room service at the balcony, o gosh :-))overlooking the sea I couldn't wait to wake up.
They also have a restaurant which is totally not to be missed out.
only a few tables actually spreaded by the pool on a small bridge that they remove during the day.Excellent flavors and service.
We would recomend Chromata to our friends and familly, Santorini is worth the visit,and I will be back one day.

  • Liked — Views, Our Room,Breakfast, efficient service.
  • Disliked — We should be staying longer
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SAMICKNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2007

For being on the "Small Luxury Hotels" listing it certainly was a disappointment. The room itself was dark and dreary. I wouldn't say the bathroom was small but the sink was IN the shower because there was no room anywhere else for it. The doorway into the bathroom was about 12 inches off the floor and if you were over 5 feet tall you had to bend not to bump your head. The room color was bubble gum pink and the curtins were pink also. I certainly would never stay here again nor recommend it to anyone. On the positive side, the view was amazing and eating breakfast outside on our terrace (however small) was a nice touch. Santorini is a beautiful island and worth seeing.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank NewYorkBobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2007

Maria, Athens-Greece

I passed through the door of Chromata “Small Luxury Hotel” in the end of August for a few-days escape from Athens. We had reserved an indoor pool suite coasted 450 € a day. The first impression getting into the spacious room was that it was quiet and traditional but also with a dominated smell of chlorine from the pool. In the first minutes of our stay in the room all our impressions got dissolved. The smell of the chlorine from the really frozen pool was getting taking away only with a very noisy and insufficient ventilator. All the furniture was old and full of marks from the use and the air-conditioner had marks of mould and sent away a mixed smell of mould and chlorine so we turned it off. Passing by side through the very small door of the bathroom we saw a dark place full of mould. The linen were crumpled and smelled weird, the TV was tiny and old and the balcony was small and without privacy. I wonder how this hotel belongs to the “Small Luxury Hotels”. Santorini is a beautiful island –ideal for your honeymoon- but don’t waste your money on this hotel. They are not professional and the web site is seductive.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The mould everywhere
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank lensko78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2007

When I saw other TripAdvisor reviews of Chromata I reduced our stay from 9 nights to 5. But, actually, I think it gets a tough time. Our room was very characterful - a cave with a private plunge pool in our bathroom. Breakfast is served by lovely beautiful people on your own private terrace - a very nice touch. The place aspires to be very stylish and mostly succeeds (if it weren't for our following stay at the delectable Sun Rocks, we'd have been more than happy with our stay at Chromata). One word of warning though - the rooms do seem to vary in size. Apparently some at the top of the hotel are tiny. Don't be afraid to complain if you are unlucky enough to land one of these - they seem fairly happy to upgrade if they can. NB: Our room was 342 Euros/night, but our Sun Rocks rooms was 100 Euros cheaper (however, it was a smaller room).

  • Liked — Watching sunset from our private terrace
  • Disliked — Small pool
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenkingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2007

My Wife and I spent the last 4 days of our 8 day honey moon at the Chromata. Prior to that, we spent 4 days in Mykonos. We found our Mykonos experience very pleasant. We were impressed by the comforts and views of our Mykonos hotel. We had higher hopes for the chromata based on the photos we saw on the Chromata website.

When we arrived at the Chromata, we were at first impressed. The chromata- like other hotels in the area- sports an impressive view of the Caldera. We were greeted with an impressive reception with glasses of champagne. Thats where our good memories end.

The hotel is on a cliffside, which is at first impressive until you must descend extremely steep stairs. My wife is a 24 year old Tae Kwon do Black belt and is amateur mountaineer and thought the climbing was ridiculous for a "luxury" hotel. Our room did not have an electronic key, rather it had an old metallic key that was attached to a 2 foot tassel. The key is to be returned to the front desk when leaving the hotel rather than carrying around the 2 foot long "key" . Inside, we were greeted by an old lime green colored "cave-like" interior. It would have been uniquely interesting, if not for the mildew, fruit flies, and lizards. Worst of all, we were in Greece during a heat wave and the old air conditioner could barely cool the 3 inches around it never mind the room. It was like being trapped in a humid oven. The room was next to the mainatainace closet, so there were staff constantly walking in front of our window which we were forced to leave open in order to breathe. The swimming pool was tiny. So tiny that when more than 4 guests were at the pool, it felt crowded. When we complained, the staff giggled and told us that "lizards are all over the island." The first night was so so awful they gave us an electric fan which was at least 30 years old with wires exposed to keep next to our bed to reduce the sweltering heat.

We also did not feel safe. We were forced to leave our window open. The room's safe was not electronic like at the other Greek hotels. It also had a large metallic key that we were forced to tote all over santorini during our excursions.

After it was clear that we were not enjoying our honeymoon, the manager took pity on us and moved us out of the "suite" and downgraded us to a standard double room. This room was as tiny as the others but was at least free of insects and lizards. It also was warm but not as sweltering as room #1.

The positives of the hotel are its incredible views but I believe that most cliffside hotels in Imerovigli share this view. Breakfast was also convenient. It is served on the roomside balcony within minutes of calling and was actually a pleasant variety of foods. The stray cats-which are all over Santorini- could be seen as another negative. But my wife and I actually considered our stray cat a good luck charm. It was harmless, clean, was not looking for food, and just wanted company.

The time away from the hotel was amazing. Santorini is gorgeous with plenty to do. There is a tour of the Volcano, a swim to the hot springs, and the view of the sunset from Oia. We also enjoyed exploring the island via rental car. Renting a car or moped is a must on this island but comes with caution. The driving carries some risks as the roads are very narrow and many of the drives are along sheer cliffs without guardrails! Despite this, we found our time there exciting and adventurous.

We enjoy adventure and a good time. However, the Chromata is advertised as a Luxury hotel and luxury is certainly not an accurate description. The hotel has a unique look which is overated. Do not be fooled by the artsy phoographs on the website!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
17 Thank Drfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
1.8 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#5 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#8 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chromata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chromata Hotel

Property: Chromata Hotel
Address: Imerovigli Cyclades, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chromata Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, preserving the Cycladic architecture, Chromata 5 star hotel both astounds and enchants visitors on so many different levels; from the hauntingly beautiful interiors within each of its 22 rooms and suites conveying the heavenly lifestyle of the island, to the uniquely captivating infinity pool from where one can literally breathe in the sheer essence of the volcano. Hidden oasis of calm on its back the Chromata's alfresco Pool Cocktail Lounge and Gourmet Resto offer three types of views: volcanoscape, poolside charm and natural splendor for long languorous afternoons stretching into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chromata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chromata Hotel Imerovigli
Chromata Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing