We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View and great breakfast.”
Review of Chromata Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Chromata Hotel
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing View and great breakfast.”
Reviewed 5 March 2011

The hotel is just situated in the best part of the Imerovigli, it's charming, clean and modern compared to a lot of hotels in the area.
The Greek culture is not as friendly as some might expect it, but the people you find in this hotel are the most friendly and kind you probably can find in the entire island, if you found hospitable, nice and friendly people working in the hotel, they are not Greek. This is from spending 11 days in Santorini.
The rooms are very very clean, recently renovated, no closet in some of the rooms. Our room had a hanger rack and they were willing to change our room when it was available but we would loose our amazing view for an okay view compare to what we had. So we endend up staying where we were. The pool area is amaaaaaaaaaaaazing. Large beds with breathtaking views, quiet and peaceful. The staff are very nice and attentive. Very relaxed atmosphere, the music is great. The manager, a young woman, very nice, she is at the property all the time. They give you a cell phone and you can connect with the hotel at anytime from anywhere in the island which is very very nice.
They deliver your breakfast to your room, great service, very very attentive. The food in most of the island was very bland and tasteless but the food in Chromata and their sister hotel Kirini, toped the entire food experience. The food in Greece is overrated. Not good at all. Simple pasta dishes, Greek Salad and their vegetarian dishes are your best choices. The view and the weather in Imirovigli is much better than oia, the hotels are situated much higher on the cliff so because of that, you get the panoramic view and more air flow. Overall, they get five stars for their view and location and four stars for their service and hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A711N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    75
    12
    13
    8
See reviews for
37
439
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

My husband and I stayed there for our honeymoon. It was superb! from the location to the food to the service. Everyone was so helpful and amazing. We rented an atv and went around the whole island.. Oia, fira, all are super close! Our suite #7 was perfect for a honeymoon balcony spot overlooking the caldera. Just spectacular. We had the breakfast as part of our package and it was on time everyday and so fresh. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Also a catamaran booking place is right across the street so our excursions were at our door step. The atv rental was a few feet down the road as well. Imerovigli is a great place to stay in santorini as far as view of caldera and it's in the middle of the island so you don't have to pay a lot like oia and not be able to see a lot of the island. Also the hotel is recently remodeled and very pretty!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honeymoonfun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

worth every penny. this place was beautiful the rooms are clean, the staff is nice AND far away from the Fira tourist madness.


I love this hotel and look forward to coming back asap!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ernestoelgato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We used Santorini as a 3 day 'chill-out' location midway through a 3 week vacation and it turned out to be just that. The hotel is about 15-20 minutes walk from Thera, the main town but its a walk that has heaps of photo opportunities along the way. The hotel, like many others is set on the hillside looking into the crater. Each room feels like its been dug out of the earth and is extremely 'cave-like' quiet. I would run out of superlatives if I had to describe this hotel any further.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Magical and picturesque, the Chromata is like no other in the world. Exceptional personal attention combined with stunning sunset views equals a holiday like no other. Truly unbelievable...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebnemnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MONTREAL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the newly renovated Chromata Hotel in Imerovigli, Santorini and it was truly superb. The room was spacious and relaxing and the morning breakfast served on the balcony facing the caldera was absolutely amazing. We have stayed at many luxury hotels in the past but this one was truly a once in a lifetime experience.

I congratulate the staff and proprietors for an 'amazing ...although pricey....experience"

Robert

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spacefb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Everything about our stay at Chromata was amazing. The setting was second to none, the accommodation was amazing and the staff, food and service were all first class. We really couldn't have wanted for anything more!!!! We loved every minute of our stay and really hope it won't be very long until we can come back again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iainc_richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 50 in Imerovigli
267 reviews
1.8 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#11 of 50 in Imerovigli
642 reviews
3.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#10 of 56 in Oia
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#5 of 50 in Imerovigli
1,381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.2 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#7 of 50 in Imerovigli
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chromata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chromata Hotel

Property: Chromata Hotel
Address: Imerovigli Cyclades, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chromata Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, preserving the Cycladic architecture, Chromata 5 star hotel both astounds and enchants visitors on so many different levels; from the hauntingly beautiful interiors within each of its 22 rooms and suites conveying the heavenly lifestyle of the island, to the uniquely captivating infinity pool from where one can literally breathe in the sheer essence of the volcano. Hidden oasis of calm on its back the Chromata's alfresco Pool Cocktail Lounge and Gourmet Resto offer three types of views: volcanoscape, poolside charm and natural splendor for long languorous afternoons stretching into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chromata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chromata Hotel Imerovigli
Chromata Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing