We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View and Friendly Staff.. But...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Fontana, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful View and Friendly Staff.. But...”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We recently stayed at Petra Honeymoon Villas (mid Sept) for 3 nights. The grounds, pool area and views from the pool area are incredbile. We reserved a standard room which we felt would be fine for our needs for a 3 night stay on the island. However, the room was sub par to say the least as it was very dated and in need of major renovation and overall better cleaning.
The bathroom was unbelieveably small for an adult couple with virtually no lighting. The shower area is basically unuseable due to it's size and no lighting. My husband ended up using the pool shower a couple of times...which was not ideal either. We did speak to the staff about it but they were full capacity and could not upgrade us. I would have not stayed at this hotel if I knew what the accomodations were for the standard room.

The staff however was very nice, in particular Evie and Gianna were great. And, we did arrange a catamarin tour with their sailing center and that experience was incredible. Elena, Michael and the entire crew was just awesome!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite. Do not book the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wantssun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeymoon P, Ιδιοκτήτης at Honeymoon Petra Villas, responded to this review, 22 September 2016
Dear Wantssun,

Thank you for selecting the Honeymoon Petra Villas and for sharing your experience following your stay.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our staff and your sailing trip organized by the Santorini Sailing Center.

We regret to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your room and we assure you that if we have the opportunity to accommodate you in the future you will be delighted to experience our renovated studios & suites, the public areas and the rest of our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    44
    12
    10
    0
See reviews for
43
283
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed 4 days and sailed for 4 days with Santorini Sailing Center. Both were first class. Views from hotel are breathtaking. Service was excellent including reception, baggage transport, breakfast, lunch and bar staff. Imerovigli is 15 minute walk from Fira. Very quiet, away from tourist boat crowds. We will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomandSherry55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We have just returned from Honeymoon Petra Villas. It was Heaven! The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. There are lots of steps so not for people with walking difficulties but the bags are transported for you from the bus to your room.The location is probably the best in Imerovigli, with stunning views of the caldera and the sunset. We visited as a birthday treat for my husband but it was more like a second honeymoon. This was one of the best places we have ever visited and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We would recommend the Petra part of the hotel as the old part is quite a walk away from the pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September and had the most enjoyable experience. The hotel is at one of the highest points on the island giving it the best spot to survey the caldera with views that can only be described as unreal.
Our room was perfect with views to match, always kept very clean and tidy by staff who clearly took great trouble to ensure everything was right. We had a "standard room" which was everything we could have wished for.
The food and service at the hotel were extremely good and all the staff regardless of their duties were not just helpful but very friendly which made our time all the more enjoyable.
The location of the hotel is ideal as it is possible to walk to Thira the capital in about 30 minutes or go by a very short bus ride in the opposite direction to my favourite town Oia (a town not to be missed).
We travel extensively but have to say this place is special so if you have not got this on your list of places to visit make sure its at the top of the list together with a stay at the Honeymoon Petra Villas.
Loved Santorini, loved the hotel, loved the food and loved the locals even more.

Room Tip: If choosing a standard room make sure its on the opposite side of the main path to reception as thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbag88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed at the Petra honeymoon villas for our honeymoon, having just came back two days ago. This hotel is truly impressive and we still cannot get over the stunning views. Imerovigli is the quietest and most beautiful village in Santorini, it is not as crowded with tourists and is ideal for honeymooners and people searching for peace and quiet while enjoying spectacular views. The village has the most ideal spot on the island so you really get the best, 360 degrees, stunning views. But the Honeymoon Petra villas is the place where you should stay - it has the most outdoor space, it is architecturally impressive, and the views it offers are the best I have ever seen. The outdoor area really offers unbelievable views, the pool bar area is to die for and the different levels on which you can find super comfortable sunbeds and sofas offers you the chance to discover every time more and new elements of this stunning view. The service in the hotel is more than amazing, everyone working there is incredibly lovely and friendly, while really professional and they make you feel like you are part of the family. Evi and Olga are truly amazing and by the time we left I felt like we were friends! The owner of the hotel, Ioannis, is a really friendly and generous person, he not only treated us drinks at the pool at night and let us know interesting details of how he built this spectacular place, but was also so generous as to treat us our final night stay in the hotel!!! He is a really interesting individual and if you see him around you should definitely talk to him, the history of how the Petra hotel was created is worth knowing. The hotel is truly spectacular, the rooms are very stylish, we were so lucky to be upgraded to a delux double, which is really spacious, very nicely decorated in a modern but slightly rustic style, the bathrooms are really lovely and the outside space truly breathtaking - every guest gets to have their own sunbeds with an amazing view, you could spend eternity staring outside your window or balcony and never get bored of this spectacular place. The breakfasts were really lovely, there was a huge selection of everything you could want and you get the pleasure of choosing a different spot on the many levels with tables, all offering a different view. The sunsets are absolutely amazing in Santorini and the hotel offers - and everyone we spoke agrees on this point - the best views on the island. You really have to experience the sunsets from the prime spot on which the hotel is situated. I cannot get over the amazing infinity pool and the great time we had drinking freshly squeezed juices in the pool while enjoying the spectacular views. Santorini is a unique and stunningly beautiful island and everyone should experience it in their lifetime. The Petra Honeymoon Villas is the best place you can stay in in Santorini: the views will leave you totally impressed and the lovely staff will make you feel at home with their generosity and impeccable hospitality. I really cannot wait to return to this place, it was the most amazing place I have ever visited.

Room Tip: any room on the new wing is very nicely decorated in modern, yet slightly rustic, style and has incr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milena_phs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We spent a week at this wonderful hotel in August. We were promptly picked up at the airport by a friendly, smiling driver and transported to the hotel in an air conditioned coach with a complimentary cold drink. We were then taken to reception where we were greeted by Evi and then given a tour of the hotel. It has about 25 rooms, so not too large or not too small.

I have to say, the reason it is the best, is that the place is the lifelong passion by the owner Mr Yannis. You can tell he has put his heart and soul into the design and service to ensure a perfect holiday. He is also a very interesting man to speak to. He is on site and oversees the operation daily and everything runs like clockwork.

To describe the views out to the Caldera as stunning breathtaking is an understatement! Photographs cannot capture the beauty and serenity. It is also the most perfect place to watch the sunset, the tables are aligned for the best view and you can have drinks socially watching the sun go down. We made nice friends with the other guests who stayed there.

We stayed in the New Honeymoon Suite which was immaculate and brand new feeling. The bed was very comfortable, the sitting area was spacious and very modern, and the bathroom was well equipped with a large walk in shower and wonderful jazuzzi tub.. Both our room and the pool area/hotel complex were immaculately clean and well maintained by hotel staff. Rooms were cleaned when we were at breakfast and we had very plush pool towels to use.

The staff at the hotel were AMAZING. Mr Yannis and the breakfast/barstaff girls were just fabulous. We were always greeted with a big smile and a chat. Nothing was ever too much trouble. We have never been so well looked after and made to feel at home as we felt at Petra Villas. On the very first morning, we were told at breakfast if there was any special request, it would be no problem and they would get it for us. And thoughout the day, the girls who were the pool staff, everything was done with a huge smile and to absolutle perfection.

As part of the stay, you are connected and have complete access to the Santorine Saling Centre. Mr Yannis son runs the boats. We did an day out on the sparkling water. Here too, every little detail was perfect, all done with a smile and nothing we wanted was a problem.

In conclusion, we are booking same week next year and this time for a longer stay. It was so relaxing and we were made to feel like king and queen. There are alot of choices in Santorini to stay at, we were completely satisfied in everyway and there is nothing better.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKD97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed in August 2012 for 14 nights. Having stayed in first class hotels all over the world, what drew us to this hotel were the photos of the outdoor spaces, fabulous looking rooms and of course its amazing location on the beautiful caldera. The reason we are not giving the hotel a 5 star review is that the studios in the Petra Wing need renovating. When booking you need to specify that you would like a remodelled room and then you will not be disappointed. Maybe we got this room because we booked via Manos but nevertheless it was not a cheap holiday and we spent about £5,000 in total over the 2 weeks. We stayed in room 12 which we think had the best views and we enjoyed watching the cruise ships coming and going - don't forget your binoculars! It overlooked the entrance to the hotel and we shared a veranda area with a neighbouring studio. This studio was a very basic room with a dark grey dingy bathroom. There were no drawers, so a two week stay became very trying and we eventually paid to upgrade to a room beneath the pool - this was a cave-type room, but don't look for photos of these as they don't seem to feature on the official websites. We found the staff really friendly and helpful, especially Evi, Olga and Geunina who were lovely. The outdoor areas are really good and there was never any problem getting a sunbed. The pool was lovely and good to dip into when the temperatures soared to about 38 degrees. The weather was interesting - mostly okay but the wind became a bit maddening from time to time as it whistled around the caldera. One morning we awoke to see the whole island covered in thick mist and we could not see the buildings opposite. Generally though I think you could expect to have sunny days and a nice breeze, just don't wear full skirts! Lunches at the hotel were very good - we ate 3 times and it was good value for seafood spagetti at 10E each. Wine was 5E per glass and the Petra's own white wine is excellent. On arrival you are given a tour of the hotel facilities and a welcome drink at the bar - it was lovely to chat to Guenina. A basket of fruit and a bottle of wine awaited us in the room too and we also got a towelling bathrobe and slippers for the duration of the stay. Pool towels were interesting - I suspect they distinguish their upper-class rooms by the colour of the towels! Yannis, the owner, seemed to be around a lot, supervising his staff, which we thought unnecessary as the staff are wonderful at their jobs. Peace and tranquility can be found at this hotel at times. The music around the pool area is well chosen and at a good background volume. Breakfast was very enjoyable and good quality with lots of choice, although the hot food was never varied. We loved sitting at the wooden bar with the whole of the caldera in front of us - total bliss. Local restaurants - we ate at Anestis twice and enjoyed the food very much, but its decor is not very solubrious. Have shrimp spagetti if you like big crustaceans. The barrel (house) wine is excellent value and you will be pleasantly surprised all over the island they serve good quality white house wine. We also ate at Bella Thira which is a family run taverna by the road just up from the hotel and opposite Petra's Sailing Centre office. The staff were very friendly and willing to tell you about their lives. Its a pity about the location which is by the carpark and road, but if you sit inside you can still enjoy the quaint murals and good food. The local Nissi market is good for buying wine - you can get a 5 litre box of good tasting Santo white wine for E13.25 and keep it in the fridge in your room. A walk into Thira will take about 30 minutes but don't try it at night as there is a tricky bit on rough path which is okay in daylight, but its poorly lit. We saw a lot of Thira as the bus terminus is there. The bus service is supposed to be every 20 minutes from Imerovigli, but we often waited 40 minutes. Fares cost E1.20 to Thira and the same outwards to many destinations, but Perissa beach was E2.20. We ate at Stani Taverna in Thira a couple of times - its not the best looking but the staff were friendly and the food was good. There is a Chinese restaurant if you get tired of Greek food - its by the cable car steps in Thira - the food was very good, so don't let the decor in the narrow restaurant put you off. Our favourite beach was Kamari and we hired sunbed sets for E7 per day. We chose the Prince because it looked the best bar/restaurant and their lovely waiter brought drinks down to you on the beach - you just pressed the button on the parasol and he came promptly and brought us extra ice when we asked. The food was great there and the staff really helpful and friendly. At Perissa we had sunbeds at Aquarius and again the facilities were good, clean toilets etc and food excellent. Neither of them was over- priced for food and drink E4.90 for 1/2 litre of house wine at Aquarius. I had Pistatsi, which was a traditional meat and pasta dish with white sauce, baked in the oven - rather nice. Thai massage on the beach was E45 for a full hour and done on your sunbed. We went to Oia and down the steps to Amoudi Bay to eat at the Sunset Taverna/Grill. Although the meal was memorable for sitting at the very edge of the water(!) the food was disappointing. I was not going to pay about E90 for the lobster spagetti, thank you very much! Food discovery - cheese saganaki - like cheese on toast without the toast - yum yum.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodelled room, but if you don't like a lot of steps then do not go below the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.2 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
1.8 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#13 of 50 in Imerovigli
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#22 of 50 in Imerovigli
420 reviews
3.2 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeymoon Petra Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeymoon Petra Villas

Property: Honeymoon Petra Villas
Address: | P.O Box 150, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#14 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#22 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Honeymoon Petra Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the magical island of Santorini, in the charming village of Imerovigli, Honeymoon Petra luxury hotel stands perched above the deep blue Aegean Sea.Family owned and run, this unique 5 star Santorini hotel has a lot more to offer than just accommodation. Its extraordinary views, rich Greek flavor and unique hospitality, distinguish it as a remarkably unique and tranquil heaven.The Pool, the biggest one on the Caldera, is hewn out of the volcanic rock and the facilities around it include a steam room and outdoor Jacuzzi, a Pool Bar and Day restaurant, a BBQ area, a breakfast area with panoramic views and large, comfortable lounge chairs and daybeds for the ultimate relaxation experience. From the pool area guests can experience some of the most awe-inspiring sunsets in the world.One of the most extraordinary luxury hotels in Santorini, Honeymoon Petra offers stylish and comfortable accommodation, taking full advantage of its breathtaking location and views of the caldera, volcano and the satellite islands of Santorini. The complex is developed in 2 wings; the Traditional Wing, a group of 9 luxury Rooms & Suites built into the rock, in the traditional style of the island, and the Petra Wing, a group of 17 luxury Rooms & Suites built from the rocks of the volcanic mountains.Honeymoon Petra Villas, a luxury hotel tucked quaintly into the rock, is 10km away from the international airport, 2km from the capital of the island Fira and closely located to the ancient fortress of Skaros.Distinguishing from other Santorini luxury hotels, Honeymoon Petra will make your stay an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Honeymoon Petra Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeymoon Petra Villas Hotel Imerovigli
Honeymoon Petra Hotel
Honeymoon Petra Imerovigli
Honeymoon Petra Villas Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing