We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chromata Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chromata Hotel
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful small hotel up the cliff few minutes from Thia. Xllent service n very helpful staff. Large n minimalist room. Access to a winderful beach 20 mns by road. We highly recommend it and hope to get back there next year! Xllent quality price ratio

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kamal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. It is extremely rewarding to receive such positive comment and this is perhaps the greatest motivation one in the hospitality industry might have.

Sunny Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    74
    12
    13
    8
See reviews for
34
423
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We (our 18 year old daughter and us) stayed four days at this incredible Hotel. The rooms, the view, service, people, food are beyond wonderful. This is probably one of the nicest places we have been to in a long time. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Any of the suites at the hotel. They are cave like rooms beautifully designed with great bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nazv9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued customers and appreciate your continued condescension.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We visited Chromata after reading reviews for our minimoon and let me tell you we had the perfect stay!

we stayed for 5 nights and i think this was about the right amount of time needed.

On arrival we were greeted and shown around the hotel before being taken to our room. We didnt get an upgrade for being on our honeymoon because they didnt have the availability which was a shame but it wasn't a major issue because we we treated like royalty anyway.

when staying in this hotel you are made to feel like you are the king and queen. the staff always have time for you and nothing is ever too much to ask.

the rooms were cave like so a bit smaller than what you would usually expect but to be honest if you want huge rooms then santorini is probably not the best place for you. the bathrooms were quite spacious with an overhead shower as well as a detachable shower head.

The room comes equipped with an ipod docking station with music on an ipod as well. Also on arrival we had a chilled bottle of wine in our room and fresh fruit as well.

the house keeping staff gave atleast 2 bottles of water to us daily as well as small dark chocolate pieces which was yum!

The hotel were happy to make reservations for us at restaurants and also gave us a phone to take out and about with us incase we needed to call them which was useful.

The breakfast in this hotel is probably the best i've ever had at a hotel. you order what you want off the menu and they bring it to you. as much or as little as you want. the breakfast varied from every type of egg you could want, toasties (ham/cheese), toast, fruit salad, amazing pancakes, croissants, cereal and so much more as well as a huge selection of drinks! Yannis who works at the hotel even remembered what I had for breakfast and reminded me the following day if I wanted that again when I forgot to order it! He is amazing! as are the rest of the team who are like one big hapy family.

if you order the day before you can have your breakfast bought to you on your balcony so that you have a view which we did a couple of times and it was perfect!

in terms of the location it was the best place to stay as it was in between Thira, which is more touristy but where most things happen and Oia, which is in my opinion the best place to see the sunset.

there are a number of good restaurants nearby like the Aegeon which just recently opened and the food is great and also bella thira, la maison are all walking distance.

Do not think twice about booking the Chromata if you want a relaxing time. You will feel like you're the only one staying at the hotel because of the level of service you get!

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms over look the caldera so whichever room you get it will be a good view! we stayed in Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Vikki,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extended and adorable review!

We are happy to know we were able to meet your expectations and that you had a wonderful stay. It is our aim to have guests leave happy and amazed and thinking about their next trip back.

More importantly, congratulations on your Honeymoon ! We are so grateful that you chose to spend such an important romantic and lifetime memory escape at Chromata Hotel!

Sunny Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

3 nights were not enough in such Hotel.

An outstanding view on the Caldera (best in Santorini), a very comfortable and neat place to spend the holiday - specially that we were on our honeymoon...

I would start with the staff:

Mike, the manager is a real professional person able to handle all issues that guests MIGHT have!

Tasos & Mike (afternoon / night shift) are two adorable persons... They really did a lot while we were staying there... I can never repay them (unless they visit us in Lebanon )

Staff, Hotel, Food and surely the View are far the BEST OF THE BEST !

Thanks a lot for this outstanding experience...

1 more tip: choose room #21 (it's the best )

Love, Joe & Amanda

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe-Charbel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Joe,

What a delightful review to read ! Rest assured, it has been a pleasure for Mike (who extends his best salutations) and all his team to take care of you. We will always be here for you and ready to welcome you again in our arms and hearts !

Have a wonderful time back home and take care !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was originally hesitant to write a review about this hotel because I didn't want anyone finding out about this gem of a place!! However, after my experience, I couldn't allow anyone to choose another hotel over this one.

First off, regarding the area, Imerovigli is the BEST place to stay. It is between Oia and Fira which is GREAT since you most likely will travel to both areas when coming to Santorini. It is such a cute town with spectacular views.

Secondly, THE HOTEL. The hotel is a boutique hotel with only 22 rooms designed beautifully. This was the first time my husband and I had stayed in a boutique hotel and we didn't know exactly what to expect. Here's what to expect: upgrades upon arrival if available, beautiful rooms that ALL overlook the caldera, a comfortable patio area where your personal complimentary ordered breakfast (including champagne-as much as you want) is served to you each morning, an amazing infinity pool and bar area, and the feeling that you are the only one staying at the hotel. My husband Kevin and I traveled here for our honeymoon and did NOT want to leave.

Third, the service and staff here is BEYOND spectacular. I read a ton of reviews about the Chromata and all mentioned the staff. I was skeptical that they could be that good for every guest, but Kevin and I learned that it was true. The staff is like a family; they all know each other and enjoy being there together and you can tell through their friendlines and eagerness to make your trip as enjoyable as can be. Kevin and I loved the staff SO much! Giannis, Giannis, Little George, Mike, Leah, and Demetra were all amazing and did not allow any request to go unmet. Kevin and I were provided a cell phone upon arrival and of course, put it to use after we ran out of gas in our 4-wheeler on the "highway" to Oia. Mike quickly sprang into action and had the rental company out with more gas so we could make it to dinner in Oia. I honestly do not know what we would have done with out that phone and Mike!! Kevin and I found ourselves spending our time at the Chromata, not wanting to leave, because of the service and staff. At the end of the trip it was sad to say goodbye to such great people. The staff gets to know you and what you enjoy---for us it was the bar chips, coronos, submarines (ask Giannis to make you a couple!!)---and will remember what you want when you least expect it! Kevin and I are travel enthusiasts and have stayed at Four Seasons, The Ritz Carlton, The W, and other top-notch hotels and The Chromata was one of our all-time favorites. If we ever make it back to Santorini there is NO doubt that we will be back to The Chromata.

One last thing, I was shocked to see the 1 star review for this hotel prior to booking and now am even more shocked after staying here. You cannot get much better than The Chromata! The staff is the same staff for the season so you can feel confident that you will receive as good as service as Kevin and I did.

THANK YOU CHROMATA for one incredible, unforgettable trip!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Management at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Ms. Kendall,

Thank you for your glowing review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in Imerovigli and we appreciate you giving so many details, especially regarding our Service Standards! We will make sure to congratulate all team members for delivering such an amazing experience to you. Your review, filled with many details for our visitors to read, will certainly help a lot of hesitant to understand what type of Small Luxury Hotel we are, and what type of services are to be expected here.

Our location and facilities were all created and thought towards having our guests as much happy as you describe, and our staff kindness and professionalism is to be the cherry on the top of the cake. We appreciate very much that you noticed it and feel blessed to receive your gratitude.

We will be delighted in future to open our arms and doors for you again and hope this will not take too long!

Warmest regards from Santorini!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Was telling my friends how I loved the views from the hotel, the food, the cocktails (ask for Yannis), the service, our room with builtin free-wifi, our fluffy bed, the morning breakfast, the pool, the staff Myhallis and Tasos who went beyond and exceeded our expectations. Seriously, loved everything at Chromata.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChatChow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear ChatChow,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued customers and appreciate your continued condescension. All team in Chromata sends you our warmest and sunny regards!

Looking forward for the opportunity to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is situated right on the caldera, so if you don't like steps, then this is not the place for you. A small boutique hotel with only 22 rooms that is beautifully designed. Mostly white with hints of grey. Our room was a true cave style. Going way into the hillside. We had loads of space with the biggest bathroom we have ever had at a hotel. Breakfast was served on our own terrace with beautiful views. Magic. Not a lot of privacy though, but that must be hard to achieve in this location. The only downside was that the water pressure was very low. It took an age to fill our jacuzzi. Also the pool area is quite small and would not be able to accommodate all guests.

Room Tip: We had room 12. It was enormous !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Julie,

Thank you for your review following your stay at Chromata Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you as well for your comments with regards the pressure of the water. Please be assured that this has been addressed with our maintenance team to ensure the necessary improvements.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
1.8 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#8 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chromata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chromata Hotel

Property: Chromata Hotel
Address: Imerovigli Cyclades, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chromata Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, preserving the Cycladic architecture, Chromata 5 star hotel both astounds and enchants visitors on so many different levels; from the hauntingly beautiful interiors within each of its 22 rooms and suites conveying the heavenly lifestyle of the island, to the uniquely captivating infinity pool from where one can literally breathe in the sheer essence of the volcano. Hidden oasis of calm on its back the Chromata's alfresco Pool Cocktail Lounge and Gourmet Resto offer three types of views: volcanoscape, poolside charm and natural splendor for long languorous afternoons stretching into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chromata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chromata Hotel Imerovigli
Chromata Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing