We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

When we arrived in Santorini for the second leg of our honeymoon, we were informed that there was no power on the island. It was a less than ideal situation, and we seriously contemplated leaving the island. However, Mario and Christos went above and beyond to make us comfortable, and were extremely welcoming and accommodating in spite of the conditions. We were provided with water, flashlights, and candles and everything else we needed. Both Mario and Christos took the time to sit with us and go over recommended activities, attractions and restaurants on the island. They took the time to contact each place we wanted to visit to ensure they were open despite the lack of electricity, and made us reservations accordingly. They created an outstanding experience for us! Though it was slightly more adventurous than we expected, our time at the Altana Traditional Houses was unforgettable. We highly recommend staying there. The rooms were great, the view of the sunset was to die for, and the service was above par. We hope to visit Santorini again (with electricity this time!) and will certainly stay at Altana! Thank you Mario and Christos!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hap85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

So, you think you've been to some incredible places in this world...and then you end up here - "wow" was all we kept saying!
Upon our arrival we were met by Mario, one of the twins who runs this establishment, and were given so much information about Santorini we have had to book another holiday to come back again! Very well educated, exceptionally good English and extremely polite.
Never before have we been greeted at a hotel the way we were by Mario. Mario recommended several restaurants to us and when we had decided he went ahead and booked for us too.
Lovely accommodation with breathtaking views - we were close to tears when we had to leave.
Words are not enough to explain this experience...you simply have to see it to believe it.
We have been honoured to meet Marco and to have stayed at Altana.
We will, without any doubt, be back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Santorini is a unique island in so many ways and therefore it is only fitting to select a hotel that truly reflects the personality of this amazing island. I've now stayed at Altana Suites on 3 seperate occasions and would most definitely recommend it as the best spot on the island. The hotel has so many positive attributes. The location and view are simply breathtaking and the hotel is well laid out to be able to enjoy the awe inspiring surroundings. The rooms are stunning, with different options available to suit solo travelers, families, couples and friends. The design of the hotel and the room decoration is very much in keeping with the architecture and design aspects of the island. Food and drink service are excellent with home made produce and high quality cocktails available. If that's not enough, then the enviable fact of having the highest swimming pool on the island makes Altana even more special... The views up there are simply spectacular. But Altana has something extra above all of these attributes which really makes it stand out - and that is its exceptional standards of service. Owners Marios and Christos have really gone to great lengths to create a brand of service that make them stand out from the crowd and that many of their larger competitors could learn a lot from. From the moment you arrive the guys invest time in making sure that you have the trip of a lifetime. They will induct you to the island with a hand drawn map highlighting some of their favourite hot spots (many off the beaten tourist track), they'll toast your arrival with a locally produced wine and will be discreetly at your service for the duration of your stay. As Santorini 'locals' they'll help you make the most of your trip to the island. If good service matters, then this is the place to be and I guarantee it will make the trip of a lifetime even more memorable!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The rooms and the views are breath-taking. I can't explain the complete joy it was to stay at Altana for our honeymoon. The owners and hosts Christos and Mario are a delight. They are extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and make the best cocktails on the island. We were late for a few dinner reservations because we were having such a great time conversing with Christos and Marios over a custom cocktail they made specifically for us. If you notice I said "hosts" rather than owners a few times, that’s because staying at Altana is like being invited into Christos and Mario's home as a guest. It has a warm inviting feeling that you can only get from true Greek hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTraveler715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Altana is a small boutique hotel that provides the most outstanding service I've ever seen. The manager brothers are concerned with every detail of your perfect vacation. The rooms and the view are unbelievable. You are at the top of the island, no need to go anywhere else for the perfect sunset view. The welcome and support from Mario and Cristo are matched to each guests needs and expectations with expert suggestions for the best places to eat and opportunities to see the best of the island. They are skilled at making the perfect cocktail based on your tastes. This hotel made sure my dream Greece vacation with my daughter was exactly what I imagined. You won't ever be disappointed here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Marios and Christos and their staff are doing it right! From the moment my wife and I entered Altana and were offered a cold beverage to relax after our day of travel, we felt at home. The attention to detail that they provided including an in-depth overview of the island of Santorini and all the locations we could check-out and sight-see as well as the great breakfast each morning with lots of local and fresh optons helped us get each day off to a great start at Altana. Their help during our stay with dinner reservations around the island allowed us to spend each day on our own time-table and we never felt rushed or stressed during our vacation. The location in Imerovigli was perfect with none of the sounds of the traffic one may get in Fira or Oia and the views from the room and outdoor veranda (the honeymoon suite and hottub with the view of the caldera was probably the best hotel view and setting we have ever had) were absolutely stunning. If I had any complaint it was that there were never any clouds in the sky during our entire stay (Late August) to help add some depth to our photos ;-). Thank you for the great service and making our vacation perfect!

Room Tip: Book the Honeymoon Suite! It has an in-room hottub/jacuzzi with windows that open to the Caldera vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Altana was definitely the most memorable place that I have ever stayed on a vacation. Not only was it absolutely beautiful but the generous, very informative staff made the experience truly amazing. The two twin brothers that run the place, Christos and Marios went above and beyond to make sure our stay in Santorini was nothing short of spectacular.The rooms were kept very clean, and the balcony view of the island was simply amazing. I very much look forward to going back and staying at the Altana in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
1.7 mi away
Aenaon Villas
Aenaon Villas
#1 of 51 in Imerovigli
600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#5 of 51 in Imerovigli
1,471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#10 of 51 in Imerovigli
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.8 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#3 of 81 in Fira
662 reviews
1 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#7 of 51 in Imerovigli
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altana Traditional Houses and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altana Traditional Houses and Suites

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#2 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#5 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#5 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £218 - £433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Altana Traditional Houses and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming boutique hotel brings centuries-old style, history and hospitality luxuriously to life at the highest point of Santorini’s breathtaking volcanic Caldera, in Imerovigli. The restoration project of a Traditional Mansion owned by a family of generations of Captains that began in 1979 established Altana Hotel in 1983 as the first high standard guest house in the area of Imerovigli and certainly among the first on the Santorinian Caldera. This historical building complex dating back over a century, between 1779 and 1883 has been preserved, restored and renovated to meet the highest standards of modern luxury. The 6 apartments and 8 suites at Altana, each unique, blend traditional local architecture and aesthetics with modern amenities that tastefully cater for any true traveler's comfort. A unique sensitivity to detail and restored original objects revive the simple elegance of tradition and pay homage to the history of the mansion. A deeply personal service philosophy offers a unique hospitality experience in a setting surrounded by an endless horizon of blue in a bird’s eye view of the Santorinian Caldera, the Volcano, and the whole of the Southern Aegean Sea, including the neighboring islands. Enjoy a dip under the sun in the highest swimming pool on the island and feel free against the sea breeze. Lose your breath to the vibrant sunrises and mystical sunsets from your private veranda. Relax in your suite’s private Jacuzzi pool or rejuvenate your mind and body with a plethora of massage, yoga, chi-kung and beauty treatments. Enjoy homemade breakfast till noon or experiment with local homemade delicacies, sweets and wine-tasting at ‘Kafeneion’, our preserved cave-house bistro. Sample a world of gastronomy with our cooking lessons, gourmet degustation & private candle-lit dinner experiences, which incorporate our own organically grown produce straight from the volcanic soil of the Altana farm. Savor the atmosphere of relaxation and discovery that will inspire some of the most romantic and exciting moments of your life. Dive into the magic of something old and discover something new...welcome to Altana, let us immerse you into the magic of Santorini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Altana Traditional Houses and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altana Traditional Houses Hotel Imerovigli
Altana Traditional Hotel
Hotel Altana Traditional
Altana Traditional Houses And Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing