We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved everything about it...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chromata Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chromata Hotel
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved everything about it...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Was telling my friends how I loved the views from the hotel, the food, the cocktails (ask for Yannis), the service, our room with builtin free-wifi, our fluffy bed, the morning breakfast, the pool, the staff Myhallis and Tasos who went beyond and exceeded our expectations. Seriously, loved everything at Chromata.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChatChow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear ChatChow,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued customers and appreciate your continued condescension. All team in Chromata sends you our warmest and sunny regards!

Looking forward for the opportunity to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    74
    12
    13
    8
See reviews for
34
423
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is situated right on the caldera, so if you don't like steps, then this is not the place for you. A small boutique hotel with only 22 rooms that is beautifully designed. Mostly white with hints of grey. Our room was a true cave style. Going way into the hillside. We had loads of space with the biggest bathroom we have ever had at a hotel. Breakfast was served on our own terrace with beautiful views. Magic. Not a lot of privacy though, but that must be hard to achieve in this location. The only downside was that the water pressure was very low. It took an age to fill our jacuzzi. Also the pool area is quite small and would not be able to accommodate all guests.

Room Tip: We had room 12. It was enormous !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Julie,

Thank you for your review following your stay at Chromata Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you as well for your comments with regards the pressure of the water. Please be assured that this has been addressed with our maintenance team to ensure the necessary improvements.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel has incredible views but beyond that, we were not particularly impressed by it. It's built on a steep, narrow strip down the rim of the volcano so a lot of hotel has been crammed into a small space and it requires negotiating steep stairs to get anywhere.

The rooms/bathrooms are unusual and pretty but I got tired of a quirky shower with its shower head right up against the wall and the single wall hook to hang all the wet towels and bath robes on. Otherwise the room was comfortable and spotless with all the usual amenities.

The hotel food was very fresh and beautifully prepared. And we agree with the countless compliments for the staff at the hotel.

This hotel may be rated 5 stars in Greece but sorry, it's not the Ritz. It did not feel particularly luxurious and other than its location and view, most of what the hotel had on offer was relatively ordinary. Given what we paid for our 7 night stay here, overall, we thought it was poor value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juno78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear guests,

First and foremost we were a bit surprised to read that you left with mixed feelings after your recent stay with us in Santorini.

We have worked jolly hard over the years to create a unique, blissful experience in our corner of picturesque Santorini. Our rooms and suites do provide stunning views and a wonderful space to relax and experience all the pleasures that cycladic accommodation has to offer.

Thank you for highlighting the excellent service as this makes such a difference to our very dedicated team, as a five star establishment we are proud to be able to consider ourselves as setting the bar for service standards.

The 5 star luxury feeling is certainly a personal perspective on things, our perspective would be 'strive to provide the best possible quality and this may be the difference you mention between our offering and the Ritz. It is regretful that you were a victim of a rare lapse in feeling the standards.

Hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just arrived home afar staying at the Chromata for 5 nights and it was absolutely beautiful. There service was wonderful and the staff really make it seem as though nothing is too much trouble. We arrived at 6am after being picked up from the airport and even though check in isn't until 2pm they had our room ready for us by 6:30am! What a treat as we were absolutely exhausted after an overnight flight.

We were on our honeymoon and after reading about countless couples who has been upgraded, we hoped (cheeky, I know) that we might have either been upgraded from a junior suite to the honeymoon suite or at least put in a room with a private terrace (some of them are located directly on the walkway where guests and staff walk by constantly). We were first put in the room right next to the pool (junior suite), which was a beautiful and spacious room, but rather noisy as the pool area has music playing all day and quite damp. The terrace is also completely overlooked by the pool area and for a couple honeymooning we were disappointed. We spoke to the manager and they very promptly and graciously moved us next door to another junior suite with a completely private and spacious terrace, and again the room was wonderfully large. That was very kind of the management to move us and accommodate us in that way and that level of service will certainly ensure our stay at the chromate again and again.

The rooms are a little damp (bed sheets, towels, your clothes) but I suspect it's because they're in caves, but it's not that much of an issue and staying in those gorgeous cave rooms is all part of the experience. The pool area is teenie tiny but intimate and so luxurious. The breakfasts were for sure the highlight of that hotel. SO much choice, beautifully presented and tasted wonderful. I highly recommend the restaurant right at the top on the hotel as the food there is AMAZING and very affordable (the chocolate fondant is incredible). Imerovigli is a great place to stay in as Thira/Fira and Oia would have been far too busy and packed with people. The sunsets from Imerovigli are pretty good as well, so don't feel like you have to see them all from Oia.

Room Tip: Steer clear from the room directly by the pool (room 16 I think). If you're staying there ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dionne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Dionne,

We would like to thank you for choosing our property as the host of your Honeymoon and extend our most sincere Congratulations, as well as wishes of eternal love.

Taking the time to acknowledge your satisfaction is an extremely nice present from you, and we are even more delighted to read how much you enjoyed staying with us! We really appreciate your feedback about the early check in, the size of the rooms, the good tasting breakfast and the quality of our services. I have to mention that it is extremely rewarding to receive such positive comment about our standards of service, and this is perhaps the greatest motivational tool for our staff.

Again we are so grateful that you chose to spend such an important Romantic and Lifetime Memory escape with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights upon arriving in Santorini from the U.S. and were treated like royalty. The staff are incredible and bent over backwards to make our stay as enjoyable as possible (especially Tasos, Lia, Mike and Michael). Our room (#18) was near the bottom of the property and the extra walk each day meant a little exercise and more privacy. The pool was gorgeous, a bit crowded during our stay, but refreshing and with an amazing view of the caldera. Breakfast on our large terrace was whatever we wanted from a large menu and we tried nearly everything, all very delicious! Staying in Imerovigli was a great choice for having a room with a view that allowed us peace and quiet to relax and adjust to Greek time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellenic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an adorable review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with. We will make sure to congratulate our team for making you feel royal.

We definitely hope to be able to welcome you again, and take care of you again.

Sending you some warm and volcanic regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at Chromata for five nights on our Honeymoon. Even though check-in was not until 2:00PM, they had our room ready at 11:45 AM. We stayed in a junior suite that was spacious enough, no need to shell out more money for a specialty suite. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The manager gives you a cell phone to use at no charge to call the hotel from anywhere on the island. The breakfast was wonderful, and you can order anything off of the breakfast menu, including sparkling white wine. The property was extremely clean, and one of the best points about the hotel was the shower! Overhead rain shower head, which is not the standard in most European hotels. We did not have dinner at the hotel, but we did eat a few lunches there, and the food was always delicious. The only downside is that there is not much of a spa. There is a jacuzzi that is warm, not hot, and a sauna that is not hot either.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike92312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Mike,

Thank you for your nice feedback on TripAdvisor and we are happy to learn that you had an amazing stay with us. Further, it is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the size of your junior suite and it's facilities(rain shower).

We were sorry to read you've been miss leaded thinking that we have a SPA on property, as indeed we have just the facilities you've mentioned. Although we've could recommended you to visit the A.SPA at one of our sister properties, in Oia village, the best place to have a holistic treatment designed to help you relax and renew. Hope will have the chance next time if you decide to come back to Santorini!

We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon!

Warmest wishes from Chromata Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed recently to Chromata Hotel. Upon arrival they had a very nice surprise for us the Honeymoon suite of the hotel which was a complimentary upgrade from the general manager. The hotel is located right on the cliff and the views from there are breathtaking. Every morning we had our breakfast rigt outside of the room along with a great smile from the waiter serving us which makes it a very good start of the day. The hotel has great rooms great service but what makes it diferent from the rest 5 star properties we have been to is the atmosphere. The general manager of the hotel (very young and talented) Mike has created a team of friends and coleagues working hard to ensure that all the guests will have a memorable stay and i will say that they are achieving that, he is truly the shining star of the hotel.
We will be back for sure very shortly. Thank you all for your nice hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Miles S,

We are happy to know we were able to meet your expectations and that you had a wonderful stay. It is our aim to have guests leave happy and amazed and thinking about their next trip back. We are thrilled that our staff was able to make your stay unforgettable. Mike's pure guest orientated mentality molds this 5 star “atmosphere”, we appreciate very much that you noticed it and feel blessed to receive your gratitude.

Sunny and volcanic regards from Santorini!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
1.8 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#8 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chromata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chromata Hotel

Property: Chromata Hotel
Address: Imerovigli Cyclades, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chromata Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, preserving the Cycladic architecture, Chromata 5 star hotel both astounds and enchants visitors on so many different levels; from the hauntingly beautiful interiors within each of its 22 rooms and suites conveying the heavenly lifestyle of the island, to the uniquely captivating infinity pool from where one can literally breathe in the sheer essence of the volcano. Hidden oasis of calm on its back the Chromata's alfresco Pool Cocktail Lounge and Gourmet Resto offer three types of views: volcanoscape, poolside charm and natural splendor for long languorous afternoons stretching into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chromata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chromata Hotel Imerovigli
Chromata Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing