We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite literally heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quite literally heaven on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

You are probably reading all the wonderful reviews for Altana and thinking, is it worth spending a little extra to stay at this wonderful hotel?

Well, look no further. The answer is a resounding yes. This is THE place to stay in if you want to visit Santorini.

There are so many reasons, but I will try to be succinct so I don't bore you to tears.

1. BEST location on the entire island. Imerovigli is a leisurely 20 minute walk to Thira, and about a two hour trek to Oia. All following lovely footpaths next to the caldera so you never fear getting lost. It is a very quiet upscale little town, a little away from the crazyness of the capital but still close enough to walk there. It is also the highest inhabited spot on the entire island, so the views are unparalleled.

2. The hotel itself is perfectly located, next to an old church and at the highest point in Imerovigli. It has only about 8 rooms so it never felt busy, and it is spread out over several different "floors", with great design to guarantee your privacy. The decor is absolutely lovely and very tasteful, achieving the feat of remaining traditional to its origins as the residential manor to a shipping captain, and at the same time having the latest comforts a modern hotel requires.

3. The owners, twin brothers Christos and Mario and are the epitome of hospitality. Christos in particular was so helpful in organizing our agenda, recommending activities, making reservations, and generally pointing out the best things to do in the island. If you like to step a little away from the beaten path, please heed his advice. He also prepares a mean grapefruit gin and tonic...

4. The rooms. And I mean, oh my are the rooms amazing. Before we left Christos showed us a couple more rooms and they were as lovely as ours, and all completely different. We stayed at the honeymoon suite, and it is worth every single penny we paid for it. Looking at the bright lights from the houses clinging to the caldera from the warmth of your own jacuzzi is a unique experience.

5. The breakfast. We looked forward to breakfast so much I couldn't wait to wake up. It is brought up to your room, and you can have it on your own private terrace overlooking the deep blue ocean. I really have no words to describe how pleasurable that was.

I really could go on and on. The only bad part about staying here is that we were so sad to leave. I had been to Santorini before, and it was like visiting a different place altogether.

Please do yourself a favour, and stay here. You will be happy you did.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Honeymoon suite. It is at the very top of the hotel, so it's the most private r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    12
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
41
191
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed at Altana for the third time over the past few years and as unbelievable as it may sound they have moved from perfect to "uber-perfect" !!

As a very frequent traveler (I have spent more than a 100 nights per year in hotels for business and leisure around the world over the last 20 years), I have to say Altana is providing a unique experience !!

All you will read in the reviews about the location, the astounding view (probably one of the best on the island), the elegance of the rooms, the quality-price ratio, the quality of the service, the kindness and permanente attention of the owners and staff is true.

Let me add what was this time again, the most striking part of the experience: the genuine pleasure of hosting and sincere attention we got from Mario and Christos, the tween brothers who run Altana.

Their amazing attention to details, their permanent dedication to making all the aspects of your stay the easiest, the most enjoyable, the least painful when for example you forget your passport in the safe of the room (Christos dropped everything he was doing to jump in his car and bring his passport to a friend of ours before the ferry he was boarding left the island) simply made me feel like I was staying at extremely close and caring friends.

The magic of Altana is the result of the very refined combination of all these factors, from prime location to tangibly genuine dedication of the men in charge. The latter makes it unique. None of the other hotels I have stayed in in my life, even the very high end luxury hotels can compete.

Cherry on the cake, because of all that, because we felt so relaxed, any of the very insignificant and small details in terms of quality of service that could get me angry in a split second have been noticed. I can't believe it is true knowing my level of expectation when it comes to service and attitude.

Ah, one last thing, I you are keen on photography, staying at Altana is like being in a candy store ! I have posted photos from my stays in 2011 and 2014. Enjoy !

Don't miss it and get ready to enjoy you stay !

Room Tip: Chose a troglodyte family room if you want your kids to get excited with sleeping in "a cave&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robifabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Altana for 4 nights.
The owners were amazing, extremely knowledgable , hospitable, getting out of their way to make sure we have everything we need.
We felt the Greek hospitality at its best.
The rooms are amazing , decorated with taste .
The view of the sunset and volcano is breathtaking !
I highly recommend this hotel!
We are definitely going back to that paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Altana is nothing short of amazing. My husband and I stayed at Altana on the first leg of our European honeymoon, and it was far and away the best part of the whole trip. The owners (Marios and Christos) go out of their way to make you feel at home and like family. We arrived at the hotel just before sunset, and a staff member rushed us downstairs so that we wouldn't miss the sunset. While enjoying the gorgeous view, we were served wine and they offered to make a dinner reservation at a nearby restaurant (Mezzo - a can't miss in Santorini!). The hotel is classic "Santorini" - winding staircases and gorgeous views. The breakfast is also satisfying and delicious - you must try the homemade cherry preserves made by the owners' mother! We stayed up late on the last night talking with Christos and drinking a delicious cocktail made with traditional Santorini spirits. We cannot wait to return to Altana and Santorini!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJones202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

When we arrived in Santorini for the second leg of our honeymoon, we were informed that there was no power on the island. It was a less than ideal situation, and we seriously contemplated leaving the island. However, Mario and Christos went above and beyond to make us comfortable, and were extremely welcoming and accommodating in spite of the conditions. We were provided with water, flashlights, and candles and everything else we needed. Both Mario and Christos took the time to sit with us and go over recommended activities, attractions and restaurants on the island. They took the time to contact each place we wanted to visit to ensure they were open despite the lack of electricity, and made us reservations accordingly. They created an outstanding experience for us! Though it was slightly more adventurous than we expected, our time at the Altana Traditional Houses was unforgettable. We highly recommend staying there. The rooms were great, the view of the sunset was to die for, and the service was above par. We hope to visit Santorini again (with electricity this time!) and will certainly stay at Altana! Thank you Mario and Christos!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hap85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

So, you think you've been to some incredible places in this world...and then you end up here - "wow" was all we kept saying!
Upon our arrival we were met by Mario, one of the twins who runs this establishment, and were given so much information about Santorini we have had to book another holiday to come back again! Very well educated, exceptionally good English and extremely polite.
Never before have we been greeted at a hotel the way we were by Mario. Mario recommended several restaurants to us and when we had decided he went ahead and booked for us too.
Lovely accommodation with breathtaking views - we were close to tears when we had to leave.
Words are not enough to explain this experience...you simply have to see it to believe it.
We have been honoured to meet Marco and to have stayed at Altana.
We will, without any doubt, be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Santorini is a unique island in so many ways and therefore it is only fitting to select a hotel that truly reflects the personality of this amazing island. I've now stayed at Altana Suites on 3 seperate occasions and would most definitely recommend it as the best spot on the island. The hotel has so many positive attributes. The location and view are simply breathtaking and the hotel is well laid out to be able to enjoy the awe inspiring surroundings. The rooms are stunning, with different options available to suit solo travelers, families, couples and friends. The design of the hotel and the room decoration is very much in keeping with the architecture and design aspects of the island. Food and drink service are excellent with home made produce and high quality cocktails available. If that's not enough, then the enviable fact of having the highest swimming pool on the island makes Altana even more special... The views up there are simply spectacular. But Altana has something extra above all of these attributes which really makes it stand out - and that is its exceptional standards of service. Owners Marios and Christos have really gone to great lengths to create a brand of service that make them stand out from the crowd and that many of their larger competitors could learn a lot from. From the moment you arrive the guys invest time in making sure that you have the trip of a lifetime. They will induct you to the island with a hand drawn map highlighting some of their favourite hot spots (many off the beaten tourist track), they'll toast your arrival with a locally produced wine and will be discreetly at your service for the duration of your stay. As Santorini 'locals' they'll help you make the most of your trip to the island. If good service matters, then this is the place to be and I guarantee it will make the trip of a lifetime even more memorable!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.2 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#5 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#7 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#6 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
2.7 mi away
Celestia Grand
Celestia Grand
#1 of 82 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altana Traditional Houses and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altana Traditional Houses and Suites

Property: Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#5 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#8 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Altana Traditional Houses and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming boutique hotel brings centuries-old style, history and hospitality luxuriously to life at the highest point of Santorini’s breathtaking volcanic Caldera, in Imerovigli. The restoration project of a Traditional Mansion owned by a family of generations of Captains that began in 1979 established Altana Hotel in 1983 as the first high standard guest house in the area of Imerovigli and certainly among the first on the Santorinian Caldera. This historical building complex dating back over a century, between 1779 and 1883 has been preserved, restored and renovated to meet the highest standards of modern luxury. The 6 apartments and 8 suites at Altana, each unique, blend traditional local architecture and aesthetics with modern amenities that tastefully cater for any true traveler's comfort. A unique sensitivity to detail and restored original objects revive the simple elegance of tradition and pay homage to the history of the mansion. A deeply personal service philosophy offers a unique hospitality experience in a setting surrounded by an endless horizon of blue in a bird’s eye view of the Santorinian Caldera, the Volcano, and the whole of the Southern Aegean Sea, including the neighboring islands. Enjoy a dip under the sun in the highest swimming pool on the island and feel free against the sea breeze. Lose your breath to the vibrant sunrises and mystical sunsets from your private veranda. Relax in your suite’s private Jacuzzi pool or rejuvenate your mind and body with a plethora of massage, yoga, chi-kung and beauty treatments. Enjoy homemade breakfast till noon or experiment with local homemade delicacies, sweets and wine-tasting at ‘Kafeneion’, our preserved cave-house bistro. Sample a world of gastronomy with our cooking lessons, gourmet degustation & private candle-lit dinner experiences, which incorporate our own organically grown produce straight from the volcanic soil of the Altana farm. Savor the atmosphere of relaxation and discovery that will inspire some of the most romantic and exciting moments of your life. Dive into the magic of something old and discover something new...welcome to Altana, let us immerse you into the magic of Santorini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Altana Traditional Houses and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altana Traditional Houses Hotel Imerovigli
Altana Traditional Hotel
Hotel Altana Traditional
Altana Traditional Houses And Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing