We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior hospitality, service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superior hospitality, service and location”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I recently returned from a trip to Santorini. I arrived fairly unschooled and unprepared so the trip was truly hinged on the ability of the owners to help to suggest attractions and restaurants. They created a map full of top restaurants and attractions that they recommended and we hit almost all of them. They were able to create a vacation for us that was truly unique, relaxing and fun. The owners are truly eclectic and have interests in just about everything. They also create a fresh, organic and delicious breakfast spread each morning made from produce from their own garden. These gentleman are truly passionate about sharing the best of Santorini and creating the best environment. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have superior views. You can't go wrong. Given the 30 year history of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    12
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
41
193
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is a long overdue review of the flawless accommodations and service provided by the team at Altana. We stayed a week in Santorini on our honeymoon in late August / early September of last year. My wife and I left believing that you’d have to lack a pulse to not fall in love with the island, but that you’d be simply crazy to stay anywhere but the Altana if it is available. The views were uncommonly breathtaking, the food was amazing, and the caring, dedicated staff worked tirelessly – yet remarkably unobtrusively – to make us feel at home. Christos and his team helped us arrange dinners and activities, ensured that we didn’t miss any of Santorini’s natural beauty and ageless charm, and maintained perhaps the best-kept rooms in all of Europe. I’d also challenge anyone whom Christos helped to try and leave without feeling like he was part of your family (or, at the very least, wishing he was one of your oldest friends).

Clearly, there is no shortage of well-deserved, sterling Altana reviews on this site – so, one more 5 star classification may only be of marginal value to trip planners – but my conscience and that of my wife would not be satisfied without publicly paying this little gem it’s just due.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pequea, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I travel internationally a lot, and this is my second time to Greece, but this hotel made our trip more than I could have ever imagined. The owners arranged and performed our wedding ceremony for us and 16 guests, as well as provided amazing accommodations and great advice on little restaurants and shops to visit off the beaten path. We cannot wait to come back for an anniversary!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoelleMatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pequea, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I was lucky enough to go to Santorini recently for the 2nd time, this time to get married. The hotel was more than I could ever imagine and the hospitality of the owners and staff was out of this world. They handled our wedding arrangements, our guests and helped us find the best restaurants and shops off the beaten path. I have been to many places in this world and this is by far my favorite!

Room Tip: Any room is amazing! Be prepared for lots of steps, but the hotel is quick to help with carrying you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is picture perfect postcard view of the Caldera with super friendly attententive staff always discretely ready to please .We are regular visitors at Altana & for good very reason .Christo & company go the extra mile to please & ensure your stay will me memorable one .
The caldera has a magic to it that,s indescibable , be it sunset or sunrise the attraction is always there & you cant go wrong in choosing Altana to enjoys its spleandour

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Azzurriblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Where to begin? Maybe with the automatic upgrade to the Honeymoon suite upon arrival. The room was spacious with an incredible view, private(ish) terrace, hot tub (inside) and super comfy queen size bed. We stayed in more modern rooms on other islands (all 4 star+) but the service at Altana puts it in a class by itself. We can't say enough about the personal touch from Christos and his staff. Unreal. From the 1hr orientation with "local" recommendations to the private dinner prepared by Christos and served on our balcony. Christos was on a mission to make our Santorini stay perfect - and it was better. We've already recommended Altana to several of our engaged friends and we will definitely return. I miss Santorini!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishGuyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We were so glad we chose this hotel. There were cheaper options on Santorini, but the experience here was well worth every cent.

Christos was everything promised by all the other reviewers. He was so kind an attentive- we really felt spoiled. The staff were all friendly and knowledgeable, truly eager to help us enjoy our stay.

Our room was cozy, very clean, and with a stunning view. The pool is small, but as a small hotel it was never crowded.

Location, we thought, was perfect. We didn't want to be in a noisy or crowded place, but also didn't rent a car. It was a 15-20 min walk to Fira, which was perfect for getting to restaurants or shopping, but still quiet and much more private than other hotels we saw. Oia is a very easy bus ride away.

Overall, this is an ideal place for a romantic vacation. I can't say enough good things about it.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.2 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#5 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#7 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#6 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
2.7 mi away
Celestia Grand
Celestia Grand
#1 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altana Traditional Houses and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altana Traditional Houses and Suites

Property: Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#5 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#9 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Altana Traditional Houses and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming boutique hotel brings centuries-old style, history and hospitality luxuriously to life at the highest point of Santorini’s breathtaking volcanic Caldera, in Imerovigli. The restoration project of a Traditional Mansion owned by a family of generations of Captains that began in 1979 established Altana Hotel in 1983 as the first high standard guest house in the area of Imerovigli and certainly among the first on the Santorinian Caldera. This historical building complex dating back over a century, between 1779 and 1883 has been preserved, restored and renovated to meet the highest standards of modern luxury. The 6 apartments and 8 suites at Altana, each unique, blend traditional local architecture and aesthetics with modern amenities that tastefully cater for any true traveler's comfort. A unique sensitivity to detail and restored original objects revive the simple elegance of tradition and pay homage to the history of the mansion. A deeply personal service philosophy offers a unique hospitality experience in a setting surrounded by an endless horizon of blue in a bird’s eye view of the Santorinian Caldera, the Volcano, and the whole of the Southern Aegean Sea, including the neighboring islands. Enjoy a dip under the sun in the highest swimming pool on the island and feel free against the sea breeze. Lose your breath to the vibrant sunrises and mystical sunsets from your private veranda. Relax in your suite’s private Jacuzzi pool or rejuvenate your mind and body with a plethora of massage, yoga, chi-kung and beauty treatments. Enjoy homemade breakfast till noon or experiment with local homemade delicacies, sweets and wine-tasting at ‘Kafeneion’, our preserved cave-house bistro. Sample a world of gastronomy with our cooking lessons, gourmet degustation & private candle-lit dinner experiences, which incorporate our own organically grown produce straight from the volcanic soil of the Altana farm. Savor the atmosphere of relaxation and discovery that will inspire some of the most romantic and exciting moments of your life. Dive into the magic of something old and discover something new...welcome to Altana, let us immerse you into the magic of Santorini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Altana Traditional Houses and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altana Traditional Houses Hotel Imerovigli
Altana Traditional Hotel
Hotel Altana Traditional
Altana Traditional Houses And Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing