We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming and Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 537 helpful votes
“A Charming and Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We were guests of the Honeymoon Petra Villas for 4 nights in late September and loved every minute of our stay. The photos on the website are accurate but don’t do the property justice. Unlike many other high end hotels on the island, Honeymoon Petra Villas has significant landscaping. There are multiple terraced rock gardens with a variety of flowering pants, succulents, and cacti. It is not, however, for the mobility challenged. We are two very fit people who exercise regularly, but walking the steps to and from our room was a challenging workout of lunges and squats.

The pool area is fantastic. The edgeless pool is one of the larger ones on the island and is immaculate. Views are breathtaking. Honeymoon is beautifully situated on the caldera so that it takes in the entire area. There are other luxurious properties, but few have this perspective. The pool area has a bar which is open almost 24 hours. Drinks are expensive but are very well mixed. Georgia, the wait person by the pool is lovely. We understood that light snacks were available but never ordered.

We stayed in the Petra section in a superior Petra room. The room was recently renovated and is contemporary but still feels traditional. Our room was large with decent closet and drawer space. The bathroom was dark, however. The TV was located at the end of the room and watching from the bed at the opposite end was not comfortable.

Our room was on the lowest level and closest to the sea and aside from our neighbours whose patio/terrace was across the sidewalk, we had complete privacy. The beauty of the Petra section property is that there is no foot traffic near the property. No one gazing down on you, as is typical in so many other hotels.

Breakfast was included but is not a strong suit of the hotel. Eggs were extremely overcooked and the bacon was almost raw. Additionally there were breads, pastries, cheese, meats, cereals, yogurt and fruit on offer, so although simple, there was always something to eat. And the incredible views in the breakfast area makes one forgive the culinary flaws.

Because we were staying for 4 nights, we were entitled to a complimentary sailboat cruise of the caldera. After discussions, we decided instead to purchase a half day cruise on a catamaran with 6 others, which was also offered by the hotel owner at a cost, although discounted. It took about 5 hours, included beer and wine and soft drinks, and a lovely lunch which consisted of Greek salad, grilled meats, bread, and fruit. A couple of stops were made so that one could swim if one wanted to. It was the highlight if our time in Santorini.

We also enjoyed hiking to Oia. We agree with the previous reviewer about the footing. Do wear proper footwear if you attempt this. Flip flops are folly. Wear a closed shoe with treads. And make sure you bring sunscreen and a hat. It's hot and there is no shade during the 2 1/2 hour walk.

Although the hotel has no concierge, the ladies in reception Evi and Olga wear many hats and are fantastic hostesses. They gave directions, arranged tours, made dinner reservations, and called taxis. They are charming young women and they were very much central to our successful stay.

Speaking of restaurants, Ambrosia and 1800 in Oia are very good. In Imerovigli, we loved La Maison. The octopus in sweet syrup is outstanding. We were not impressed with Sphinx in Fira despite its good reviews in travel books and the hotel’s recommendation. I hope to post reviews for these restaurants and others at a later date.

On the whole, we were very impressed with the food in Santorini. Santorini wines, too, are excellent. We particularly enjoyed our tasting at the Canava Roussos winery. Unfortunately, it was late in the season and the mezza that are normally served were not available. The wines we sampled were terrific, however.

Would I recommend the hotel? In a heartbeat. l

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fearful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    45
    12
    10
    0
See reviews for
45
298
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We just returned from six incredible days at Honeymoon Petra Villas. We chose this hotel to celebrate a 50th birthday and we couldn't have made a better selection. From a location standpoint, Imerovigli's more central location places it above Oia as a home base. It is an easy walk into Fira and the 2-2 1/2 hour walk to Oia is well worth the time if you are sufficiently fit to make it over the two mountains. It is not a terribly difficult hike but the footing is difficult at times.

We arrived and were greeted by Olga, the hotel manager. She informed us that we had been upgraded and, when we arrived at our room, a bottle of wine and a fruit basket were waiting! Olga and Evi, the two women who work the main office, were very nice and very helpful during our entire stay.

The room itself was nice, but not luxurious. That didn't really matter since we spent virtually all of our time either at the pool or exploring the island. The room was comfortable and everything worked. We also had a little balcony with two chairs looking south towards Fira and the southern timp of the island.

The pool is spectacular. It even has a built-in jacuzzi! I've never seen that before. The bar staff, Georgia in particular, were attentive and very, very nice. The complimentary breakfast was a welcome treat. The homemade yogurt was great and there was always a nice selection of fresh fruits, baked goods, eggs, and juice/coffee. Not gourmet food by any stretch, but certainly adequate.

As I mentioned, the key here is location. It is an easy walk to the Imerovigli Tavern. We ate there on both the first night and the last night. Make sure to make a reservation and try the mussels saganaki!

On the day we walked to Oia we ate at Restaurant 1800, considered to be the best on the island. It did not disappoint. Expensive but well worth it. On another evening we ate at a new restaurant named Pirouni (Fork). It is a small, eight table place in Firostefani, the little town you pass through on the way to Fira. Mama Fira was also very good.

Make sure to try the wines of Santorini, particularly the white Assyrtiko wines. They are excellent and each has its own distinctive character.

We took advantage of the hotel's offer of a five-hour sailing trip. Our trip started at 3 and ended a little after 8. We were able to watch the sunset from the water. Amazing. It is also amazing to see the island from sea level as you really gain an appreciation for the height and variety of the various cliffs.

As for the sunsets, we never bothered to go to Oia because they are so beautiful at Honeymoon Petra. The key is the volcano and another island that form a forefront for the sun setting in the distance over them. In Oia all you get is the sun dropping into the water. Also, because of its more central location, you can see how the light plays on the entire island, including Oia. It makes for some splendid photographs.

If you can't yet tell, we absolutely loved our stay at Honeymoon Petra and on the island of Santorini. We hope to go back many times in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BinsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

My husband and I had a week in a Petra villa and it was just divine! We had booked a standard room through Thomas Cook but upgraded as soon as we arrived to a villa with a bit more privacy and stunning views. The wonderful view of the Caldera can been seen from all parts of the resort, including the infinity pool. The resort was peaceful and uncrowded - we never had to jostle for a sunbed! The location is great - Imerovigli is in my opinion the nicest part of the island with fantastic home cooked food at the Imerovigli Tavern just up the road.

The resort has just been renovated and it looks fantastic. Our villa was lovely and fresh although the bathroom still needed some updating and the shower was quite small. The staff were very friendly and the porters were wonderful - carrying heavy suitcases up and down those stairs in the heat of the day. The breakfast wasn't anything to write home about but perfectly fine. I would recommend Honeymoon Petra Villas to anyone - one of the most beautiful places we have stayed!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berryl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

My fiancee and I stayed at the Honeymoon suites for 4 nights last summer and were thrilled with the hotel.
The location is perfect. A 20 minute walk into Fira passing through the quaint streets of Imerovigli and Fira . The architecture and views cannot be beat! Around every corner is a breathtaking view. At the hotel itself, you will find the nicest sunset in all of Santorini! We went into Oia one night to watch it there and regretted having missed it back at the Honeymoom Villas, as the view is so much nicer and we could have a nice glass of wine on the patio while watching the sunset between islands.
The hotel grounds are impressive as well. Great lounge areas, great pool, bar service near the pool is fantastic with good food and drink. Being the lowest hotel on the cliff means lots of stairs, definitely bring a sturdy pair of shoes.
It's true that the rooms are a little outdated, but they are comfy and spacious. We hardly spent any time in them anyway, so we were not at all disappointed. Breakfast was OK. You'll probably be disappointed if you are a big eater, but for a quick nosh, it was fine with us.
Even if you don't stay at this hotel, it is certainly worth going for a sunset cocktail by the pool! You won't find a nicer sunset on the island and you won't have to deal with the annoying tourists that congregate in Oia.
The next time we go back to Santorini, and we certainly will, we will stay at the Honeymoon Villas.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeetsAFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Santorini is gorgeous island and Honeymoon Petra has great location on the caldera with breathtaking views.
Our room was a start of the petra wing. It was spacious with terrace out front to enjoy views. Staff at hotel are lovely and friendly, and the porters are amazing how they manage to lug cases from main street to hotel in the summer heat! Breakfast is adequate. Our favourite part of hotel was the amazing pool!! It's so peaceful and always loungers available. We spent most of our days soaking up the rays!
The hotels location is perfect for catching the famous sunset, which we did rather than going to Oia, which gets very crowded at sunset.
We did venture to Fira, which can be done by local bus or can be walked, which is lovely walk through Firostefani into Fira!
Highly recommend Braveheart bar in Fira, which is ran by lovely Scottish woman and her husband. It's very friendly place and reasonably priced compared some of the other bars in Fira (Do not venture to Murphy's - over priced and unfriendly service!)
A few lovely places to eat near the hotel. Our favourite was La Maison, where the food was delicious and the staff so nice, offering pashminas in case cold and the waiter remembered us from another night, which was nice. People seem to flock to Imerovigli Tavern, which has great location and food was nice but service with slow and few cats wandering about in the restaurant. One even tried to swipe lettuce from my plate, cheeky!
Drinks are quite expensive at hotel, 14 euros for 2 rum & cokes, so we bought our own supplies from Jimmy's supermarket and enjoyed some after dinner drinks on our terrace.
We did Volcanic experience trip, which takes you to volcanic island, followed by hot springs and then to Thirrsa for lunch. Would recommend it, just make sure you have decent walking shoes.
We have a wonderful relaxing holiday in Santorini and would highly recommend it, especially Honeymoon Petra Villas

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

..........and it is hard to outdo the reviews below, but here are my thoughts. Everything about our weeks stay in Honeymoon exceeded expectations. First and foremost is the location - I can not account for other accommodation in Imerovigli, but simply can not see how this spot can be surpassed. This is the only place where you can nearly see the whole island - the northern tip to Oia, past Skaros rock, down to the capital of Fira all the way to the southern tip of Akrotiri lighthouse as well as the resort of Kamari on the western side of the island.

We first met the owner, Gioannis when we arrived at 8pm and he made us feel like long lost family as he treated us to a welcome drink and explained the history of the hotel as well as his sailing activities. The rest of the staff were a credit to the hotel as there was always a smile and a friendly chat, nothing ever being too much trouble.

The hotel facilities are superb, the pool setting incredible and well thought out, some very creative use of the volcanic rock that the hotel is built into. The sun beds were plentiful and in lovely locations. Breakfast was served at a breakfast bar and provided plenty of options as well as the treat of taking in the morning views of the caldera.

We stayed in a traditional studio so you will have to read other reports on the more luxurious rooms, but we found it well appointed, clean (very good cleaners), fresh and a good base for our holiday. The bonus of sitting on your balcony with a view across the sea to Fira and beyond made it that little bit more special.

In terms of activities, we had the indulgence of a 1 hour full body massage, which felt like a nice little reward after the significant wear and tear in walking anywhere from Imerovigli. There are a handful of decent restaurants in the village, but if you wanted more variety, trips into Fira or Oia were easy to make.

We hired a quad bike to visit a few parts of the island - probably shouldn't have, but what the hell, it was a great way to get around and we loved it.

We also took the hotels offer of a free sailing trip - setting off from Vylchada, around to the caldera, navigating the volcano, stopping off for some swimming, fed and watered, then sailing back watcing the sun go down whilst at sea - pure tranquility!

It was a perfect holiday in terms of relaxation and awe inspiring location, we will not forget our time here as well as the wonderful people working here making it the best holiday we have had - we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2009

Simply one of our best hotel stays ever! The views are probably among the world's best! You've got to experince the sunsets on the terrace by the swimming pool - a defintie must and is much better, in our opinion, than seeing it at Oia.....The best thing about the staff is how they let you enjoy your time the way you want to....no pressures...smiles everywhere...Always ready to serve and are very flexible!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.1 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.2 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#17 of 51 in Imerovigli
293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#21 of 51 in Imerovigli
427 reviews
1.8 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#13 of 51 in Imerovigli
665 reviews
3.2 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeymoon Petra Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeymoon Petra Villas

Property: Honeymoon Petra Villas
Address: | P.O Box 150, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#10 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#22 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Honeymoon Petra Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the magical island of Santorini, in the charming village of Imerovigli, Honeymoon Petra luxury hotel stands perched above the deep blue Aegean Sea.Family owned and run, this unique 5 star Santorini hotel has a lot more to offer than just accommodation. Its extraordinary views, rich Greek flavor and unique hospitality, distinguish it as a remarkably unique and tranquil heaven.The Pool, the biggest one on the Caldera, is hewn out of the volcanic rock and the facilities around it include a steam room and outdoor Jacuzzi, a Pool Bar and Day restaurant, a BBQ area, a breakfast area with panoramic views and large, comfortable lounge chairs and daybeds for the ultimate relaxation experience. From the pool area guests can experience some of the most awe-inspiring sunsets in the world.One of the most extraordinary luxury hotels in Santorini, Honeymoon Petra offers stylish and comfortable accommodation, taking full advantage of its breathtaking location and views of the caldera, volcano and the satellite islands of Santorini. The complex is developed in 2 wings; the Traditional Wing, a group of 9 luxury Rooms & Suites built into the rock, in the traditional style of the island, and the Petra Wing, a group of 17 luxury Rooms & Suites built from the rocks of the volcanic mountains.Honeymoon Petra Villas, a luxury hotel tucked quaintly into the rock, is 10km away from the international airport, 2km from the capital of the island Fira and closely located to the ancient fortress of Skaros.Distinguishing from other Santorini luxury hotels, Honeymoon Petra will make your stay an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Honeymoon Petra Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeymoon Petra Villas Hotel Imerovigli
Honeymoon Petra Hotel
Honeymoon Petra Imerovigli
Honeymoon Petra Villas Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing