We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing more breathtaking...than Chromata”
Review of Chromata Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chromata Hotel
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2009

I've recently had the pleasure of staying at Chromata, and my stay was nothing less than extraordinary and spectacular. I stayed for 3 days and loved every second. The hotel staff were very accommodating and friendly, the food was excellent and arrived every morning at the time we requested, and the room was so comfortable, charming, and well designed.

Upon arrival, we were offered a welcome beverage(cold glass of champagne), a guided tour of the hotel by the friendly staff, and offered many amenities and suggestions for the island. Make sure to stretch out those glutes! The stairs were heart-pumping! To get around the island, we rented an atv and were directed to a nearby rental place where we were provided with one for 24 hrs. The restaurants in the area were very good, too.

I would highly recommend Chromata to anyone who is traveling with a significant other, best friend, or even an older couple just looking to get away -- anybody you want to spend quality time with. This is the kind of hotel that helps you reflect on life, appreciate the beauty of nature, and rejuvenates your soul. Plus, our driver from the airport informed us that out of all the hotels in Santorini, Chromata is the best. After staying at the hotel, I agree wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsgnr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2009

Santorini was the last leg of our 2 week honeymoon, and we were originally booked for the Sun Rocks hotel. Apparently, there was some sort of reservations mix-up with our travel agency(but I have heard the same story now from 4 other travelers, so wonder if this is a Santorini scheme??), so we were upgraded to the Chromata Hotel. While we were originally a little put off, and skeptical, boy were we pleased when we arrived.

The Chromata Hotel is breathtaking! We were greeted by Eroula(spelling??), the manager, with a welcome glass of champagne. We were given 2 suites to choose from, both suites with dip pools in the room. We chose room 12, which was decorated with art deco mirrors, very funky, "Alice in Wonderland" style furniture, and a nicely stocked mini bar.

Everyday you can arrange breakfast on your private terrace- fresh fruit, eggs any style, frappes, coffee- Greek or American style, Greek yoghurt, you name it. Breakfast always arrived on time, generally served by a very attractive, and attentive waiter, and the views while you were eating were to die for!

The infiniti pool while small, was very chic. There were sun beds running across the pool that allowed you to just dive in direct from the beds if you liked. There was always low, lounge music playing- Bossanova, Jazz, etc..., creating a quiet party atmosphere while you basked in the sun.

The staff- Eroula, Maria, Peggy and Themis, always made amazing bar and dinner recommendations, reservations upon request, and made it their business to be sure you had a memorable stay. They were friendly, conversational, funny, and informal, so you really felt taken care of but in a very informal, non stuffy way. You were in a luxury hotel, but you felt so easy, so comfortable, that you could just stay forever.

I would definitely recommend a stay at Chromata. It was intimate, pleasant, and just a joy. The staff really knows customer service, and with a backdrop like the Santorini caldera you can not go wrong.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank nyalycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

After much research, I discovered the Chromata in "Frommers Greek Islands" book. I followed this up with research on the internet and decided to take a chance and reserve it. I was keeping my fingers crossed, as I was booking not only for my own family, but for two other families as well and wanted to ensure the rooms in Santorini were outstanding. I am happy to report that each member of our group was beyond thrilled with the Chromata.

When we arrived, our luggage was taken care of immediately, we were warmly welcomed in the main reception area with champagne for all. This gave us the opportunity to take in the incredible view of the caldera. Roula, the Manager, arrived shortly to welcome us and give us the happy news that 3 of our 4 rooms had been upgraded. Each of our four rooms was stunning and unique. Only one of the rooms was small - the standard double beds in Greece are smaller than what we are accustomed to in Canada. However, our teenagers were enchanted with the room - they loved the 'cavelike' nature of the room and its coziness.

Words simply can not describe the view at the Chromata. The location was fantastic as well. There were two small markets and several excellent restaurants within a 2 minute walk. The footpath to Fira (a mere 20 minute walk - well worth it!) was directly outside of the hotel. We were glad to be away from the main tourist areas, as it was quiet in the evenings, yet it was easy to explore the entire island from our central location.

The service was outstanding. Roula and her staff accommodated our every request in a timely and efficient manner. The staff were friendly, and had the ability to foresee our needs. The staff consistently went out of their way to ensure our stay was enjoyable and memorable. The food was EXCELLENT - best Greek salad in all of Greece.

My advice to fellow travelers - prioritize your wish list. If you are looking for an immaculate, 5 star hotel, the Chromata is not for you. In fact, you may have some difficulty finding what you are looking for in Santorini (unless you have $5,000 a night to spend). It is a small island and does not have the infrastructure that we enjoy in North America. However, if you are looking for a memorable experience - a breathtaking view, outstanding service, unique rooms - then the Chromata is definately for you!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadianContingent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Magnificent views of the volcano but there are a bunch of similar hotels with the same view and better service. In short:
1. Laundry services inadequate-dirty towel upon arrival
2. The balcony where breakfast was served soiled with cats litter constantly, no one cleaned it up till the very last day
3. Rusty soap bottles, cracked marbles, TV set of 1990s

Pool environment very good overall but the pool area a bit small and the photo posted in the internet a bit deceiving.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank szaraNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

Originally booked for the Sun Rocks hotel, we arrived to a glass of champagne and the news that they did not receive our booking... having spent hours researching Santorini hotels online months before, we were genuinely a bit gutted not to be staying at the Sun Rocks, however, they were overly kind and said they had a "honeymoon" suite for us at a sister hotel... hesitant it was a scam of some sort but happy as anything since we were honeymooning, we went along in the cab 5 min up the road with no clue where we were heading, once we arrived and i spotted the SLH logo I had an even bigger smile on my face - i had stayed at the Belvedere on Mykonos before and fell in love with the chain - and true to the SLH brand, the Chromata was exactly that, a small/boutique style luxury hotel with amazing staff and stunning interior and exterior design. We were shown two rooms, the first i believe was the honeymoon suite, was nice, the second, room #15 from memory, is what we think is one of their Chromata Suites, was more than what we could have asked for: a huge living area complete with indoor dip pool, a large separate bedroom, a bathroom and a full shower room, all built into the cave walls, modernly decorated but not overdone. A definite upgrade to what we had originally booked. Huge thanks to the staff for making the time so perfect as well. The breakfast is served to your balcony, which not completely private, but no complaints, as our room was at the bottom of the hotel so it felt very private anyways. The pool is smaller but just perfect, with beds and benches, a bit of a crowd formed in the morning but both days that we stayed at the hotel we had the pool all to ourselves for the most part, also very good music played at the pool at the right volume, perfect holiday dance remixes. What else... the entire experience was great, the restaurant right on the path at the entrance to the hotel was good traditional greek food and the walk to Oia is a must do - we did it on the windiest days ever, added a bit of thrill but overall a stunning walk, 2-3 hours well worth it, we did it in thongs but some areas are a bit more rough than others. After all the research we did on Santorini I hope this review helps others, for locations Imerovigli was not even on our list but by far after experiencing the entire island (we rented a quad one day too and went to the beach where the Chromata staff reserved us beach chairs) this location is by far the best for feeling away from the crowds but close enough walking distance to restaurants and shops... sunset also gorgeous from here, don't even remember if it was that direct of a view from the hotel as most nights we were out for dinner during sunset - Oia is nice, but over-rated for the cost of hotels in our opinion, Fira is way too cruise-ship tacky...

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natkathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

My husband and I stayed for 5 days at the Chromata and had the time of our lives. It s very well situated between Oia and Fira and has the most amazing view on the Caldera.
This small luxurious hotel offers the quality of top rated hotel with a cozy personalised atmosphere. The rooms are amazing, each decorated differently with a lot of taste. The bathrooms are huge and top quality.
Service is the most excellent I've ever seen. Roula, the manager, is especially welcoming and very knowledgable on where to go on the island. It s this small personalised touch that makes all the difference.
Service by the pool is also amazing

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuleNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

We stayed at Chromata after two (separate) friends had recommended it. We've been fortunate enough to stay in our share of good hotels but I have to say the service at the Chromata was the best - by a long shot! We had to do some unexpected urgent work while we were there and the staff kindly let us use their computer/office. As were the breakfasts delivered to your veranda each morning so you could enjoy the amazing view of the sea, cruise ships and volcano - total luxury. From the minute we arrived, until the minute we left nothing was too much trouble, the staff are friendly, full of knowledge and happy to help. The view is breathtaking, even the taxi driver said Chromata was known for having the best view on the island. The pool/sunbed area is small but we found most people are out and about during the day so we never had a problem getting a bed and it's a 'boutique' style hotel so you'd expect that wouldn't you? We found other guests very respectful, and the hotel has a policy of no reserving loungers with towels etc. Also, why stay in every day when you're on such an amazing island?

The hotel food/drinks are on the pricey side, we would have probably noticed less had the euro been stronger in fairness, but it's good quality and from a hotel of that calibre I think you'd find them all very similar cost wise on the island. There are plenty of cheaper restaurants around, including two really good taverna's directly outside the hotel and Fira is a 20 minute walk along the coastal roads - if you go, explore, its really easy.

We were given an upgrade on our room which had it's own plunge pool, huge bed and lounge, very white, very light and spacious. The bathroom was a walk in wet-room which was mosaic tiled, it was very small but these are hotel rooms set into caves on a Greek island so we weren't suprised or disappointed. I have to say I found a wet room a real bonus on holiday, no slipping trying to climb into a bath/shower. Hairdryer, bathrobes, slippers and beach towels are supplied and towels are changed daily, everything feels very fresh and clean. Every evening your bed is turned down, the bathroom freshened, table lamps lit and a lit candle/lantern welcomes you home each night on your veranda (lovely touch!).

For the perfect sunset, forget all the places you need to drive/taxi to, just take a 5 minute walk up the hill to the little church closeby (you can see it from your veranda), walk round the side of the church and you'll stumble on the MOST amazing sunset. We also crammed up a side street to see it in Oia with loads of other tourists...don't bother!

If you understand the concept of a 'boutique', small, luxury hotel then this hotel will be perfect for a romantic hideaway, or a base to explore the island further. Take a trip to the beach bars at the bottom of the island and get a sunbed, beach towel and amazing lunch, or go to Meglahori to the little square and eat at Ravi - there's so much to do and you're ideally situated in the centre of the caldera, with Fira and Oia on either side. Oia is a taxi ride away but the local taxi guy will pick you up again, you may have to 'cab share' with two others but its quite good fun once you get over the shock.

And as for the person who mentioned PLASTIC chairs around the pool they are styled on the Philipe Stark Louis Ghost chair (and that's a pricey bit of plastic)....I rest my case! Go to Chromata and enjoy we'll certainly go back there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agency1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#16 of 50 in Imerovigli
353 reviews
3.3 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.9 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
464 reviews
2.8 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
2.9 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#10 of 56 in Oia
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chromata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chromata Hotel

Address: Imerovigli Cyclades, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £192 - £573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chromata Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, preserving the Cycladic architecture, Chromata 5 star hotel both astounds and enchants visitors on so many different levels; from the hauntingly beautiful interiors within each of its 22 rooms and suites conveying the heavenly lifestyle of the island, to the uniquely captivating infinity pool from where one can literally breathe in the sheer essence of the volcano. Hidden oasis of calm on its back the Chromata's alfresco Pool Cocktail Lounge and Gourmet Resto offer three types of views: volcanoscape, poolside charm and natural splendor for long languorous afternoons stretching into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chromata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chromata Hotel Imerovigli
Chromata Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing