We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymooners Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymooners Paradise!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I were here for our honeymoon, and staying at Altana was one of the absolute best things our travel agent arranged! This boutique hotel is like no place we have ever stayed. There are only a handful of rooms here, so the service provided by the owners (twin brothers Mario and Christos) is top notch. We were greeted with Vinsanto wine (wine made on the island with dried raisins-- soo good) and given information about the place and also some very good dinner recommendations (Christos recommended the fig and pork tenderloin at next-door Mezzo restaurant. One of the best things I ate all week!). We appreciated the honest advice on things to do and things NOT to do while on Santorini (ie the sunset on Oia is overrated, many other places to catch the beautiful sunset without being shoulder to shoulder with hundreds of other tourists!). And the breakfast each morning was stellar- I read a review from someone saying she went to bed every night looking forward to breakfast the next morning-- totally know the feeling! The breakfast was fresh, simple, amazing food. Organic honeydew melon one morning (I don't even like honeydew back in the US but out here, omg..must have), tomatoes, creme fraiche, lots of fresh pastries, cherry jam, very yummy Greek coffee, etc. The rooms were also comfortable, very clean, and each had a great view of the caldera. Being in Santorini, and especially staying at this beautiful hotel, feels like living in a postcard. This hotel is pricey, but is without a doubt was worth every penny to us. It's location was also prime in our opinion- about a 20 minute walk to Fira, and a beautiful 2 hour walk to Oia (or short bus ride). Imerovigli is not too crowded, accessible to larger parts of the island, but still in walking distance to wonderful restaurants. If you come here, you may not even want to leave the Altana at all! We hope to be back at the Altana for an anniversary one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    12
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
201
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Mario & Cristos - known around town as "The Twins " are the perfect two to manage & run this unique hotel on the cliffs of Santorini ! Their knowledge & love of this area is evident in their passion & helpfulness.
The hotel itself is a work of art. I have to say that this is the most unique place I have ever stayed. Each room is different & many have private patios with glorious views & sunsets.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank beckaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

It's hard to describe how wonderful our stay was at Altana this past May.We had a gorgeous and very spacious suite with incredible panoramic views of the island. In walking distance (about 25 minutes) to the capital, Fira, Altana is situated in the quaint town of Imerovigli - an ideal spot for quiet sunset views and less touristy exploration of the local culture since its far enough away from the cruise ship traffic.

Cristos, Mario and their staff went above and beyond when it came to meeting our needs during our stay. Every detail was well thought out and they were kind enough to share their story with us in addition to helping us navigate our itinerary for each day, provide tips for hidden restaurant gems and really maximize our time in Santorini. We hope we are fortunate enough to return soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLMiner521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

There are so many nice things to write about Altana itself, its owners and the staff in general, that we literally don't know how to write this review and what to leave out of it! Therefore, in as few words as possible, it goes like this:

The twin brothers, Christos and Marios, were very helpful from the beginning of the whole process, in terms of answering our questions via email or telephone and providing any information requested. Things got even better when we met them in person, since they are genuinely nice guys who send out positive vibes effortlessly and obviously love what they are doing.

Upon arrival, we received a warm welcome and we were presented with maps of the island and pretty much all the necessary, customised "inside information" from our hosts, as to dos and don’ts while in Santorini. A word to the wise: just follow their suggestions and you won't regret it!

We stayed at the honeymoon suite and I can honestly say that this is THE place if you want to enjoy the sunset and the breathtaking views from probably the best private spot in the whole island, and generally spoil yourself silly, e.g. by relaxing in your own jacuzzi while drinking one the owners' wicked cocktails!

The communal places of the hotel are great too. A visit to the rooftop pool is a must-do and the Kafeneon at the entrance is so cosy and picturesque that often tourists passing by cannot resist the urge of at least taking a closer look, if not actually deviating from their original plans so as to have a drink in it.

We could go on writing page after page, but you get the picture anyway. So, last but by no means least, we should point out that everyone at Altana, owners and staff alike, give their 101% and are always there to help you in any way they possibly can. We know it all sounds a bit too-good-to-be-true sort of thing, but Altana has really set the standard for any hotel we may stay at in the future.

All in all, Altana is a fantastic choice for anyone wanting to avoid the hustle and bustle of Fira and Oia, without staying too far from them at the same time. If we ever go to Santorini again, we know for sure where we're gonna stay. Εις το επανιδείν λοιπόν!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The brothers of Altana got it right, and have a knack for design. I have never stayed at a more beautiful inn in my entire life. Mario and Cristos were so helpful and knowledgeable about the area and gave each guest a warm reception. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sky60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The views can't be matched, the service can't be beat. Marco and Christos run one of the friendliest hotels in one of the most breathtaking settings in Europe. The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable, though the hard surfaces mean you're not waltzing on lush ground. Nevertheless, this doesn't factor in one bit to your pleasure. Wake up and be wowed by the views, enjoy the small infinity pool, sun bathe and eat at the delectable restaurants near by. Above all else, take the time to speak with Marco and Christos as you won't be disappointed with the conversations you strike.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Circumlocutious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

From arrival we received a warm family experience, with Mario and Chris welcoming us into their home. The accommodation was faultless and in our opinion the best views in santorini. We were in a VIP room from the beginning which was amazing then we were offered to move into the honeymoon sweet. We had a jacuzzi in our room, from which the views were incredible. Very romantic.

Best customer service I have ever experienced, they helped us booked our next destination. (If you read this mario and chris, your island recommendation was perfect and has been one of the highlights of our honeymoon)

Santorini is beautiful, Christos, Mario and Altana made our honeymoon special. Thanks again guys.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.2 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#20 of 50 in Imerovigli
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#9 of 50 in Imerovigli
465 reviews
1.7 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#13 of 50 in Imerovigli
657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#19 of 50 in Imerovigli
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altana Traditional Houses and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altana Traditional Houses and Suites

Property: Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#5 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#8 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Altana Traditional Houses and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming boutique hotel brings centuries-old style, history and hospitality luxuriously to life at the highest point of Santorini’s breathtaking volcanic Caldera, in Imerovigli. The restoration project of a Traditional Mansion owned by a family of generations of Captains that began in 1979 established Altana Hotel in 1983 as the first high standard guest house in the area of Imerovigli and certainly among the first on the Santorinian Caldera. This historical building complex dating back over a century, between 1779 and 1883 has been preserved, restored and renovated to meet the highest standards of modern luxury. The 6 apartments and 8 suites at Altana, each unique, blend traditional local architecture and aesthetics with modern amenities that tastefully cater for any true traveler's comfort. A unique sensitivity to detail and restored original objects revive the simple elegance of tradition and pay homage to the history of the mansion. A deeply personal service philosophy offers a unique hospitality experience in a setting surrounded by an endless horizon of blue in a bird’s eye view of the Santorinian Caldera, the Volcano, and the whole of the Southern Aegean Sea, including the neighboring islands. Enjoy a dip under the sun in the highest swimming pool on the island and feel free against the sea breeze. Lose your breath to the vibrant sunrises and mystical sunsets from your private veranda. Relax in your suite’s private Jacuzzi pool or rejuvenate your mind and body with a plethora of massage, yoga, chi-kung and beauty treatments. Enjoy homemade breakfast till noon or experiment with local homemade delicacies, sweets and wine-tasting at ‘Kafeneion’, our preserved cave-house bistro. Sample a world of gastronomy with our cooking lessons, gourmet degustation & private candle-lit dinner experiences, which incorporate our own organically grown produce straight from the volcanic soil of the Altana farm. Savor the atmosphere of relaxation and discovery that will inspire some of the most romantic and exciting moments of your life. Dive into the magic of something old and discover something new...welcome to Altana, let us immerse you into the magic of Santorini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Altana Traditional Houses and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altana Traditional Houses Hotel Imerovigli
Altana Traditional Hotel
Hotel Altana Traditional
Altana Traditional Houses And Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing