We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chromata Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chromata Hotel
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The Chromata is perfect in every sense of what I was looking for in a boutique hotel. The staff was excellent from our transfer service (which had free wifi) to our check-in, where they greeted us by name before we even said anything. The porters deserve kudos running up and down the stairs all day. Everything felt personalized and any requests were fulfilled with a warm smile. We rented a car for a day, which I recommend, and they had the car delivered and picked up from the hotel. There is a parking lot directly across from the hotel where it is only 2 euro a day to park as well. We went to Akrotiri and Santo winery by car, both were awesome. To get to Fira it is about a 15 minute walk. Oia can be reached by the outstanding public buses (which are nice charter buses) for 1,60 euro each way per person. Perhaps the best thing at the Chromata is the view though. The infinity pool is fantastic and has a bar in the back where you can get fantastic cocktails, wine, water and homemade lemonade. One recommendation that seems to be overlooked at the Chromata is the spectacular Chromata restaurant. With only 4 tables it provides an intimate dining experience. We were the only table there when we went and sat on the balcony, which there's only 1 table there. Our waiter provided spectacular service, explaining each course of the meal, and the view was spectacular. Kudos to the chef, each course that she provided was presented beautifully and delicious. My only complaint about the Chromata was that the jacuzzi tub wasn't even warm. When it's 90 degrees outside that's a minor complaint. Overall, this is a must stay hotel with comfortable beds and amenities, a warm friendly staff with attention to detail and an unforgettable view.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Randy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Randy,

Thank you very much for posting such a wonderful review. We were delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed your stay.

Our service levels and food are part of our guest experience culture and although we very often hear how well we do in these regards, it is always fantastic to be reminded of this.

As you state, guests are able to truly enjoy Santorini, often combining pure relaxation with more energetic activities.

Thanks once again and we look forward to seeing you if you decide to visit Santorini again!

Sunniest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    74
    12
    13
    8
See reviews for
34
423
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I really loved this hotel. It was in a smaller town in the island but still within walking distance to everything. Quiet and peaceful! Loved the staff, the pool and the view. Very expensive but worth the money for the experience. I would highly recommend this one.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued customers and appreciate your continued condescension. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Chromata for 4 nights at the end of June. From arrival to departure, the experience was fantastic. The view is unbelievable and the rooms were excellent but what set this experience apart was the outstanding service and hospitality. There are few hotels where you will find such attentive yet not intrusive staff. We were continuously surprised at the many small (and big) things that all of the staff did for us during our stay to make it as memorable as it was.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBNatick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guests,

We were all thrilled to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. The team here are so proud of the facilities and services we are able to provide our guests and it is always great to see that these are appreciated.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review and we hope that we will be able to pamper you further if you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Imerovigli is perfect for its proximity to Fira, quiet environment and the wonderful sea view. Chromata Up Style Hotel is just there which is built upon the cliff. My room has a tiny balcony facing the sea, where the breakfast was served every morning. What more should I ask?

The staff were professional and polite. The quality of the food served by the restaurant was surprisingly outstanding. My only compliant is that towels had stinks and ants walked on the floor of the room.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BeeHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your review following your stay at Chromata Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We highly value feedback from our guests as it is the best way we can determine what we are doing well and where we can improve.

We were sorry to read about the ants as we do have a very extensive pest control program, including frequent treatment of rooms and public areas. Please be assured that your comments have been addressed with our Housekeeping Department to ensure the necessary improvements.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were fortunate enough to be able to spend four nights at Hotel Chromata in Imerovigli. From the moment you check in till you leave you are in awe of the views of the Aegean sea and island around Santorini. There is the infinity pool, excellent service and a cozy feel to it all. The rooms are however ...small. The bathroom is the smallest room with a shower that is 5 ft 10" at best. So, tall fellas will crouch to shower. Except for this, its worth all the $$$ you will spend. WE hiked to Oia one early morning and made it back on a cab for 15 Euros. Plenty of dining options nearby and like I said the views are amazing day and night. Breakfast is included and eating breakfast in fro of your room is probably an all time best memory for us!

Room Tip: IF you are fussy about walking up and down the stairs ask for a room on the top. The hotel is built...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aritakum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear guests,

We really appreciate that you have accepted to take the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us and wanted to express our most sincere gratitude!

We hope you will understand that due to the nature of Cycladic architecture all our rooms are different shapes and sizes. Our cave rooms were meticulously mastered to ensure all space is used efficiently.

At the same time we really appreciate the fact that you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for all your compliments!

Sunny Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

From the moment you step into the serene white reception area and spot the breathtaking view, you know this is a top class place to stay. It's a boutique hotel in every sense, from the personalised care given by the lovely staff - including a delicious and very generous breakfast served on your private terrace each day, to the considered arrangement of the rooms and facilities across several levels nestled in the rock face and all overlooking the spectacular caldera, to the rooms which are kitted out impeccably, including pre-programmed iPod and mobile phone to use on day trips. Santorini has a formidable reputation for being the most picturesque of the Greek Islands, and if you want a hotel that showcases it perfectly then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Room 18 - junior suite with good access to the pool and incredible view (though I think every room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Hannah,

what a wonderful review, thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you spent some nice time at Chromata Hotel and enjoyed our services and facilities.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share such positive feedback on our TripAdvisor account. You'll always be more than welcome in this "little slice of heaven"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We just stayed for two nights at the Chromata as part of our engagement celebration trip to Greece. The hotel manager, Mike, kindly upgraded our room for the occasion to a suite (room 4). The room was beautiful and spacious with high ceilings and a huge bathtub. The view from our patio was gorgeous (although I think every room has the same beautiful view!). The "welcome drink" was a lovely bottle of local white wine and fresh fruit that we enjoyed on the patio. Breakfast was also served on the patio and it was delicious! Especially the Greek omelette and mini Greek salad. After breakfast we made our way down to the infinity pool which was refreshing with a fantastic view of the caldera and neighboring towns. The loungers were comfortable and we always found one under an umbrella with plenty of shade.

After a lovely day at the pool, we watched a gorgeous sunset and then started to make our way to the restaurant, Avocado. The guy at the front desk who made the reservation for us, didn't know where the restaurant was and made no effort to help. He told us to walk left out of the hotel and ask people on the street. After a 30 minute exploration and asking for directions half a dozen times, we found it (it's not worth the trek by the way). On our way back, I told the guy at the front desk that he should have been more helpful because it was hard to find. He told us it wasn't recommended by the hotel so he didn't know where it was. Firstly, the front desk staff of any hotel should know where all the top-rated restaurants are, especially a five-star establishment. Secondly, when I asked him to make the reservation that would have been a good time to counsel us what the hotel's recommended restaurants were or let us know he didn't know where Avocado was.

We got back to the room and there was no turn down service. The second night we received turndown service with bottles of water which we appreciated. The bed was really comfortable and soft.

There was a power issue across the island so we didn't have air conditioning the second night but we did have electricity. I called reception twice--once around 11pm and again at 2am because it was so hot in our room we were laying in pools of sweat. The guy who answered the phone was apologetic but said there was nothing he could do. While we were eating breakfast we saw porters carrying fans away from rooms. It was pretty aggravating that we didn't receive one. However, before I could complain when we were checking out, Mike, the manager offered to pay for our taxi to the airport, have lunch on them at the hotel and have the use of a smaller room so we could shower before going to the airport. We thought that resolution was very kind which made us feel a lot better about the situation the night before. We proceeded to have a lovely day at the pool and the lunch was outstanding. The smaller room (10) was nice too although it could have benefited from some ant spray by the door.

Overall, we had a really romantic and fun time at the hotel. It was frustrating to have a poor night's sleep, but the air conditioning outage wasn't the hotel's fault and they more than made up it before we left.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ShalonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write down such an extended and positive review!

Be sure that such reviews make all of us try more and more to offer to each of our guests the greatest vacation experience! While we do our best to personalize each of our guest’s experiences, we are still very happy to receive your help in designing the main lines of a better stay.

Sunny Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
1.8 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#11 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#8 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chromata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chromata Hotel

Property: Chromata Hotel
Address: Imerovigli Cyclades, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chromata Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, preserving the Cycladic architecture, Chromata 5 star hotel both astounds and enchants visitors on so many different levels; from the hauntingly beautiful interiors within each of its 22 rooms and suites conveying the heavenly lifestyle of the island, to the uniquely captivating infinity pool from where one can literally breathe in the sheer essence of the volcano. Hidden oasis of calm on its back the Chromata's alfresco Pool Cocktail Lounge and Gourmet Resto offer three types of views: volcanoscape, poolside charm and natural splendor for long languorous afternoons stretching into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chromata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chromata Hotel Imerovigli
Chromata Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing