We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing - Utterly wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honeymoon Petra Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing - Utterly wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I've been to some beautiful places on holiday but this ranks with the best of them. It was stunning as the pictures can demonstrate. Having been invited to a family wedding, we would never have thought to go to Santorini before. However, we'll be heading back and staying at the Honeymoon Petra Villas.

The hotel is built on and into the rocks. It features a beautiful pool and cabana area. The sun deck was perfect to watch the sun go down with a glass. The staff were charming. The food was great too. I can't begin to explain the room which was like our own private cave. It was unlike anything we'd ever stayed in before and we loved it.

We'd stroll into town of an evening along the coast to a variety of wonderful restaurants. Perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for the Honeymoon side which is the newer set of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sah1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    41
    12
    10
    0
See reviews for
37
266
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

After visiting most of the island, my hubby and I felt that Imerovigli was the best place to stay in Santorini. Given that you can see most of the hotels as you walk around town, we quickly determined that Petra was the best hotel in Imerovigli.

It's definitely a quiet town; if you are after a crazy night life, it may not be the spot for you. But, for lounging, beautiful views, and great dining, it's the spot. A walk in to Thira and a day trip to Ia was almost shocking. They had both changed so much in the nearly 20 years since we'd last been here. They were both very touristy, and didn't feel like Greece. Not to bash, but just to say that if you've been away, as we had, the old towns didn't have the charm that they used to.

The Petra was a gorgoeus hotel, great rooms, beautiful views of the caldera. We stayed in the new part of the hotel. The pool was beautiful, it was easy to spend the afternoon there and watch the sunset from there. But, there were only a few spots by the pool and there were times when there weren't enough chairs. That is my only complaint.

Another warning is the stairs. I'd say this goes for any place on Santorini. There are a LOT of stairs. Everywhere. I couldn't help wondering how our parents would have fared. The upside is that your cardio will be awesome when you leave if it's lousy when you get there.

The staff was great, friendly and accommodating. It's somewhat family-run and you can feel it in a good way. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

One word to describe Honeymoon Petra is "Heaven". My husband and I arrived late due to a flight delay, and Evi was waiting there to greet us (despite being after hours) with a drink at the bar and a free bottle of wine in our room. We stayed in the older wing, which is a few minutes walk away from the pool/breakfast area, but still provides phenomenal views. Our jr. suite was a good size with a couch/sitting area, kitchen, and private balcony. Only negative about the room was the size of our bathroom and shower. The pool is believed to be the largest on the cliff side of the island, and is THE reason to stay here! The landscape is right out of a travel magazine with views of beautiful blue water set against the contrasting cliffs and white villas. The location is great for a quite halfway point between Oia and Fira.
Other than the pool/views, the hospitality is what really stood out. Evi made sure to make our stay perfect!! I hope that one day we can make it back to Santorini and we will definitely be staying at Honeymoon!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank npopp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

One of the best Hotels on the Rock!
Since there was nothing really to complain I found only one really little tiny thing to critisize:
Breakfast has room to improve:
it´s perfekt if you are into jam, honey, fruits but we are used to
"Salami & cross Bacon" but this seems to be a greek thing.
If you go to another country you should be openminded about different food.
The Rest was fabulous, perfect, thanks a lot!

Room Tip: Petra wing is even nicer than traditional wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fox4ce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

The resort is very well built. My view, is it has one of the best views on the island. Great service, very friendly staff. Spent alot of time in the pool area, the pool felt like it was connected to the ocean; very well done. We stayed at the traditional villas, not too impressed with the rooms, design and feel of the room was more of an old cottage. I heard the other suites are alot better with jacuzzi and so on. I would definetely upgrade to jacuzzi villas if I ever go next time.

Overall a great resort, great service, great staff, will definetely go again, if I could ever afford the trip again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherpa150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Just spent a week here this place is one of the worlds best kept secrets lovely location and great people. One warning lots of up and down paths. You will will find some good tavernas nearby but make sure you look around for the best deal. Views cost! Fir is about 30 mins walk down the old path.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucyandfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level Contributor
404 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Almost exactly twenty four years ago I chanced upon a place on Santorini in a part of town that wasn't as developed as the capital. When planning our recent trip, I consulted my old diary, saw a name Honeymoon, and wrote to ask if this hotel was perhaps the one I'd stayed at so many years ago. I received a prompt and lovely answer from Evi and a greeting from the owner, who had started his dream hotel way back then.

Since it's easy to romanticize the past, I was curious to see if my memories were accurate. And I was astonished. Santorini is even more beautiful than I'd remembered. Or as one of the many friendly guests we met during out stay, someone who has seen most of the world said: The view of the caldera is as breathtaking as anywhere else on earth.

Honeymoon Petra Villas has gone from a simple place with just a few rooms and an astonishing view to a luxurious hotel with many different vistas bedded in lush vegetation and rock gardens, beautiful new suites perching precipitously on the cliff but snuggled into the mountain so you feel very secure. These newer rooms of the Petra (Greek for stone) Wing have showers with walls made of black lava. The pool is surreal - it feels like walking onto a Hollywood set or into one of those glossy magazine photos that you think must have photoshopped. As other reviewers have commented, you do have the best view here of all Santorini – you can see the entire island from southernmost tip to the far north at Oia with a full sweep of the dizzying caldera in between, the imposing Skaros rock, the volcanic islands, Santorini's sister isle Therasia, and beyond more of the Cyclades floating on the horizon. Then just look over your shoulder to glimpse a view of the rest of the island sloping eastwards to the sea.

While you can find other luxury hotels in this part of Santorini, which has changed so much since I was first there, it's not only the unique setting that makes Honeymoon Petra incomparable. What sets the hotel apart is the friendliness of the staff: a rare combination of a luxury hotel with family hospitality. And the same owner as years ago, Yannis, still welcoming guests to his home, a home he's very proud of having built and expanded over the last quarter century. Maybe you'll be lucky to catch some of the spellbinding stories from his years at sea before he returned to his beloved home and set about making his dream reality.

If you have the chance, take advantage of the opportunity to rent a sailboat with one of Yannis's sons and go on a cruise. While it's somewhat more expensive than the regular tourist boats, the five hours we spent sailing with another couple on a route of our choice was worth every extra penny.

And finally don't let the name Honeymoon confuse you; while we got to see a traditional wedding ceremony from a distance with the (Australian!) bride riding a Greek donkey, the mix of ages and nationalities makes for a wonderfully friendly atmosphere. We could've stayed for less money on Santorini – but as others have remarked, the food served at the pool bar isn't expensive and is very delicious. And the four days we spent there were as intensely relaxing as four weeks elsewhere. We're already saving for our next trip. I definitely won't wait another twenty-four years to go back to paradise.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#12 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.0 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
1.8 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#11 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeymoon Petra Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeymoon Petra Villas

Property: Honeymoon Petra Villas
Address: | P.O Box 150, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#14 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#22 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Honeymoon Petra Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the magical island of Santorini, in the charming village of Imerovigli, Honeymoon Petra luxury hotel stands perched above the deep blue Aegean Sea.Family owned and run, this unique 5 star Santorini hotel has a lot more to offer than just accommodation. Its extraordinary views, rich Greek flavor and unique hospitality, distinguish it as a remarkably unique and tranquil heaven.The Pool, the biggest one on the Caldera, is hewn out of the volcanic rock and the facilities around it include a steam room and outdoor Jacuzzi, a Pool Bar and Day restaurant, a BBQ area, a breakfast area with panoramic views and large, comfortable lounge chairs and daybeds for the ultimate relaxation experience. From the pool area guests can experience some of the most awe-inspiring sunsets in the world.One of the most extraordinary luxury hotels in Santorini, Honeymoon Petra offers stylish and comfortable accommodation, taking full advantage of its breathtaking location and views of the caldera, volcano and the satellite islands of Santorini. The complex is developed in 2 wings; the Traditional Wing, a group of 9 luxury Rooms & Suites built into the rock, in the traditional style of the island, and the Petra Wing, a group of 17 luxury Rooms & Suites built from the rocks of the volcanic mountains.Honeymoon Petra Villas, a luxury hotel tucked quaintly into the rock, is 10km away from the international airport, 2km from the capital of the island Fira and closely located to the ancient fortress of Skaros.Distinguishing from other Santorini luxury hotels, Honeymoon Petra will make your stay an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Honeymoon Petra Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeymoon Petra Villas Hotel Imerovigli
Honeymoon Petra Hotel
Honeymoon Petra Imerovigli
Honeymoon Petra Villas Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing